We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has been” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Club South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOWEST RATE - Up to 25%
Ranked #55 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Has been”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Shore Club staff definitely have maintained their high level of physical attractiveness and friendly service. Similarly, the food and drink at Terrazza and on the beach is awesome (simple poolside fare like french toast and chicken fingers). But the same cannot be said for the hotel's physical conditions. The style is outdated, Koi pond dirty, flowers sparse, and pillows faded. The fitness center was so grungy that I didn't use it (OK, late nights might have had some influence too...). Rooms are fine, but hallways feel grungy. Bathroom was nice and Malin & Goetz products are a nice touch. For the rates they continue to charge, they need to invest in a rehaul of the rooms and restaurant / common areas so guests' hearts don't fall at checkin.

Room Tip: The higher the better for unobstructed views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "NellDD,"

Thank you for the kind feedback about our delicious food and drinks! Also we are flattered by your mentions of our friendly service and physical attractiveness! As for the condition of the hotel, I am sorry you felt they we were not up to your standard. We regularly receive comments from our guests by how amazed they are by our outside area, including our landscape gardens, our Moroccan themed pond, and our general style & atmosphere. We have a dedicated team of engineers and designers who are constantly working to keep all of our areas in perfect condition and we hope that you will come back to see the ongoing improvements that we are doing!

Sincerely,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Last Sunday I had bruch with my sisters! we had a great time.
food was very good, the omelette, the salads... The mimosas and Bloody Mary :the best.
The service was excellent, the ambiance outdoor was perfect for the day
We will go again:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "Sandra C,"

WOW... many thanks to you and your sisters for sharing this great feedback about our swanky Ladies Brunch! Our mimosas and bloody mary's are the best in South Beach. Can't wait to see you all again for another brunch date!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I are visiting Miami for the first time. We wanted to stay in South Beach and I did my research to find the perfect property, one that offered a cool sophisticated environment where both young and old could indulge in the fun hip South Beach vibe. We decided the Shore Club was a good fit, drawn to the sleek modern decore, the beautiful beach front grounds and the inviting pool. We booked a special package directly on the hotel website (I always get better deals booking directly with a hotel). Our package included breakfast, cocktails and an upgrade (if available at check-in). We arrived late during busy spring break week and and on the tail end of the Ultra Music festival which brings crowds of ravers to South Beach. As soon as we walked into the lobby from the bustling boom of Collins Ave, the white sofas, walls, sheer flowing drapes and dim sparkeling lights had a calming effect on us. But then we came to the front desk and the calm beat changed. The front desk was pulsating with the requests of guests as the two calm and professional attendants gracefully mixed each request, pitch and demand, to bring back the smooth vibe this hotel is all about. Everyone wanted something and everone seemed to get what they were after. That includes us. The "upgrade" included in our package was not available, given the fact that the hotel was almost fully booked but Natalie at the front desk took care of us. She put us up in a beautiful spacious suite. We had a couple drinks at the lovely outdoor sky bar, where we drank refreshing pear martinis and talked with friendly local patrons. We returned to our sleek suite and ordered room service. It was pitch perfect! Looking forward to what comes next. It's Shore to be good! -The Johnson's

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "Holly S,"

You and your husband are both such sweethearts! We appreciate your fantastic review! Thank you for the fabulous comments about our superstar at the Front Desk, Natalie! She is a complete gem and can definitely make all our guests have a great first impression of the hotel. Glad you enjoyed our delicious pear martinis! Loved your comment about "it's Shore to be good!"

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here Halloween 2012 for one night. Checked in early at 11am, after arriving by shuttle from Orlando. Even though hotel states check-in is 2pm, they were happy to check us in early.

Room was spacious, but decor was very clinical - concrete slab floor, white walls, minimalist room decorations. Perhaps this is to make cleaning of the rooms easier, or the concrete floor may be due to the humid and hot South Florida climate. It wasn't an ungly room, but by no means amazing.

