We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small city in Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A small city in Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed two nights in October while at a conference. I was very impressed by the vastness of this resort. It is huge, but it becomes small and manageable quite quickly and while it is located in a fantastic area, one could never leave the property and still find plenty to do over a mulitple-day period. There is a wide array of places to soak up the sun, various pool settings from "club" with the attendant ceaseless music and bar scene, a kids' area with a waterslide, and "zen"-like adult-ony areas of peace and quiet. There is, of course, the beautiful broad, endless beach (well-attended by the hotel staff) and between the hotel and the beach there is a fantastic enclosed miles-long raised wooden walkway that is perfect for walking, running, or just sitting and watching the surf. The complex has eight restaurants offering just about any dining experience you could want and five bars, ranging from the pool/beachside La Cote to the cavernous velvet-roped Arkadia nightclub literally underneath the lobby (many celebrity sightings while i was there!). I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and despite the throngs of people constantly leaving and arriving and the Grand Central Station-feel of the massive lobby, I could usually get my questions answered and get where I needed to go without delay. The Fontainbleau also has one of the best and most complete hotel gyms I have ever been to - clean, bright, all manner of weight training and cardio equipment and the space to use them, a very helpful staff, instructors for training, yoga sessions, plenty of water, and the most outstanding views I have ever enjoyed while working out. I did not have a chance to use the spa, but the physical layout and menu of services looked fantastic. I would endorse this hotel for a couple's getaway or a family vacation - just be ready for the size and high-energy level. If you're not up for that, you probably shouldn't be in Miami Beach anyway!

Room Tip: i would strongly recommend doing some homework before selecting a room. The resort is virtually a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,010
    1,151
    608
    362
    372
See reviews for
1168
1381
162
1048
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We liked the pools, the restaurants and the location. It's a very impressive facility on the surface. The room was nice but repeatedly not cleaned to the standard one would expect given the hotel's credentials and the price of a suite. The patio door was jammed open on arrival and this took approx 5 calls to prompt action. Despite the nice facilities the hotel is marred by stifling bureaucracy and rules upon rules governing what you can and can't do. These rules are blindly enforced by staff without any regard to circumstances of the guest or ability to think ' out of the box'.
We stayed for a few days but the level of unnecessary challenge encountered and lack of organisation among staff was significant. Having been compensated financially for these issues by management whilst there we left vowing to try somewhere else next time. However, the final insult came in receiving an email from FB when we arrived back in the uk saying that an amount had been charged to our card, halving the compensation previously agreed!?
The attitude of penalising the client for incompetence of the establishment is one we have never experienced before and are unlikely to again thankfully. Caveat emptor.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our first stay at the Fontainebleau was beyond the word amazing. As we arrived to the valet we were greeted by friendly and kind faces. We meet a gentlemen named Carlos Mena who took ours bags and showed us the way to the front desk and waited with our bags through out the check in process who then accompanied us to our room. This gentlemen was very attentive and helpful through out our wonderful stay at the Fontainebleau. Not only did we receive amazing guest service but the hotel is a magnifecent from the hotel lobby to the numerous pool location to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

With amenities galore, The Fontainebleau Hotel is a wonderful resort for re-charging the ol' life battery. Situated right on the beach, and with a variety of pools to choose from, your days can be spent catching some rays, enjoying a book, or simply people watching. Believe us, there's always some interesting characters around to gaze at! The gym is top-notch with both helpful and knowledgable staff to get you through whatever level of workout you desire...don't be afraid to ask. For a special night out, be sure to experience Hakkasan, their highly rated restaurant tucked away up on the 4th floor. Even drinks and apps.at the bar can be something to rave about!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room For families, there are multi-level suites with a kitchenette available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

On a recent trip to Miami a friend and I decided to check out the famous Fontainebleau Hotel. I was fortunate enough to have had come in contact with America Gonzalez who made our stay their well worth it. With great service and friendly staff we enjoyed an amazing view from our room. Friday night we stopped into club LIV located in the main building of Fontainebleau and enjoyed as superstar producer Jermaine Dupri threw down with a great mixture of hip hop and house music. Saturday we relaxed in one of the many cabanas and enjoyed great food and drinks as we listened to the DJ playing the hotest songs. Overall it was a great experience and I would not stay any where else next time I come to Miami. Thank you America for the great service you went above and beyond!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Very hip looking hotel! Food was very good at all places we ate.Wish there was more to do for people with young children. The pools were stunning!Cesar Claudia at the cabana desk was great!Completely went out of his way.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very upscale, nice and classy. the staff was very professional and helpful especially the hotel managers David Arraya and Leo. They did everything they could to ensure our experience to be beautiful and it was. their customer service was exceptional. We had an amazing time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.