We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but I expected a bit more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Club South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #41 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bozen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good, but I expected a bit more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

my wife and me spend a week at the Shore Club, we are from the fashion industry. The room was spacious and comfortable, I liked it better than the one at the Delano earlier this year. The lobby needs revamping, as well as the restaurants and bar (the Raleigh scores much better in this respect). The pools are fun, more than those of other comparable hotels, I liked the weekend action a lot, so .... genuously american without European snobbiness. Downside: if you do not have a deep sleep, you'd better stay up partying. We got a good deal price-wise.
Competition is setting new standards, thus the Shore Club needs to catch up -not easy for somebody who led the pack once.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Guest Experience Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear campeao,

Thanks for your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Shore Club has a fun atmosphere and we encourage our guests to enjoy our famous bar scene as well. That’s what South Beach is mostly about!

Thanks for choosing us and other Morgans Hotel group properties. We always strive to lead and offer the most unique and fun experience.

Best,

Jennifer Espinoza
jennifer.espinoza@morganshotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    478
    196
    127
    131
See reviews for
140
602
87
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

This place was perfect with 2 Great Restaurants and 2 options for a nightlife. The pool lounge at night is very sexy and classy. The Red Room was Hip and fun. Nobu is now my favorite place to be ever. I have been to the 2 in NYC and the one in Las vegas and I have to say this one is the BEST one! The Italian Restaurant next to Nobu was great too and their staff was great. The beach is right next to the hotel. My room was huge, my balcony was great, my bed was like heaven and I had a great view of the beach and My pool. I liked that it was very close to shopping areas and cvs. Not far from Nikki Beach my second favorite place to party. Is located close to all the fun spots;-)

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Guest Experience Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear luvangel1883,

Thanks for sharing the wonderful experience you had!

We really do have everything to keep you busy or relaxed—whichever your preference is—under the same roof: from pools, to restaurants, to stores, to the beach, to a wonderful spa.

Im glad you had fun and enjoyed our atmosphere. Please contact me when you decide to visit us again so we can continue to pamper you.

Regards,

Jennifer Espinoza
Jennifer.espinoza@morganshotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

When we went to the Shore Club we had a lot of fun. The rooms are very airy and light. We got a Junior Suite with sea view. Great bathrooms, lots of space. They are kind of loud though because in the mornings you have room service wagons on the concrete floor and you have loud music on the weekends. Anyway the pool scene is fun to watch, the restaurants are great, especially Nobu. Thy gym and the Spa definitely need work!!! Ago has probably become a bit of age but is ok anyway. All in all a fun experience perfect for a girls holiday or partying.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Guest Experience Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear goldengirl1976,

I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the great feedback on our rooms, pool area and restaurants.

We do recognize the challenge with outside noise and we are looking into options on how we can provide a quieter experience to our guests.

Please contact me directly should you decide to come back to South Beach.

Warm regards,

Jennifer Espinoza
Jennifer.espinoza@morganshotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I was very surprised by the negative reviews on this hotel. From my experience, I can't understand how they got that impression, but every circumstance is different. Our stay was part of a romantic getaway, and we both loved it!

We got the hotel at a discounted rate on another travel website, but were nevertheless treated like gold upon arrival. They gave us an amazing room with a King Bed and a partial Ocean view, and even allowed for a late checkout.

The main lobby is so cool and relaxing. Wide open and beautiful white curtains and candles. The attention to detail is just wonderful. They have potted plantes and tropical gardens throughout, which add such a nice touch. It is a perfect mix of nature and hip contemporary styling. There is no shortage of bars and two, if not three restaurants on site. Had an amazing breafkast at AGO restaurant. The service was very good and personable. I was constantly waiting to be disappointed based on past reviews here, but instead kept finding myself relaxed and pampered. They also play music throughout the place, which gives it such a great vibe.

Just outside the Nobu Tower (and Ago Restaurant) there is a very european style courtyard with trees, plants, and sofas, all lit up by candles at night. This was the most romantic area of the hotel and a perfect place to unwind and have a drink.

The pool area is so much fun. Definitely not for everyone's taste, but if you're young or young at heart and like hip club music playing by the pool and big comfy mattresses and waited service, then this is your place. I checked out the Delano as well (their sister hotel) and the Shore Club is definitely more happening and intended for a younger crowd. Delano is a bit more "upscale" and a bit quieter, whereas the Shore Club at 3 DJ's going at it by the pool and gave you the feeling you were part of a very fun pool party. And the best thing is that if you don't like that scene, they have another pool and jacuzzi in the back, near the beach entrance, where you can relax and be away from the "party" atmosphere. And if that's not enough, just walk another 100 feet and you're at the Ocean Edge where they set you up with comfy beach chairs and towels, with waited service.

