We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FOREVER FONTAINEBLEAU
Ranked #30 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is big, loud, bold...but still we enjoyed our stay with a 3-year old daughter. The room was excellent - as we got an upgrade to a junior suite. The pool area is generous, however I recommend to come timely in the morning, before the "hangover crowd" appears. What stroke me most was the quality of the food in restaurants. We had our best dinners during our entire Florida trip, whereas the Gotham steakhouse is most recommendable. The only downside was that everything tends to be a bit pricy, but if you are ready to spend money and you like lively hotels, got there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your gracious recommendations of the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am excited to learn that we were able to provide you with the best food on your travels throughout Florida. We look forward to your next trip to Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,739
    1,378
    698
    401
    413
See reviews for
1,371
1,651
196
1,228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

No denying FontaineBleau as a "scene", but the hotel staff was nothing short of amazing. Every person from the check-in desk, the the maid service, to the poolside, beach-side staff, the waitstaff in the restaurants was excellent. They were trained well; they wanted to help make our stay wonderful, in such a kind, professional and genuine way. Darrell, our server at Vida restaurant, was the best! The food was great too, but he brightened our entire day (even more). Thank you all.

Room Tip: balcony upgrades are worthwhile - so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the awesome team members at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am happy to learn that Darrel from Vida was able to brighten your day. He will certainly receive high praise for his great service. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, amazing room service... The pools, gym.. The club. Restaurants... Wonderful lobby I would always stay at to grab a drink at night.. If you are looking for a high class place, definitely go for this hotel....

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our facilities. We appreciate your high praise and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

First trip to Miami and it was mindblowingly blingy. This hotel was no exception. I am used to staying at first class resorts and hotels and this place blew everywhere I've ever been out of the water. The first thing that you will discover about the FB is that there is this beautiful smell being pumped out of the ventilation system throughout the main lobby. I belive i was told it was bamboo. You can't buy the scent but it smells devine. The shops contain designer shoes and clothes and are terribly overpriced. The small coffee shop charges an arm and a leg for coffee or gelato but what the hell you are in Miami. Land of the yachts, supercars and superrich. Wow. Restaurants are all delicous especially Blade. Service is terrific through all of the hotel and especially on the beach.
Oh the Beach. It is beautiful. We spent a few afternoons snuggled together watching the sunset and listening to the sounds of the surf and the birds wishing we could stay forever.
The room was wonderfully spacious and the whirlpool tub was devine.
The bed was very comfortable.
The mini bar prices were outrageous! But expected. Lol. When in Miami... we are not cheap people and do quite well at home but found this hotel to be very overpriced. As nice as it was it did feel a bit too overdone. Maybe we are just getting too old and not into the things the younger crowd would appreciate.
Overall our stay was wonderful and there was nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is a great pleasure to receive such wonderful comments from a senior contributor like yourself. I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We welcome you back for another unforgettable trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stay at the Fontainebleau every year. The hotel is updated, and the rooms are very good. There is a MAC with supposed internet access in every room. However, my MAC would not connect. Guest services said to reboot the machine, but didn't work. No problem, since I had a laptop with 24 hr of free wifi access via hotel. Food is very good, and lobby bar is great. After 10pm, the bar just gets louder and louder, and more and more crowded. Great for people watching.

If you don't have a car, the shopping districts can be reached by taxi or bus. No good shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest and sharing your experience during your recent stay at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I apologize for your troubles with the in room Mac. We look forward to your annual visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here for free in the sense that I was there for a work convention. Even still I wasn't super impressed. I agree with the reviewer who gave it 2 stars on May 7th (forget his/her name). Anyway, if you like a large, very expensive, impersonal hotel with a million people, you'll be ok. It is far from South Beach which I didn't like. The boardwalk along the ocean was nice. The pools were ok. Restaurants very expensive. The hotel was oversold every night so I think employees were stressed a bit and, to repeat, it was packed especially the lobby area on Fri/Sat nights. Just not my type of hotel.

Room Tip: One tower is full of suites - go there. The regular rooms in the part of the hotel near the lobby we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your convention at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

renting the bed at the pool was the best part of my trip.
dan bondy and rich torres who ran the pool are just professional and nice and make sure all goes smooth.
Jefferson - who helps set up the bed and take care of us was amazing.
this guy helped from every angle. this was our 2nd trip trip this year so far.
a great place to be

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest and taking the time to recognize Fontainebleau Miami Beach team members. Dan Bondy, Rich Torres and Jefferson will certainly be recognized for their excellent service. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.