We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think they stole my watch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Club South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #42 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I think they stole my watch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were getting married in Miami and had all of our friends stay at the Shore Club for a few days before the wedding so we could relax by the beach and just have fun. We were looking at staying at a few different properties but went with the Shore Club due to its proximity to the beach and great area by certain restaurants and clubs.

Upon check in, Latoya, Sophia and Drew were all a pleasure to deal with. They made the check in process seamless and you should request them when dealing with anyone at the Shore Club.

Our room, a suite, was on the small side but we had heard that about the Shore Club and fully knew our rooms would be tiny going into it - like I said, we were staying for the location and ambiance of the hotel, not the great rooms. The room was kind of dirty - I think because the floors are concrete, it's really hard for housekeeping to see the amount of dirt on the floor. I only got to experience it because I lost a contact and was crawling around in filth to find it.

We had a lot of fun in this hotel, liked staying by the pool, the beach, the pool area is huge and there are 2 pools to accommodate the guests. They do charge you for chairs at the beach which is a bit weird if you are a hotel guest.

The worst part happened upon our departure. The safe is very high up in the room and I'm only 5'0 tall. We realized as soon as we checked out that I couldn't reach the back of the safe and my fiance's watch was left inside. We immediately started calling the hotel to see if housekeeping had found it or if someone could go in and find it for us. They said they would and call us back. We got no calls from them and the next day continued to call the front desk and security, where they admitted they still had not checked the room nor asked housekeeping. We kept calling and got the same answers from them. They then let someone else check into our room without still checking the room so the watch is either with their employees or with the next guest that checked into the room. I've never seen a nice hotel just not check to see if you left something behind if you call. To compare - the Conrad in Miami called my parents immediately when they found spare chargers in the room when they checked out. Here, we called for days and the Shore Club didn't even check with their housekeeping staff who cleaned the room! Beware.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear "His417,"

I sincerely apologize about these issues you experienced during your stay. We in fact do not charge hotel guests for beach chairs though. They are complimentary with your reservation. The only reason they will charge is if you have friends coming over that are not registered to your room that would like a beach chair, then they will be charged an additional fee. If you have only paid for 2 guests on your reservation then you will only get 2 complimentary chairs. If there are 6 of you in the room but you have only registered 2 people in the room, then the other 4 will be charged! Our floors in the room are also not dirty... it is a fancy Mexican sandstone that most people love! In regards to your missing watch, the hotel would never take anyone else's property. Please message me your phone number so I can have the Director of Security reach out to you in regards to this matter! dj.hicks@mhgc.com

Sincerely,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    476
    195
    127
    130
See reviews for
140
599
87
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

First time in Miami. Location is very good. People really nice and helpful.
Swimming pool and beach facilities are great to relax, The restaurant(s) are a bit expensive but the lounge is the patio is a good alternative before going out.
Be aware that the room (and hotel) style is quite modern and simple, which may be surprising. Colourful patio like Majorelle style.
Good location to have a break ...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dearest "Anuata224,"

Thanks for this great review! Glad you enjoyed yourself! Please come back to see us again soon.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel itself is nicely decorated in a very typical minimalist white with floating curtains and so on. Very airy and pleasant in the lobby.

We checked in to a room in the smaller part (not the north tower) and over the course of two nights discovered that the windows did not shut and the noise from the party at the pool was overwhelming. The second issue related to an incredibly noisy bed. We raised the issue and discovered that our room was 'scheduled for sale' and had non - standard decor. We were moved first to a very inferior room in the tower (from a king to a queen with less amenities) and finally to a good swap back in the original part of the hotel. The windows closed properly and the bed didn't screech. We slept well that night.

The moral is, it took a while to get a good room. The hotel bar and nightlife is full on, loud and noisy even 6 floors away with windows shut. Be prepared.

Breakfast was fine, nice fruit and good coffee and juice. Location is great and the private beach just a few metres away. Get there early. Same goes for the pool. Otherwise you could find yourself without a place to sit.