We were in the Nobu Tower, and the room was very cool. Mostly white, but the bed and pillows were so comfortable. I slept very soundly. Very comfortable bed! The shower was also very cool, a large glass wall with stone tile and a chair inside the shower. The bath products were all upscale and plenty of towels, robes, etc. You can even purchase a variety of things within the room if you want.

The Hotel also turns into a nightclub at night (Skybar) which was more happening than many of the bars on Ocean Drive. I can understand why this might not be for everyonet's taste, especially if you prefer classical music and more conservative decor, but if you're young or young at heart and coming to Miami and looking for a lively, hip, stylish experience then I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Guest Experience Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear xtos,

Thanks so much for your excellent and complete review! I’m very glad you got to enjoy every aspect of our hotel…from the rooms, to the pool, restaurant, and bars!

Thanks for appreciating the efforts we’ve made to provide our guests with the chicest and most fun ambiance.

I hope you come back soon to Miami Beach to where I hope becomes your favorite place in town!

Best,

Jennifer Espinoza
Jennifer.espinoza@morganshotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

While this hotel has a well trained staff it really is not anything special, at all. The rooms are almost depressing in their stark-ness ( as well as the lobby-which looks like they are hosting a trade show with covered booths) and none of the finishes are of high quality, as well they don't seem to be well maintained for a hotel at this price point. Forget about the pool area, as it has all the charm of a high school kegger. Worth noting that this place blasts terrible music from it's first floor club on weekends. It is very obvious that someone bought a run down hotel a few years back and spent the least possible amount of money turning it into the Shore Club. For the price, do your homework and you might be happier.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Guest Experience Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear masviajesmexico,

I’m sorry to read Shore Club was not your style of hotel. Just like every other property from Morgans Hotel Group, Shore Club was designed with a unique, young, and exclusive concept. The pool area and Sky Bar, inspired by the rich intense Matisse-inspired colors of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, transforms in the evening into an indoor and outdoor lounge. I’m sorry if the music disturbed your rest, our guests’ comfort is our priority and had we known, we would have done our best to minimize your inconvenience. We’d love to welcome you back – let me know and I’ll make sure you have a great stay next time.

Regards,

Jennifer Espinoza
Jennifer.espinoza@morganshotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

Have stayed at many hotels on Miami Beach over the years, but this was my worst experience! It was expensive, in need of an update, rooms were not maintained, noisy with concrete floor (every morning the maid walked through the hallway with a noisy cart or dragging laundry on the floor from one end to the other that woke everyone up), the valet costed a fortune, charged for internet access. We had a late flight and needed to use the shower, having stayed at the hotel for 4 days they even charged us 10 USD each for showering! On both mine and my colleague´s bill they added costs for the mini bar, which we had not opened. Unfriendly staff in general, pool staff in particular. Had to move from one spot to another due to a bigger group (were told I couldn´t use that sunbed being alone.... Do not got to that hotel, chose another, there are so many!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Guest Experience Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear swedeSweden,

I am so sorry you didn’t have a good experience while staying at Shore Club. There are certainly challenges with having Mexican sandstone in our guest rooms and we are looking into options on how we can provide a quieter experience to our guests. Depending on availability, we offer late check outs to those guests who have late flights, I’m sorry this couldn’t be accommodated during your stay.

I wish you would give us another opportunity to fall in love with our property. Please feel free to contact me directly should you decide to come back and I will do everything I can to make sure your stay goes perfectly.

Best,

Jennifer Espinoza
Jennifer.espinoza@morganshotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

This hotel had a great ambience, and was really trendy, but that was about 5 years ago. Now it just looks like an office block, the white drapy thing has seen its time gone, and this hotels needs an urgent reinvention. Only acceptable if you get a very cheap rate, but even then you will end up paying heavily for all the extras. No water in the room apart from 50cl bottles in the minibar ($8) and 75cl bottles on the side ($11), which for a "luxury" hotel is simply not acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreclubmanagers, Guest Experience Manager at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear regular-hotel-user,

Thanks for your review. I’m sorry you felt Shore Club needs a reinvention design-wise. The property has a very unique design where you decompress from the outside clutter and you lose yourself through the lobby’s white drapes and then relax in the Moroccan inspired garden and pool area.

Give us another opportunity to visit our property and experience South Beach in Shore Club’s style, so that we can change your mind.

Best,

Jennifer Espinoza
Jennifer.espinoza@morganshotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Club South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Address: 1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Club South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by famed British architect David Chipperfield, with landscaping inspired by the rich Matisse-like palette of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, Shore Club shimmers with intrigue and sensuality. Anchored by the original polished terrazzo floor, the elegant furnishings are an eclectic mix evocative of global marketplaces—including relaxed sofas, hand-woven tribal rugs and large patterned throw pillows from Kenya that invite mixing and mingling. The vibe is lively, the atmosphere intimate, the feeling electric. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Club South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Club Hotel Miami Beach
Shore Hotel Miami Beach
The Shore Hotel
Shore Club Miami
Shore Club In Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Club South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.