We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FOREVER FONTAINEBLEAU
Ranked #30 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
“Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The service at Fontainebleau is second to none. If you drive there, you may see Carlos Mena at the Valet station. He is absolutely wonderful and beyond helpful. So is Renald LaPierre - they both provide fabulous service and are wonderful people. They are always willing to go the extra mile. As the owner of a business, I was setting up for a trade show. Carlos was willing to trek across the entire property with ALL of my gear!
At check-in, Candace Carman was very informative and friendly.
I would definitely go back anytime.

Room Tip: If you check in late on a Friday, and there is a convention occuring (usually is) you may just get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,739
    1,378
    698
    401
    413
See reviews for
1,371
1,651
196
1,228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Me and my wife visited to celebrate our 20 year anniversary. From the Bellman Jerry assisting us beyond his duties with his friendly attitude and great service to our front desk agent Katlin which made us feel like if we where home. The hotel is great, the room was very modern and most of all clean and with great views to the ocean and bay, thanks Malik for recomending such room!!! it was what we wanted, and our celebratrion could not be more romantic than what it was. Everything around the premises was beautifull, from the lobby to the pool areas, and not to mention Arkadia where we had a Blast, I will definetly go back on other times!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front or Ocean view they are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Brought my team in for a board meeting and decided to stay over for this weekend. I must say that the resort is quite big and spread out over 20+ acres I am guessing. The constant remodeling over the years keeps it looking fresh. Rooms are of a Four Seasons Quality as is housekeeping. Grounds are well maintained. However,It is extremely pricey for what you can experience elsewhere however.
My surprise is that they constantly remind you that everything is extra. Want a beach chair ? They check your key to see if you are entitled to one based on your room rate. Want an umbrella ? $ 20 bucks; want ANYTHING to eat or drink ? Automatic 20 percent added to bill regardless of service level. Since they get the 20 percent service levels vary greatly by server. Lots more examples ....but then it starts to feel like a Spirit airlines merged with Four Seasons after a while.

Room Tip: Be sure you are clear as to WHAT you are getting , ocean view vs Ocean front, someone's timeshar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Our property is on 22 acres, making it the largest resort on the Eastern seaboard of the United States. I appreciate learning of your honest and constructive feedback, and I apologize if you felt as if though my team was constantly trying to advise you of extra fees. We do our best to be transparent and clear with our guests with all of our policies and pricing, as we know how frustrating it can be to have surprise charges at the end of your stay. Please note that our pricing is in-line with all luxury hotels on Miami Beach and that the service charge is very common on South Beach as well. I hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate that we provide exceptional value to our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

great hotel, great staff especially the manager David and Eli they are there to please. Pool can be busy but the beach is right there.Rooms come with Mac computer and great munchie bar if you need it. Water pressure in the shower is the best I have seen the gym is grand the spa is over the top. What can I tell you its worth the price.

Room Tip: call ahead talk to the hotel staff see what's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

i was just here for a long weekend. the rooms were nice but small. the service was great at the pool area, and we loved hanging out by the pool for 3 days...everything is ridiculously expensive, $17 for a kettle and club is absurd! also noone tells you that gratuity of 18% is included in every bill- that is not nice at all... also, trying to get a quick drink in the lobby is impossible as the service is terribly slow...oh the gift shop was ridiculous too-$265 for a dress shirt???, no thanks I will pass.
the gym- was awesome, with views of the ocean and pool area...

this place is way overated and not worth the extra coin to stay here. plenty of other better choices in south beach at much lower prices, and much closer to ocean blvd, espaniola way etc( good places to go out at night)

no way I will come back to this place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your experience. I appreciate the positive feedback regarding our service at the pool and our gym, and I will ensure that our Pool team is recognized accordingly. I am very sorry if you found that your overall experience did not meet your expectations. Although there are many choices on Miami Beach, none will be able to offer the wide array of amenities and food options as Fontainebleau. As for pricing, you will find that other luxury properties on Miami Beach are in-line with Fontainebleau. I hope to have another opportunity to change that perception around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently stayed here for a business conference and it was fantastic! I was with some co-workers from New York and New Jersey and we had a blast! At first we were somewhat lost, not really knowing where to go and what to do in our off time. We first wanted to know where the good places were to get a drink and some dinner and really enjoy being in South Beach. After asking around for a while, we finally ran into the VIP and concierge manager, a Ms. Eti Itah. She gave us a tour of the hotel and gave us a thorough description of the nightlife in the area. She was outstanding! Knowing where all the hot spots were, we turned a business week into the time of our life! I highly recommend the Fontainebleau Hotel and if you want to find out where to go and what to do to enjoy your experience to the fullest, I suggest you ask for Eti at the concierge desk. She will direct you the right way to the ultimate South Beach experience! I can't forget the views, watching the sunrise over the ocean was just magical! I can't wait for our next conference down there, much needed after the big storm we just encountered. Club Liv was ridiculous, best club I been too! The Arkadia pool was just as great! I may take the fam there very soon to get them away for a while and forget about what Sandy left behind! Do it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Hotel has a long and illustrious history and a Billion Dollars was spent refurbishing and extending it just two or three years ago. At first arrival you are impressed with the number of porters and parking attendants making order out of a great deal of traffic, somehow the parking/drop off area seems too small for the size of the Hotel which went from two towers to four in the refurb.
We were over half an hour in the line at reception which didn't impress me, we had booked a suite but were left to find our own way to it and work out the room for ourselves which I did not rate as five star service. That being said the suite itself was beautiful, spacious and well furnished, with a very comfortable bed.
The standard of room cleaning during our 5 day stay left a lot to be desired.
Our room was 150 yards from the lift and it was another 150 yards to Reception and a further 150 yards to the pool so you got plenty exercise. there were several pools dotted around the property with a seperate one dedicated for children, however you had to go to the beach to get any peace and quiet because the main pools [and the main lobby bar] had loud house music playing all the time and you couldn't really have a quiet conversation. Beach Beds free but sunshades were $25.
The front of house staff to a person were everything that you would expect and there was a very high level of security about the place.
This review may sound negative but I don't really mean it to be. We really enjoyed our stay at the Fontainebleau, but at those prices we were looking for perfection which it wasn't.

Room Tip: This is a very big hotel and rooms in the Versailles Tower are 300 yards from Reception and another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.