We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This review is strictly on the pool! Which is absolutely AMAZING! My girls & I stopped by one afternoon after a great SoBe brunch, and took a dip in the Fontainebleau pool. The layout is gorgeous and the servers kept the drinks coming when we needed them! It's a great spot to chill & relax, so definitely check it out while you're visiting Miami!

ENJOY!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is a pleasure to receive such lovely comments from a senior contributor like yourself. We welcome you back for another amazing experience at our pools!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,077
    1,173
    617
    363
    378
See reviews for
1203
1406
165
1064
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This trip started off great with the valet service as well as checking in at the front desk. We stayed in a condo at the Tresor Tower and the condo was very clean and had great maid service. We found ourselves at the pool and the ocean most of our time and could not get over how well we were treated. Jay Hiciano made our trip so much nicer. He was so professional and friendly and was always there to help us with anything we needed like getting our seats by the pool, getting our towels and drinks. In addition, he was so helpful in recommending places to go eat and shop at while we were in Miami. Jay helped make our trip more memorable and we would definitely come back to the Fontainebleau for another vacation.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in a condo since we would have had to stay in 2 hotel rooms versus staying all toge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. Jay Hiciano will certainly be recognized for his excellent service. We appreciate your kind words and welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Fountainebleau is a nice, but by no means spectacular, hotel with above average service. The staff was friendly, willing and courteous and the room comfortable. But at $450 a night ( I believe this is the for cheapest room, the tariff increases from there) plus valet charge, I have been to much nicer and more luxurious hotels across the globe. The place is overrun with 20 and 30 year olds (at least when I was there in mid July), very crowded overall and quite overpriced. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for American (and Brazilian, Cuban, Columbian, Argentinian, Puerto Rican, etc.) youth, but for someone in his mid fifties like myself, I prefer a someone quieter environment. If you don't mind paying over $5 for a cup of coffee or $16 for a very average turkey wrap poolside, standing in long lines just to check in or to get a take out breakfast at Solos, or being packed in like sardines on the chaise lounges by the pool, then this place is for you. And don't dare remove any item from the honor bar fridge for more than 20 seconds... cha ching,cha ching.
The valet service was an utter disaster. My brother in law waited over 45 minutes to retrieve his car in the evening after dinner and I, over 25 minutes after checking out. Furthermore, the hotel is a bit far from South Beach, and in retrospect, the Loews, Ritz or Betsy would have been a better choice as far as location goes.
Having said that, if your are in your 20's or 30's and want to share a room, and cost, with two or three friends then you'll probably have a blast. But as for me, not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your impressions of Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I apologize for your troubles with valet. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A fabulous slice of Miami glamour! We were very impressed with our room having booked a family remove with seaview we found ourselves in a Suite! Great for people watching and excellent facilities. This hotel is impressive and I would have loved to have visited in my twenties! That said my teenage daughters loved it and I hope they get to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am delighted to learn of your glamorous experience. We welcome you and your family back to create many more fabulous memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I been visiting Miami for 30 years and this was the first time i stayed at the Fon Bleau. From Derrick & Kamal at the front desk, to Eddie in security, Rick and Charlie at the Glow beach bar i have never stayed at a hotel that displayed so much professionalism. After some sun on the beach, I realize that i had left my cell phone on a beach towel where my wife and i were tanning. (they are even organized on the beach) The attendants on the beach went through every towel in their section and found my phone in a couple of minutes. Derrick& Kamal,thanks for the room upgrade, the fantastic security officers and all the fine and friendly staff at the Fon Bleau. I found a new home in Miami. B. Sledge

Room Tip: The Versailles Tower provide a view of the beach and downtown Miami
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to recognize Fontainebleau Miami Beach team members. Derrick, Kamal, Eddie, Rick and Charlie will certainly be praised for their professional service. We can not wait to have you and your family back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

When checking in, had great customer service from Athina. She was friendly, focused on helping and identifying acceptable room, classy and professional. Loved the stay at the hotel even in spite of the false fire alarm prank by some kids. The pool area is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize Fontainebleau Miami Beach team member, Athina. She will certainly be praised for her great customer service. We appreciate your kind words and welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Small balcony was enjoyable, sea breezes and sun; but only private when the adjacent balcony was empty. Views of the Atlantic Ocean and urban Miami in the distance. The 20 inch iMac computer in the room was helpful, particularly when researching Miami sights and restaurants. Room was spacious and comfortable. Also enjoyed the late weekend hours of the hotel coffee and pastry shop, Solo. Of all of the restaurants at the hotel, Scarpetta is the best. It should not be missed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is great to hear of your enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.