We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel-good, VALET- VERY,VERY BAD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPRING FLING
Ranked #25 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Hotel-good, VALET- VERY,VERY BAD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I read the reviews prior to booking the Fontainebleau to be forewarned to what one might expect. 15 minute line @ the coffee shop every morning, 18% service charge on anything, These are all acceptable inconveniences due to the size and class of the resort. What is not acceptable is the $26 charge with the extreme incompetency of the valet staff. Left my car with the valet ensuring with the valet manager that I can charge the valet fee to my friends room. Valet instructed that I have the ticket/receipt signed by the hotel guest when I have my car retrieved. I had my friend sign and 5 hours later I called the valet from the room to have them bring the car up, being proactive as some of the tripadvisor reviews stated that the valet may take up to 30 minutes when busy. 20 minutes later we arrive at valet and there is no car. I enquire with the woman behind the counter and she tells me that they need the signed ticket before they can call up the car. I asked why she didn't tell me when I called for the car or why didn't she call the room so we didn't have to wait @ valet. The woman said she did call the room a few minutes after I requested the car. We were in the room for 15 minutes after the initial request, she never called. It is now 30 minutes after our initial request. The woman then says "your car is coming up", now 15 minutes later still no car. She continues to say "2-3 minutes more", it is now 45 minutes from the time of our initial request. Missing our restaurant reservations, I'm livid and ask to speak with the valet manager. I'm told the manager is in a meeting, @ 5pm on Saturday? @ 50 minutes after the initial request the car arrives, I'm exhausted and in no mood for a leisurely dinner w/friends. Fontainbleau when everyone complains about the same thing VALET, VALET, VALET you need to realize there is a serious problem......................................

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,101
    1,487
    729
    423
    429
See reviews for
1,482
1,739
207
1,307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,507)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Spent 24 hours in the luxury resort that incorporates beautifully its 60's glamor backbone and its modern cool vibe of today. Drinks on Friday night at the lobby bar were fantastic- the bartenders knew how to make cocktails and music ambiance was a great way to start my Birthday weekend. Saturday morning woke up to the turquoise view of the ocean in a very comfortable room. The Gym was extremely well equipped, The mini coffee shop was perfect for muffins and tea.
A dip in one of the many pools after our bike ride using the city rental station across Collins Avenue was fun. Lunch at the Beach side restaurant, outside under trees on upper level was delicious and appreciated by three generations. We were sorry to leave this wonderful oasis of gorgeous.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor than 7 in main building as views of ocean are better that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

That's my favorite hotel in Miami! Excellent beach service, crazy night life for every age, great Gotham steakhouse, I fell in love with Lapis Spa. If you would like to spend some money, go shopping in their boutique, crazy collections of the greatest world designers! Don't forget to check little Solo cafe, tasty deserts and the best coffee! Anywhere you go you will get unforgettable experience! Your wish is their command! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Fontainebleau is a nightmare. Imagine spending your vacation by the sea locked inside an endless terrarium - not a single window in this 1600 room beast opens. You look at the sea as if on TV - no smell, so sound, no breeze - from every room. Everything at Fontainebleau revolves around overpaying for mediocre food and drink with consistently poor service. An attempt to order coffee from room service, after 10 minutes on hold, was aborted after being told that the wait would be "at least 50 minutes". For a cup of coffee! The lobby overhaul is attractive enough but the hallways are unforgivably tacky. The rooms are nicely appointed (despite the lack of air) and very clean, but the mushy mattress felt as if it had been held over from when the hotel was first opened. The vast amount of money spent on the re-do of the property evidently left little for employee training - there is no sense of experience or professionalism anywhere. My solution: canceling the rest of the reservation and moving to a hotel with - imagine it: a window that opens and a balcony - this morning.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Fontainebleau. It is disappointing for us to hear that your overall experience was not to your satisfaction. Our entire team strives to provide a most memorable time for all of our guests, and we truly apologize as this was not achieved for you. We have attempted to contact you several times to discuss your concerns. If you can kindly reach out to us, we would appreciate an opportunity to offer a solution and earn back your loyalty in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel has many different types of rooms and apparantly we were fortunate in getting a room overlooking miami and a pool... but kids were often playing in the pool and our patio constantly had cigarette butts from the patios above tossing them over!!! When in a hotel of that price range you'd think people were brought up more polite!? Not the hotels fault of course. My complaint with a four star hotel with business meetings being the norm, was that we had - upon arriving; no clothes hangers (not one!), no ice in that tower, no iron or board, we had to wait till late afternoon (4:30 pm) for check-in to get the bed choice that was confirmed at time of booking. The room was nice, but not much nicer that the other 3 stars we had been staying at during the week prior. The hotel is definitely geared towards a young crowd with loud music (the unpleasant boom boom kind) and $18 drinks (in a plastic cup no less), We will not be back, even though we did find the staff well trained and very pleasant... even though the pool staff waitresses outfits were very tacky! ... and no we are otherwise not prudish.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days during a conference. As far as I can tell, this is a club first, hotel second (maybe third). The staff were helpful, but the entire place revolves around the nightlife. Interesting seeing drunk kids rolling out of the nightclubs at 5am on my way to the airport. Room itself was ok, kind of small and an akward layout. Would prefer to stay somewhere else next time, mostly because I like my hotel and nightlife to be seperated.

Room Tip: Do not stay above the main club if you want to sleep before 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The staff at the main pool area was the highlight of my experience at the Foutainebleau. As soon as I stepped foot outside, Jefferson was eager to get my group of friends and myself settled and comfortable. Nikki did an exceptional job recommending Strawberry Margarita pitchers and quesadillas, which were beyond amazing. Throughout our time at the pool, I would also like to recognize Ivan and Leo for constantly stopping by and making sure everything was to our standards and liking.

I cannot wait to return! Thank you Jefferson, Nikki, Leo, and Ivan for making our stay and time at the pool so amazing. You all surpassed my expectations. See you again very soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.