We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool chair situation is sloppy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shore Club South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #39 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pool chair situation is sloppy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hi, I am an early riser so didn't mind getting to the pool right when it opens to reserve a spot for myself. The staff gives chairs to whomever gets there first, then you are free to wander, get breakfast, etc and come back to the chair whenever. As a result, within 20 minutes the pool is deserted but all the chairs are "reserved." I can't tell you how many fights I then saw break out between staff and guests. I don't have a problem with the policy, but you need to ***tell people when they check in*** what the deal is! Then I don't have to listen to that conversation over and over and your great staff doesn't have to deal with it :) Other than that, everything was great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dearest "Entrecote99,"

Thank you for this review! I am glad you enjoyed everything! Our pool and beach chairs are on a first come/first serve basis and can only be reserved for 30 minutes if the guest is not physically occupying the chairs. We do let our guests know at check-in if they inquire about the chair situation! Hope to see you again soon!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    657
    430
    181
    123
    126
See reviews for
125
536
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

i changed hotels after the week of wmc in miami and was a bit hesitant to book into shore club because of the high price, but it was absolutely worth every cent. the second i walked in and took a spot on one of the beds by the pool, i immediately relaxed into my time there - more than i had since arriving in miami several days earlier. the rooms are nicely appointed (though a bit on the small side) but the best part was the beautiful facilities you get to use as a guest at the hotel and the fantastic friendly staff and service you receive. the grounds are absolutely beautiful - the pool, the landscaping, the courtyard - the hotel lends itself to rest and relaxation and it's a treat to stay there. they have a decent gym and cute bathrooms. as mentioned, the service is great - i found everyone there to be friendly, pleasant, and genuinely happy to help you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dearest "LCY,"

Well bless your heart.... Aren't you just the loveliest! Thank you for this splendid review about Shore Club. It makes our day just knowing that you had a wonderful stay with plenty of rest & relaxation. Our friendly, pleasant, and genuine staff will be happy to assist you again on your next stay with us!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Shore club is an awful accomodation in town.
Service, from the check in, is incredible. I had printed my booking number and They had me waiting for 25 minutes before saying, yes we have your room, our mistake sit, sorry!!!
Breakfast is ugly, rooms old and dirty, but the worst is the swimming pool.
We had 7 rooms for 7 days and everytime They did not give us a chance to enjoy the swimming pool.
Location is great, Nobu very expensive but great, but the service and the efficency is really bad

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "Rotchko,"

Thank you for your review and I am sorry we fell short of your expectations. We have desperately tried to research your review and we are unable to find any block of 7 rooms for 7 days during the month of March. Our swimming pool is famous especially for its parties and we have never had a comment such as this especially about a guest not being able to enjoy our swimming pool. I have sent you a personal message so that I can try and track down your reservation. As of right now we are not able to find it. I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The staff including room service,housekeeping,front desk and concierge were oustanding
Management has instilled a very thoughtful and caring staff culture
Melissa Eastman the concierge is very special
She made some great restaurant suggestions and offered many great tips for shopping etc
We picked a poor time to visit as we are not fans of disco music and the electronic music fest was in full force
Check out hrs of operation for disco as it is difficult to escape the noise
We were moved to an upper floor

Room Tip: Poolside Disco can be very noisy book an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "JohntottaWa,"

We truly appreciate your great shout-out to our fabulous concierge, Melissa Eastman!! She is a doll! Thank you for the feedback about all of our great staff in each department at Shore Club. Melissa says hello and we all hope to see you again soon!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic and relaxing stay at the Shore Club from Mar. 17th – 19th. Latoya helped us with our check-in (room 586). She was very friendly and remembered our names throughout our stay. (She also helped us with a few requests that made our stay even better, thank you!!).

We did not know of the music conference until we arrived, and despite the booming music from the nearby hotels, the Shore Club remained peaceful throughout our stay. Even during the DJ/pool party, the hotel was never too crazy and we had full use of the pool and facilities.

The hotel has a very simple décor which looks quite plain and unimpressive during the day, but nicer at night. Having previously visited TSC at night, I was surprised to see a lot of wear and tear throughout the hotel’s walls, doors, elevators, etc. when we arrived during the day. I would have also enjoyed seeing some art/pictures in place of all the blank spaces throughout the hotel and rooms.

