We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here and die...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER PARADISE
Ranked #30 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here and die...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, amazing room service... The pools, gym.. The club. Restaurants... Wonderful lobby I would always stay at to grab a drink at night.. If you are looking for a high class place, definitely go for this hotel....

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninkaaaa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our facilities. We appreciate your high praise and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First trip to Miami and it was mindblowingly blingy. This hotel was no exception. I am used to staying at first class resorts and hotels and this place blew everywhere I've ever been out of the water. The first thing that you will discover about the FB is that there is this beautiful smell being pumped out of the ventilation system throughout the main lobby. I belive i was told it was bamboo. You can't buy the scent but it smells devine. The shops contain designer shoes and clothes and are terribly overpriced. The small coffee shop charges an arm and a leg for coffee or gelato but what the hell you are in Miami. Land of the yachts, supercars and superrich. Wow. Restaurants are all delicous especially Blade. Service is terrific through all of the hotel and especially on the beach.
Oh the Beach. It is beautiful. We spent a few afternoons snuggled together watching the sunset and listening to the sounds of the surf and the birds wishing we could stay forever.
The room was wonderfully spacious and the whirlpool tub was devine.
The bed was very comfortable.
The mini bar prices were outrageous! But expected. Lol. When in Miami... we are not cheap people and do quite well at home but found this hotel to be very overpriced. As nice as it was it did feel a bit too overdone. Maybe we are just getting too old and not into the things the younger crowd would appreciate.
Overall our stay was wonderful and there was nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaSignora335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Fontainebleau Miami Beach. It is a great pleasure to receive such wonderful comments from a senior contributor like yourself. I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We welcome you back for another unforgettable trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stay at the Fontainebleau every year. The hotel is updated, and the rooms are very good. There is a MAC with supposed internet access in every room. However, my MAC would not connect. Guest services said to reboot the machine, but didn't work. No problem, since I had a laptop with 24 hr of free wifi access via hotel. Food is very good, and lobby bar is great. After 10pm, the bar just gets louder and louder, and more and more crowded. Great for people watching.

If you don't have a car, the shopping districts can be reached by taxi or bus. No good shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caddisfly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest and sharing your experience during your recent stay at Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I apologize for your troubles with the in room Mac. We look forward to your annual visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here for free in the sense that I was there for a work convention. Even still I wasn't super impressed. I agree with the reviewer who gave it 2 stars on May 7th (forget his/her name). Anyway, if you like a large, very expensive, impersonal hotel with a million people, you'll be ok. It is far from South Beach which I didn't like. The boardwalk along the ocean was nice. The pools were ok. Restaurants very expensive. The hotel was oversold every night so I think employees were stressed a bit and, to repeat, it was packed especially the lobby area on Fri/Sat nights. Just not my type of hotel.

Room Tip: One tower is full of suites - go there. The regular rooms in the part of the hotel near the lobby we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanilaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your convention at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

renting the bed at the pool was the best part of my trip.
dan bondy and rich torres who ran the pool are just professional and nice and make sure all goes smooth.
Jefferson - who helps set up the bed and take care of us was amazing.
this guy helped from every angle. this was our 2nd trip trip this year so far.
a great place to be

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simeon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest and taking the time to recognize Fontainebleau Miami Beach team members. Dan Bondy, Rich Torres and Jefferson will certainly be recognized for their excellent service. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am surprised there are any poor reviews on this place. I have also stayed at the Trump Resort in Miami and this place blows it out of the water. It has a wow factor to it from the moment you walk in, the grounds are beautiful and the rooms are great (I think people spend too much time picking at rooms when you barely spend any time there). We had an oceanview and spending some time at night on the balcony with a glass of wine was perfect. We barely felt we had to leave the resort! The food was good (yes a bit expensive but I never felt it wasn't worth it). We went to the club inside, and its the place to be seen! If you are going to Miami and want a real vacation feel, choose this resort!!!!!

Room Tip: oceanview balcony all the way!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for writing such kind comments about the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am pleased to learn that we were able to give a one of a kind experience! We welcome you back to create many more great memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Fontainebleau, first was for business, second for family. The resort is top notch and I must say I am a woman that is hard to please. The pools are awesome and my daughter had a blast in the kiddie pool.....the water slide is fun. The only annoyance we had was the lack of pool staff on two of the days we stayed. There was no one around that assisted with towels, etc. Also, upon our arrival on a Saturday early evening, we wanted to jump in the pool and an elderly staff member kicked us out and would not let our daughter in the pool. Another staff member sarcastically told us that it was the law in Florida that they could not keep the pools open for 24 hrs. Our 6 year old wasn't asking for an all nighter, only a quick swim after traveling. There was at least 50 people in the pool??
The restaurants are fantastic, if you are looking for exceptional service go to Vida and ask for Erick...he was amazing. La Cote, outside by pools was very accommodating. Ask to sit on the top floor, the view of the ocean is spectacular. My daughter loved getting her mani/pedi at the spa, she was treated like a princess. With the exception of the small pool staff issue, our family visit to the Fontainbleau exceeded our expectations and we are sure to visit again in the future. The resort is worth every penny! Now if I could only score a trip to the IHeart Music Festival coming up in June!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to balcony ocean view. First choice is Sorrento tower, second is Chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am happy to learn of your family's great experiences. Erick will certainly be recognized for his exceptional service. Please visit us online for details on the iHeart Radio Bleaulive concert package! We look forward for you next stay with us in Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,453 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing