We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not for us, depends on your 'style'. 3 rating is generous” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FOREVER FONTAINEBLEAU
Ranked #30 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ok, but not for us, depends on your 'style'. 3 rating is generous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel has many different types of rooms and apparantly we were fortunate in getting a room overlooking miami and a pool... but kids were often playing in the pool and our patio constantly had cigarette butts from the patios above tossing them over!!! When in a hotel of that price range you'd think people were brought up more polite!? Not the hotels fault of course. My complaint with a four star hotel with business meetings being the norm, was that we had - upon arriving; no clothes hangers (not one!), no ice in that tower, no iron or board, we had to wait till late afternoon (4:30 pm) for check-in to get the bed choice that was confirmed at time of booking. The room was nice, but not much nicer that the other 3 stars we had been staying at during the week prior. The hotel is definitely geared towards a young crowd with loud music (the unpleasant boom boom kind) and $18 drinks (in a plastic cup no less), We will not be back, even though we did find the staff well trained and very pleasant... even though the pool staff waitresses outfits were very tacky! ... and no we are otherwise not prudish.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,754
    1,388
    699
    403
    413
See reviews for
1,376
1,656
197
1,233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days during a conference. As far as I can tell, this is a club first, hotel second (maybe third). The staff were helpful, but the entire place revolves around the nightlife. Interesting seeing drunk kids rolling out of the nightclubs at 5am on my way to the airport. Room itself was ok, kind of small and an akward layout. Would prefer to stay somewhere else next time, mostly because I like my hotel and nightlife to be seperated.

Room Tip: Do not stay above the main club if you want to sleep before 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The staff at the main pool area was the highlight of my experience at the Foutainebleau. As soon as I stepped foot outside, Jefferson was eager to get my group of friends and myself settled and comfortable. Nikki did an exceptional job recommending Strawberry Margarita pitchers and quesadillas, which were beyond amazing. Throughout our time at the pool, I would also like to recognize Ivan and Leo for constantly stopping by and making sure everything was to our standards and liking.

I cannot wait to return! Thank you Jefferson, Nikki, Leo, and Ivan for making our stay and time at the pool so amazing. You all surpassed my expectations. See you again very soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This place is awesome! They have made this hotel the place to stay in SouthBeach. The staff is awesome and the amenities are also awesome. I went for a run on the boardwalk in the morning and enjoyed the pool and lobby!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My second visit here in 2 years and it still surpasses (in my view) anywhere else i have visited ,Check in better than ever ,Nightlife and Buzz have to be experienced to be believed ,,,,
Slight problem we encountered was speedily & efficiently sorted out by David Arraya (general manager) Its nice to know that he sorts things personally and cares about his Hotel and its reputation.The food is as good as you will get anywhere ,A slight problem with Pool service but they are so busy, it is understandable that sometimes things can take a bit of time ,Overall a highly enjoyable time .,Ignore the people on here complaining about the cost ,YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR ,

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the Nightclub end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very luxurious hotel, very modern, rooms were comfy and you have a mac computer in each room. Gym was the best equipped hotel gym I have seen. The day spa, although expensive, is amazing, best massage I have had in a while. I have to admit the food was very expensive, dont bother eating at Gotham, not worth the money. The poolside menu was good. Cocktails were great. The room was very spacious. They did stuff our room up the first night (booked us in the wrong room, but this was corrected with a free upgrade and we were very happy in the new room :))

Room Tip: Sorrento tower is newer than chateau. Rooms more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for 12 nights from November 16th. The hotel itself is amazing and a architectural wonder. You really get the feeling that this was once a very special hotel full of celebrities back in the 60s and 70s and trying its best to get that status back.
We arrived on a Saturday and headed straight to the pool. At first we were thinking 'what have we let ourselves in for' walking past the pool, music blaring out with massive base, cabanas filled with obese men in their 50's flashing the cash with 2-3 women in their early 20's barely wearing anything and sporting huge plastic racks and waist length hair extensions. However we only found it to be like this on weekends, during the week it was lovely and quiet full of families and couples.
The pool is lovely! The website boasts 11 pools however its really only one with a couple of pointless dipping pools and one that seems to always be roped off for private parties. The staff are great, they ask you if you need a drink and if you say no they are sure to leave you alone for the rest of the day unless you need them again. Security is so tight at this place, you feel über safe, you need to show your room key when entering and existing the pool.
If your the more quiet type, then I would suggest sitting on the beach, it is truely lovely and the waiters still attend to you. It is true that they try sell you a cabana every time you go there. Politely decline. The only annoying thing about sitting on the beach is you do get some random people selling palm readings, bikinis, sunglasses and most annoyling a pervy guy targeting your girlfriends for massages. The hotel should really do more to stop these people bothering guests.
As we stayed here 12 nights we went to Vida, scarpetta, Gotham steak and hakkasan. All these restaurants were amazing but the best by far was hakkasan, we loved it so much we went back 2 more times. It's hard to see how these places stay a float though as there were never many more than a few tables in them, I don't know if its just off season or what but quite strange.
I used the gym which was nice and well equipped and my girlfriend used the spa. It was $35 dollars just to get in but she said it was so nice, although any treatments will set you back a small fortune.
Rooms were nice and Apple Mac is a nice touch, tv isn't bad. 1 complaint is that our room stank of smoke when we first walked in even though it was a non smoking floor.
Staff are friendly and very helpful although you can't help but think they only have there eye on one thing, which is your wallet.
The resort is like a cruise ship, you never have to leave but if you do, you wont find a lot else close by. We found a Walgreens not to far away to get some snacks but other than that, there are no shops, restaurants or anything else in walking distance.
Mostly everything costs here. They say the chairs on the beach are free but this is included in the $17 resort fee and if you want a umbrella it's a extra $25. Be sure to use the coupon book they give to you when you check in. It got us 20% off hakkasan ;)
All in all we had a amazing time here and were very sad to leave

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.