Our room was small but was very clean upon our arrival. The room was generally quiet (it faced the Setei) but you could still hear hallway noise. I was not a fan of the mustard-color bathrooms, but the water pressure in the shower was very good.

The staff was very friendly throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet at Terrazza was a perfect way to start the day. The service was very attentive and never rushed. My wife also had a massage outdoors and enjoyed it very much.

Overall, the Shore Club had a very good combination of style, service and value... we definitely plan to return to TSC next year, same time!

Some positives:
-The pools were great: the poolside service was attentive and the music was great.
-The hotel’s location on Collins is excellent. The direct beach access is very convenient.
-The food and drinks at Terrazza and the pool bar were reasonably priced and decent quality.

A few negatives:
-Although the room was generally quiet, we could still hear sounds from the hallway (e.g., doors slamming, people talking, elevators).
-When it rained Monday night, there were few indoor lounging areas at the hotel (the Red bar was closed, Terrazza was closed after certain time). Aside from the bar outside Nobu, the only place to hang out was the lobby.
-Compared to other hotels I’ve visited in South beach, there is a lot of wear and tear on the walls, doors, etc. During the day, the hotel looks a bit aged.
-The pool side bathroom is functional but could be improved.
-The Sony iPhone doc had poor sound quality

Room Tip: A room not near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "Eric C,"

Thank you for this amazing review! Latoya was so happy to know you had a great time and she was thrilled to assist you throughout your stay! We are happy that you enjoyed the peacefulness during the crazy Music Festival, the breakfast buffet at Terrazza, and the water pressure in our showers. We do have a fantastic combination of style, service, and value... thank you for mentioning! Hope to see you and your wife back again soon.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Shore Club staff definitely have maintained their high level of physical attractiveness and friendly service. Similarly, the food and drink at Terrazza and on the beach is awesome (simple poolside fare like french toast and chicken fingers). But the same cannot be said for the hotel's physical conditions. The style is outdated, Koi pond dirty, flowers sparse, and pillows faded. The fitness center was so grungy that I didn't use it (OK, late nights might have had some influence too...). Rooms are fine, but hallways feel grungy. Bathroom was nice and Malin & Goetz products are a nice touch. For the rates they continue to charge, they need to invest in a rehaul of the rooms and restaurant / common areas so guests' hearts don't fall at checkin.

Room Tip: The higher the better for unobstructed views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "NellDD,"

Thank you for the kind feedback about our delicious food and drinks! Also we are flattered by your mentions of our friendly service and physical attractiveness! As for the condition of the hotel, I am sorry you felt they we were not up to your standard. We regularly receive comments from our guests by how amazed they are by our outside area, including our landscape gardens, our Moroccan themed pond, and our general style & atmosphere. We have a dedicated team of engineers and designers who are constantly working to keep all of our areas in perfect condition and we hope that you will come back to see the ongoing improvements that we are doing!

Sincerely,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Last Sunday I had bruch with my sisters! we had a great time.
food was very good, the omelette, the salads... The mimosas and Bloody Mary :the best.
The service was excellent, the ambiance outdoor was perfect for the day
We will go again:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "Sandra C,"

WOW... many thanks to you and your sisters for sharing this great feedback about our swanky Ladies Brunch! Our mimosas and bloody mary's are the best in South Beach. Can't wait to see you all again for another brunch date!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shore Club South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Address: 1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Club South Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by famed British architect David Chipperfield, with landscaping inspired by the rich Matisse-like palette of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, Shore Club shimmers with intrigue and sensuality. Anchored by the original polished terrazzo floor, the elegant furnishings are an eclectic mix evocative of global marketplaces—including relaxed sofas, hand-woven tribal rugs and large patterned throw pillows from Kenya that invite mixing and mingling. The vibe is lively, the atmosphere intimate, the feeling electric. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Splendia, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shore Club South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Club Hotel Miami Beach
Shore Hotel Miami Beach
The Shore Hotel
Shore Club Miami
Shore Club In Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Club South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.