We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot in Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #32 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot in Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed for 4 days at the hotel in November.

It's a beautiful hotel, a great location, the grounds were impeccable, and the service was great (see below).

When we first checked in - by a very nice lady, Catherine A - we had a room on the 7th floor. Well, the people in there were playing gangster rap so loud, it sounded like it was coming from our room. So I went down to the front desk & they immediately changed us to the 5th floor - no problem at all. Security happened to be in the elevator with me as I was going back up. He said he was going to see about the noise on the 7th floor, so they obviously react very quickly to complaints. Great to see!

We stayed in the Chateau tower. Room was nice. Not 'amazing', but nice and clean. Virtually no space for clothing and our luggage had to be stacked at the entrance, but not a big deal. Could definitely hear people in other rooms (especially above us). Had a decent view of the canal, which was nice.

Food was mixed. We had a lunch at the La Cote, out by the pools. The $20 "grilled cheese" (I forget the original name of it) was simply amazing. 3 of us had something to eat and it was all excellent. We were also part of a conference, and the food served by the conference catering was average, at best. Service across the board was good - but food itself was mixed.

I mentioned the $20 'grilled cheese'. Prices are definitely on the high side here, so be prepared. 3 lunches with some 'happy hour' drinks and wine for 4 of us was $320.

Beach area was amazing. Beautiful sand and the sounds of waves... Kenny W and the guys will really take care of you there. I think the beach is better than the pool area, but to each their own.

One last thing - if you're into night clubs, apparently the top one (or one of the top ones) is off the lobby of the hotel. For 2 of the nights we were there, the entire lobby area was just packed with people lined up to get in.

Overall, very nice hotel, good service and great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,223
    1,218
    633
    369
    384
See reviews for
1252
1455
170
1093
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This really was an appalling experience. We paid for an upgrade on arrival when we learned that the deluxe ocean view room that we had booked didn't actually face the Ocean at all....and ended up in the main 'Chateau' building in a 'deluxe ocean fronted balcony room'. The entire floor smelled so strongly of the kitchens which got even worse if you opened the doors from the room to the balcony, at which point the noise from the Kitchen extractor fans was deafening. Long story but suffice to say, we had to change rooms twice during a 3 night stay, (and even the so called 'higher end' rooms and junior suites are pretty basic, aside from the gimmicky apple Mac's they lack any of the thoughtful touches or elegance you might expect). Cleanliness is lacking, there are areas of the hotel that feel abandoned and desolate due to it's size and the whole place is devoid of any feeling of welcome, courtesy or hospitality. The attitude of the front desk is dreadful (once you have finished queuing to speak someone that is...) and from checking in to checking out you feel like you are being sold to. We had a sales pitch on the beach to try to persuade us to pay for an 'upgraded' beach bed (larger beds and cabanas at this hotel are rented from $150 right up to $1500 per day and so much space is taken up by them around the pools that there is a woeful lack of space remaining for the 'non-chargeable' beds) and if you want an umbrella for some shade that will be an extra $25 (plus auto gratuity and tax of course). We ate at Gotham and the food was good but hugely overpriced taking all things into consideration and the service was, like everywhere else, pretty awful. We had lunch one day at La Cote, which was very good and the highlight of the stay, thanks to the one outstanding member of staff we encountered at the hotel (Edgy-who is lovely and who's talent is wasted here). To add to all this the location is not good at all unless you are happy to stay on the property for the entire duration (which is unlikely !) you will need to take a taxi to get anywhere near any other eating, drinking or shopping options at all as there is literally nothing in walking distance. We had a late flight so, tried to arrange a late check out when we arrived (chargeable of course) but the hotel policy means that this cannot be confirmed until on or after the checkout time of 11am on the day of departure. We didn't really want to hang around not knowing if we should pack or not until that time on our last day, so instead, we were told that we could store our luggage and use the hotel for the day and there was a shower and changing facility we could use before our departure. However, when we came to check out it transpired that they wanted to charge $70 for us to us the shower before we left. Unbelievable.The attitude of the front desk manager when we said that we weren't happy about this was so bad it was almost funny...she apologized insincerely (and with more than a hint of sarcasm) that we hadn't been informed of this when we had originally asked but refused to do anything about it insisting that if we wanted to shower and change we would have to pay for it. Unbelievable-what a finale.....! We have been fortunate enough to travel extensively and stay in some fantastic properties both in the USA and around the world and this is the first time I have been moved to write such a poor review and believe me I could go on.....but instead I just won't go back.

Room Tip: Keep away from any room with a balcony located in the main building, the noise and smell from all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The room was well decorated and had a desk with a PC. The balcony views were awesome. The restaurants were excellent. The beach, pool, club, location, grounds were really something special. The customer service was superb. I was checking out and I realized I had left an item in the room. The front desk radiod up but the room had already been cleaned so I left my contact info but thought it was gone for good. A week later, a hotel representative called me and asked for my address and then mailed it back to me at no charge. Thank you Kara, a job well done!! I highly recommend the Fontainebleau Miami Beach! It was an awesome experience and will stay here again when I get back to Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get a higher floor oceanview with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

What a beautiful place! trendy, spendy, and fun. I was the beach bum and my husband attended a business seminar. Impeccably clean, with a friendly staff, and incredible spa, and club on site. We went to an incredible boat show across the street. The beach was endless beautiful white sand for sunset evening walks.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Love the style of the hotel... the staff, the service, everything... even though there is nothing immediately around the hotel, everything else makes up for it... excellent ocean views, spacious rooms and most importantly excellent bar..... had an excellent time there and would definately go back to Fontainebleau the next time I'm in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Place is THE PLACE to go to when staying in or around the Miami area!!! The restaurants are perfection, Liv is an amazing club prob the best in miami right now and the pool is so chic to relax and kick back a drink. All in all, you cannot go wrong here and thats a fact!!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent 5 days at this hotel and was really looking forward to the stay. It turned out to be a $325 a night disaster. Upon arriving the toilet was leaking, the mini bar was broken and the television did not work. The fire alarms were constant and annoying.

The price of everything is 50 % more than any other hotel on Miami Beach and while I don't mind paying I would really like to get something for my money other than propaganda about how wonderful this place is.

I bought a drink at the Bleau bar and gave the waitress a hundred dollar bill to pay and she asked if I wanted change!

I emailed management about the problems and they told me they were sorry about the experience and they said they were sorry and the next time I come they promise to make it better!

Go to Eden Roc next door. Better rooms. Better attitude. Better views and for half the price. Fontainebleau management...you need to be fired!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. Not this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.