We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For what you spend here, you should know every detail...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #31 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“For what you spend here, you should know every detail...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to Miami this past weekend for a long weekend getaway. I've always wanted to stay on Miami Beach, and several friends who live in Miami told us this hotel was the EPITOME of Miami Beach.

You certainly feel pretty swanky when you pull up to the front of the hotel - valet parks all the nicest cars along the entrance. I honestly wish I could remember the gentleman's name who took our bags because he was the nicest person we encountered....in all of Miami! Valet was also very nice.

The lobby is absolutely beautiful - it just takes you away instantly. It's stunning. It was so packed at midnight on Saturday but it was such a fun scene with everyone there. I loved it. Amazing people watching.

The girl at the front desk was very funny and was a nice welcome to the hotel. In my booking, I said we absolutely MUST have a double - we had another couple staying with us. Then another couple wanted to stay with us for just one night, so I asked for a cot. I originally booked an oceanfront double, but when I asked for the cot she said I wouldn't need one because we had an oceanfront junior suite which has two beds and a pull out sofa- I was NOT complaining! Not sure if we got upgraded because they ran out of doubles or what.

The suite was AWESOME!! Very spacious with a wrap-around balcony because we were on the corner. Views of the ocean were nice - but we were only on the third floor so I think higher up would have yielded nicer views. We were in the Sorrento tower which was nice but it was on the very right of the property next to some other hotels - one of which was BLARING Cuban music for 5 hours straight one night. The Fontainebleau was quiet as far as I'm concerned - or at least I wasn't able to hear any other guests or music from the hotel from where our room was. We were playing music in our room pretty loud and got zero complaints - this hotel is made for partying which I loved.

That's about it for the good. Everything else was beyond dissapointing. The hotel is massive, but aside from that, it is poorly laid out. We weren't able to figure out how to get anywhere and I've been to several larger-scale resorts and had an easier time getting around. Just trying to get to the beach took nearly 20 minutes - and the hotel is ON the beach!

You have to show your room key everywhere you go, so make sure you have it on you at all times.

The food was absolutely NOT up to par whatsoever. Room service dinner was good enough- if we were at a Hilton. The breakfast was so gross by boyfriend who I call a garbage disposal for eating anything, wouldn't eat it. They put something on the eggs that made them taste like someone was trying to blatantly poison you. We got dinner from Vida one night and it was so inedible, we ended up starving ourselves because we couldn't get the food down. I was pretty mad. Friends told us we should have gone to Hakkasan, but we wanted food to take to the room and Hakkasan won't let you do that. We had to leave the hotel to finally have a decent meal.

We never saw housekeeping once. We had to call for towels and I must say, the towels came pretty quick compared to how slow everything else was. We waited 45 minutes for a cart to bring our luggage down - well, we DID wait. Then we just left and carried all of our own stuff because we couldn't wait any longer. I understand in Miami the lifestyle is a lot slower than where I am from up north, but even this was a bit much for me.

Couldn't get the WiFi to work for the life of me - we had a computer in the room which was cool, but I wanted it on my phone and no matter what I did I couldn't get it.

The beach was super crowded but not unbearable. I ordered a drink and got it 45 minutes later (literally - we timed it). They apparently spilled my first drink and didn’t find it necessary to tell me it would take a while for another one. We got a total of three drinks in the four hours we were at the beach, even though we ordered many more that just never came. Super annoying and disappointing. It wasn’t even like the staff was being slow or goofing off - they just didn’t have enough people there or runners to the bar to get the drinks pumped out faster. They need a bigger staff down there I guess. Or a better system.

All-in-all, we paid A LOT of money to stay at this hotel and the room was worth it. It was big, fabulous and I felt like a movie star. But the hotel as a whole just didn’t do it for me. I think when we come back to Miami, I’m going to look for a slightly smaller hotel that’s more intimate.

Room Tip: Corner suites are huge with wrap around balconies - the Sorrento tower is nice and seems new, but is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,073
    1,167
    617
    362
    377
See reviews for
1202
1404
165
1060
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First time in the US and probably could not come quite as big after this Hotel experience, the finer details the was staff very nice/efficent, hotel room spacious and very clean, restaurants excellent indoors and outdoors. Visiting during Spring Break was an experince and have two black eyes from the amount of poking I received from the masses of plastic boobs in the environment. God knows where these kids get the money to stay at a Hotel like this but am envious! Overall good experince if a little surreal

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccu
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Best beach, pool and club partying off all off south beach all in the same club.... Loved the crowd music and drinks. Especially the club where we were lucky to have pink launch her single. The club is one of the best been to ever.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

March 17 th to 20th, attended a conference with my husband. For the most part, enjoyed beach and surroundings. Restaurants found on Lincoln Mall just as nice and with realistic pricing. As a paying guest did not like being made to feel we were in the way, while photo shoots and other activities blocked access to public areas. Beach access was closed by 5:30 as per attendant "it would take us til 9:00 to pack up chairs and umbrellas if we stayed open later". Sadly our stay ended with my husband's wallet being stolen from our room as he left it on the table when checking out. Realized he left it within minutes, returned to the room to find attendant already breaking it down. Security made an effort, but inspite of many phone calls to management, no response. We will not return.

Room Tip: If you want a view, don't ask for quiet location. Ended up on 7th floor looking at parking and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was at the FountaineBleu Miami Beach for a Business Conference, but it turned out to be so much more. I have never enjoyed a stay at a hotel as much as I did this one. Things were not perfect, but the management team made it perfect. I was treated like a Queen and in today's society it's rare to find that treatment from anyone. The FountaineBleu is an amazing hotel and I will rave about it to all I meet. My goal is to go back within the next year. I can't wait until then! Thank you so much for the best experience ever!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It was a once in a lifetime visit to this fantastic hotel. It is geared towards young people. Pool parties and techno music.
Take lots of cash. Cocktails are around 17 bucks a pop. Great people watching comes with a hefty price tag.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a great week at The Fontainebleau. Pool area steals the show, even more than the celebrity sightings throughout the week. Great staff from bell to housekeeping, but hats off for security. Never felt more safe in a resort. Beach service was incredible from the towel/chair service to the drinks/food. Will say food at pool was not the best and a bit pricey. Better off ordering at La Cote. Spa is incredible! Rain room was highlight of that visit. Overall, really relaxing and fun filled way to enjoy Miami Beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.