We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All The World's A Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #31 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
1 review
“All The World's A Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

No disrespect to Will Shakespeare, but man, he was way off. All the world’s a stage, huh? Well, after an all-day spa spectacular at the Fontainebleau’s Lapis Spa in Miami Beach over the weekend, I can officially confirm that all the world’s a spa. Or at least it should be. I am convinced that spa visits equate to happy people, and happy people make the world a better place. It’s so simple.

Soaking in bubbling mineral baths for hours on end will help lift any haze of unclarity you may have lingering over your life. Lounging on perfectly-arched Morrocan-inspired Hamman marble benches set to 105 degrees will warm your body straight to its core. Laying motionless under an invigorating indoor rain tunnel will work its magic, too. And of course, I can’t forget being buffed and polished from head to toe by a non-English speaking spa professional who was surely taking a break from his mid-day photo shoot at Ocean Drive Magazine to cater to my every need. Ah, life can be so flawless sometimes.

Not my first spa experience, but certainly the most thought-provoking. As I simmered in the eucalyptus-infused steam room, thoughts trickled out of me almost as if they were racing against the glistening beads of sweat rolling down my freshly-polished limbs. I sat there thinking of some of the things I am totally and helplessly in love with in my own little world.

I could go on forever…or least for another day of soaking, spa attendant manhandling and bottomless glasses of lemon-drenched water. But mostly, knowing I’m exactly where I’m meant to be is, dare I say, better than any picture perfect, gold dusted spa steward…for now at least!

VIsit www.marissafoglia.com for more on this review!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,075
    1,170
    617
    363
    378
See reviews for
1203
1404
165
1062
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The hotel while quite large has great service. An issue developed during my stay and the manager was very responsive in helping to resolve it. It is a great place for a conference as the hotel has a great mix of meeting rooms while offering first class amenities

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We take customer service very seriously, and sincerely appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed three nights during the week-fortunately, there was, as usual, some convention going on, so I was upgraded to the Sorrento building. I've stayed there before-the best! Very quiet, spectacular ocean view, no noise, good staff-microwave, small personal refrigerator. This was extremely positive, and I'm grateful to have been upgraded. Great value!
My only complaints-the resort charge for the public areas, which I tried to avoid at all costs, and the spa/hair salon. My facial was very unprofessional, in my opinion, and my hair stylist was late 15 minutes, so I had to cancel, since there's an 11a checkout! Fortunately, it wasn't highly enforced in Sorrento, so that was positive.
My room service staff friendly, professional, and all staff in Sorrento very friendly, professional, and helpful!
A very nice stay and positive experience!

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to Sorrento-the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your experience; It is always good to hear from our guests. I am pleased to learn that our Team responded and was able to find a resolution to your challenge. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed there for a medical confrence , we worked all day and partied all night, Liv is an insane experience.
the staff was attentive ,welcoming and always created you with smile .
the view from my room was breath takeing

Room Tip: any suite on the upper floor in tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I am currently staying at this hotel. The hotel is incredibly expensive and the service is quite average. A soda costs $7 and the hotel charges $4.50 on every food delivery plus 20% service charge. My other big issue is about the hotel having very thin walls between the rooms and I could hear the noisy neighbors all night. Finally the hotel does not have any firm pillows which made it very hard for me to sleep. The only plus point was the FedEx Kinko's business centre on campus.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the service lift. It can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, I was unable to locate your reservation but would like the opportunity to offer you a different pillow, as foam pillows are also available to guests upon request. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable while you are here, please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Services Team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We came here hoping to find a perfect beach hotel in a vibrant city. We found a huge, outdated, smelling of detergent, overpriced and over-rated tourist factory. Feels like it has not changed much since the times of Sinatra.
Avoid especially the Versailles wing, which is the oldest part. We paid for a deluxe room with balcony - 600$ per night - just to find out the balcony cannot be used due to the noise from the chimneys of the restaurant. If it has not been for my wife, who does not stand being cheated, we would have had a very disappointing weekend - luckily, she did raise noise with guest relations and we were moved to a Junior suite in another wing which was better , though not perfect.
The silver lining: most staff members did try to make our stay nice, so bravo to them!
Conclusion: We do not recommend it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, avoid the Versailles wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear about your impression of Fontainebleau despite our recent extensive renovation. However, I am pleased to know that our team accommodated you and your wife with an alternate room option, in order to make your stay more enjoyable. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is an old hotel that has been remodeled and the rooms are decent but nothing special. However, that is not the reason I would never stay there again. During my stay there was an issue with our room (our pullout bed was broken) and it is a long story but my friend and I ended up being woken up by two security guards standing over our bed asking us to leave the room at 5:00 am. I talked to management and there was nothing they could do so we had to pack up and move to a friend's room. The thing that bothered me the most was that we did not let these security guards into our room and it was a very scary way to wake up and be asked to leave. I spoke to top management about the issue the next day and they were not very sympathetic about the whole thing, we did end up getting a credit but only after talking to over 4 different people. The rooms are way over priced and in my opinion not worth it. On the positive side, all the service staff we encountered were amazing specifically Kim, Michael, Mario, Angel, and Allan (sorry I don't know last names). It was a lot of fun at the pool eventhough the weather was not great. The coffee shop in the hotel is outrageously over priced and other than the pool, LIV and Arcadia I would never go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. At Fontainebleau, we work hard to ensure all of our guests are comfortable and expectations are exceeded. Upon reviewing your reservation, I see that our team did offer a room move when we were informed of your challenge with the sofa bed. In addition, a generous amenity was sent to your party so that you could enjoy the rest of your bachelorette weekend. We appreciate the kind words about our team members, and we will be sure to pass your recognition on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.