We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but a bit lacking something?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FOREVER FONTAINEBLEAU
Ranked #32 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great but a bit lacking something?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed late July 2013.
This is a massive hotel - and by most standards pretty expensive, from the water in the room to most everything else.
That aside - we had a great room facing the ocean, good size - nice touches and well equipped with internet, Apple imac etc
It's a big hotel - or did I already say that? lol
For everything I read beforehand, every photo I saw - it just lacks something. I think maybe just some soul, staff that seem to care more. Valet here and the driveway is not good.

I guess to summarise we thought it would be wow - but it was ok. It was an expensive ok with no lasting memory unfortunately. Can't even explain why - just no personality or something?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am saddened to learn that you were not completely satisfied during your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,799
    1,408
    702
    406
    413
See reviews for
1,386
1,663
198
1,237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. I've stayed at many hotels before in Miami, but this is definitely the place to be when you are looking for a good hotel/ resort. The staff was really friendly and helpful from the minute I arrived . The service was really good overall, and I would like to thank Ramonis Campelo, who provided such great service, and helped make my stay a pleasant one. I will definitely be returning! John C.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. Ramonis will certainly be recognized for providing amazing service. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have never been to a hotel in the US that has the feel of being in the Carribean. The white sand, palm trees and turquoise water set the scene. I highly recommend a room with a balcony. We upgraded to an ocean front room which allowed us to take some amazing sunrise photos. The food in all of the restaurants was great. The staff very friendly. The selection of pools and cabanas is unlike any resort I have been to. The rooms were extremely clean. The hotel has great history, so the rooms are not spectacular like you would find in modern Vegas hotels. They are pretty standard, nice size but we had a nice sized bathroom with oversized shower and a tub. All was immaculate. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. If you have a handicapped wheelchair bound person, they have a small pool with an access chair! The food is expensive. And while there were kids there, it has more of an adult atmosphere. The LIV club was just ok, the dancefloor is not that big. The concierge tried to steer us away from Ocean Dr in South Beach restaurants by saying they are pricey. However I highly recommend going there for the history and the food is always good. Nice gift stores there too. I look forward to returning to the Fountainebleau someday soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner ocean front room or at least a balcony. There are not many available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. We appreciate your kind comments and can not wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I am used to nice resorts / hotels. I was looking forward to staying here instead of Delano or the Ritz in Miami.
When I arrived, I was excited by the action and choices I had re restaurants, pools etc..
Went to beach and ordered lunch, took the server 45 min to bring us some bottled water! Did she forget it was 85 degrees outside?! Our basic salads took an hour ...
That night, we were woken up by rowdy people in the halls, slamming doors from 3- 5am ... Therefore no sleep. That morning went to the Solo cafe for coffee/snacks and it took them 10 min to give me the juice and coffee I ordered and it was not that busy; the line up was out the door and people were cursing under their breaths. They were in slow motion and didn't care.
Sad to say that I will never stay there again.
The property is gorgeous but service stinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service you received. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

First 4 days were my first vacation in more than 6 years. Last 3 days were a conference. Great place! A resort to kill all resorts.
The beach and the service on the beach were awesome. The service around the pool was fantastic as well. the friendly faces and helpfulness of the staff was fantastic. $5 cup of coffee in the morning...not so good.
This is a great place to stay. I will tell you that food and beverage are a bit overpriced!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear that you were able to experience both our leisure and convention space. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My room porter's name is ANICIA. She was meticulous in cleaning my room and taking exceptional care of me during my recent stay at the Chateau Tower. She was just lovely and made me smile everyday! She truly cared about me and my stay. Please give her my message with a big raise. She is Worthy!! I'll be back soon for another trip for sure!!
THANKS - ANICIA!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to recognize Anicia of Fontainebleau Miami Beach. She will certainly be recognized for her amazing service. We remain at your service and welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Disappointing to say the very least. We flew in and were only there for one night, we came in for an event held at LIV nightclub in the hotel. It took RIDICULOUSLY long to check in making part of our group miss the beginning portion of the event. It took them THREE hours to get us our luggage after we checked in, and that was only after we called numerous times and were even told it had been delivered!!! How do you loose 6 large suitcases??? Pool was closed so we were unable to use the pool that evening and the restaurants were closed by the time the event was over so we had NO WHERE to eat/drink/relax except in the main bar in the lobby where a drink will cost you 22.00. We had to take a taxi to find some food. Felt the customer service was less than average. We expected WAY more from this famous hotel. We would NEVER EVER recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.