I struggled with this place in relation to the price paid. Yes it is south beach, but no it was not up to the mark. Several other hotels we have stayed at proved my point.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dearest "FrequentTraveller,"

Thank you for your review and I would like to apologize for the slight challenges you had at the beginning of your stay with your room! Please reach out to me the next time you would like to come back and I will personally look after your stay to ensure everything will be outstanding... dj.hicks@mhgc.com

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

It used to be a really nice hotel,when it first open,but now looks dirty!! It needs to be remodel ASAP!!! The only GREAT thing about is NOBU and the beach!!
Location wise is great,but is not of value for your money!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear "Sandra J,"

I am very disappointed by your review and have to disagree with your statements.... if you read the next following reviews posted about Shore Club, they talk highly about our cleanliness and beautiful property!

Kind Regards,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Visited March 5-9This truly is the only place I will stay in South beach! ALWAYS friendly, clean, helpful, courteous, genuine. If you want a hotel that does not treat you like a #? Go to the Shore Club they take pride in remembering your name and ALWAYS asking how your day/trip is going, not just a phony HELLO just because. Names to remember for their excellence ALWAYS…Reo Davis concierge
Alexandra front desk, Kenny concierge. Rooms are straight forward, comfy, cool and contemporary. Beds are ridiculously comfortable.

Room Tip: Ocean view is beautiful during the day but the sun does rise in the east real early, so if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dearest "Bonedr33,"

Well aren't you a doll! Thank you for this fantastic feedback... we think you are awesome too ;)

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed at the Shore Club from March 14-17. I'm an avid traveller with very high expectations. I have to say in all honesty this is my first ever review on trip advisor and I felt compelled to write this review because people should know what this place is about. Firstly and most importantly the cleanliness. You can literally eat off the floor anywhere on the premises, very impressive how clean it is. Secondly, the staff is incredible, genuine nice people who take pride in their position and really do their best to try and help as much as possible. The grounds are gorgeous with 2 pools (one for more of a party, and smaller ones for families). There is also a hot tub and direct access to the gorgeous beach. Literally a big blue door that opens into the ocean. The location is also perfect, you're about $7-$15 taxi ride from everywhere. I would suggest Cecconi's and The series of Prime restaurants (prime 112, prime italia, prime fish). I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone between the age of 25-40 years old. Everyone is extremely respectful of one an other and its a very good looking crowd! TRUST ME, BOOK THIS HOTEL, I PROMISE YOU WONT REGRET IT. Special shout out to: Austin Wilson, he's the night time Manager and he's very helpful and to Sophia the day time assistant manager who is very helpful! Also, just a random piece of information …. Im the type to search the entire internet for deals and value, I check every site possible to ensure I'm getting the best price possible. If you can land this hotel via a deal at a price point of $300-$400 per night (regular room), you will definitely not be disappointed! Incredible Value at that price!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dearest "Daniel G,"

WOW! Thanks sweetheart for this super sweet review of Shore Club! It's as if you are floating into Heaven.... Please come back and see us soon xoxo

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I like the more glamorous Loews take on the Miami art deco district for decor, but the staff here is unbeatable. Desk team (all of them), managers (we dealt with at least three) and especially the concierge staff (Keston and Rio are dear and exceptionally at what they do). Be prepared to have fun, or hear others have fun, if you are anywhere near the pool. The bungalows are great, but on the weekends the party barely stops at 4:00 a.m. immediately next door (the bungalows are next to the pool). That's a good thing for some, beware of it, though, if not for you.

I have had few better service experiences in my very many hotel stays around the world.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area if you intend to go to bed early (even on weeknights).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dearest "NYCAngels,"

"Fun" is our middle name :) Thanks for the great feedback and can't wait to see you again for another fabulous treatment from our fantastic staff!!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Club South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Address: 1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Club South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by famed British architect David Chipperfield, with landscaping inspired by the rich Matisse-like palette of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, Shore Club shimmers with intrigue and sensuality. Anchored by the original polished terrazzo floor, the elegant furnishings are an eclectic mix evocative of global marketplaces—including relaxed sofas, hand-woven tribal rugs and large patterned throw pillows from Kenya that invite mixing and mingling. The vibe is lively, the atmosphere intimate, the feeling electric. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Amex, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Club South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Club Hotel Miami Beach
Shore Hotel Miami Beach
The Shore Hotel
Shore Club Miami
Shore Club In Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Club South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.