We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the room first!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Check the room first!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Before you settle in for the night -check the room. I was placed in a room with two double beds. I lifted the covers on one bed, and the sheets were stained with blood. I lifted the covers on the second bed, and there were someone's dirty socks laying there! This means the beds sheets were never changed. I informed the manager and had the beds stripped down and remade at 3AM in the morning. The next day I was upgraded to a top floor king bed room and given a credit on my bill. I think housekeeping is overwhelmed by the size of this hotel and they are cutting corners.
As for the facilities: The pool feels like a warm bath so it's not made for swimming. The breakfast area is very good but charges thirty- five dollars for buffet every morning. The beach is very nice and clean. South Beach area is nearby on a taxi. The lobby is a club scene at night. Not a family place, but sort of a hook up place.
Overall, this is a good hotel, but the staff needs to take some lessons by going to five star hotel school in Asia and Europe.

Room Tip: Take a top floor. Avoid staying over the night club because you won't get any rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
It was a pleasure speaking to you regarding your experience. I am so happy to learn that aside from the initial inconvenience you encountered, the recovery from our team and the remainder of your stay were excellent. I very much look forward to having you back at Fontainebleau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,055
    1,164
    614
    361
    373
See reviews for
1196
1398
164
1059
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

what an amazing place - would recommend staying here very nice hotel away from the trash of ocean drive.

Get there on a Wednesday and spend 5 nights this way you will enough the delights of the pool parties the women are amazing but make sure you save up because its not a cheap place but you must pay a price for excellence.

1 of the best nightclubs if your into that I spent most of my time in the lobby bar - the women are amazing - take some shades otherwise you might get caught for starring to much.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for Art Basel and everything was great. Food, ambiance, and service were all first class. In my opinion no other hotel comes close to the fountainbleau miami and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who visits Miami.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I'm a Miami local, but whenever my friends and i want a mini weekend vacation, we always stay at the Fontainebleau Miami and it's always a great experience. The rooms are spacious, the staff is friendly and the overall service is excellent!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I visited for a girls weekend and spent 2 full days enjoying the spa. It was so good that we never made it to the pool! We had massages, facials and the best haircut EVER! Arlene was my hairdresser and she was AMAZING. I have never had a better haircut and overall experience at a salon. She knew my hair type and what issues I had with my hair just by looking and touching my hair; VERY IMPRESSIVE! She knew her stuff and she taught me how to care for my hair type and NO ONE has ever done that before. I wish I lived closer because I don't want anyone else touching my hair!!! I guess I will be traveling to Florida every few months to visit Arlene!! Even the receptionist Jennifer was nice; she checked us in quickly and offered us refreshments...great way to start your appointment!
We stayed at the hotel too and it is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are spacious and very clean. All the hotel staff is great and so helpful.
And don't get me started on the restaurants. The food is DELICIOUS and you have your pick of restaurants so you have variety.
OVERALL I highly recommend it! Completely hassle free girls weekend!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor is you love to see a beautiful view. We were high up and we could see for mil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Possibly the best room service on the beach. And the staff friendly, helpful and just great. With some of the best clubs on the beach being on location it makes it that much better. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great room, pool, restaurants and nightlife all in one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I loved my recent stay at the Fountainebleau hotel. The rooms were spectacular and the grounds amazing. It was the best hotel complex I have ever stayed. I was most impressed though, with the staff help and attentiveness to detail. Chris Boyd and Cynthia Dill - were amazing. It was a special birthday and they made the reservations process smooth and the special details for the birthday were perfectly arranged. Down to the exact cupcake! In short, they made our trip very special and unforgettable. I would recommend this hotel - definitely

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.