There was a bedside alarm clock that had various ambient sounds to help guests sleep (think rainforest noises, waves, waterfall etc), which also acted as an iPod/iPhone dock. Allowed me to plug in my phone and play Swedish House Mafia's "Miami 2 Ibiza" on repeat to get into the Miami party vibe.

Didn't spend much time in the room, as we went out to experience our first American Halloween and then stayed out for dinner and dancing in the street afterwards. We did check out the hotel surrounds though, there are two pools to lounge around, as well as a back gate that opens directly onto the beach. In addition there is a nice outdoor chillout area with shaded couches to sit and read a book while enjoying the great weather.

Hotel is in an ideal location, there are eateries directly across the road, as well as the main strip of bars/restaurants/shops which is less than a 10 minute walk south.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shats86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "Shats86,"

Thank you so much for your great review from this past Halloween! I am glad you were able to check in early! Jamming out to Swedish House Mafia's "Miami 2 Ibiza" is a perfect way to get your night going... Come see us again soon!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I proposed to my girlfriend on the flight to Miami last week on our way to the miami music festival (she said yes!...phew). I have been to the Shore club several times over the last few years and as it was fiances first time to the US and Shore Club it was imperative we stayed at a place I knew she would like. Well as always there was nothing to worry about. Every time I have stayed at the Shore Club they have never failed to deliver. As with me she loved the room, she loved the service, she loved the pool party.... she just loved everything about it. To top this once Lucy Martin, Shore Club general manager had heard of our engagement a complimentary bottle of champagne and strawberries dipped in chocolate were sent to our room.... PLEASE.... tell me any place you have stayed before and have been shown such hospitality. And before you think I am a big spender we were only staying in standard accommodation. I hope Lucy doesnt mind me sharing this with you but too often people complain about hotels yet not enough people point out all the good some hotels do and Shore club is top of the list

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 251RobertA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "251RobertA,"

Oh my goodness.... this is most fabulous review!! CONGRATULATIONS on your engagement and letting us be a part of this special time. We feel completely honored! Lucy Martin is such an amazing General Manager and was more than happy to send you champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries to help celebrate. We at Shore Club wish you the best of luck during the wedding planning and festivities. Enjoy every moment and come back to see us again!

Sending you much love from Shore Club,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was my second time at Shore Club, and I am not use to writing reviews, but the place is really amazing. The rooms are comfortables but classy and elegant, with everything you need. And they add a fun touch to it. Basically it is for me the perfect balance between fun and great service. People are so nice too. And the pool area is just perfect. I enjoyed the food too, on the terrace right newt to the pool. Icing on the cake, the crazy pool party on Sunday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dearest "Pedro B,"

Thank you for this fantastic review!! Having you stay with us again is like the icing on the cake for us! Please come back again soon for that perfect balance of fun and great service.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were told there would be a dj everyday at pool. Not the case, it's only on weekends. Even during spring break! Also, we weren't allowed to reserve the pool seats. We paid more for a beautiful ocean view room and instead our view was mostly of other buildings roofs. Staff not so friendly nor helpful!!!!!! Paid $5.00 gratuity on a coffee to go from restaurant in morning!!! Hotel over priced. Would never recommen!

Room Tip: If u request ocean front. Ask for a higher level in the building . Still not the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smirabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Smirabile,

Thank you so much for your honest feedback. Feedback from our guests, be it good or bad, is so important to us and serves as a vital tool for us to improve.

I am so sorry that you were given incorrect information regarding the presence of a DJ at the pool. During the year we do have a DJ for the pool party every Sunday. However during certain times of the year we have a DJ on several days of the week. For example for the last 10 days we have had a DJ on multiple days of the week for for the Ultra/Winter Music Conference and the pool parties have been a complete success.

It is standard practise in all hotels on Miami Beach that pool chairs cannot be reserved and this is done to ensure that every guest has an opportunity to get pool chairs on a first come first serve basis. However we do offer cabana beds to be reserved with a minimum spend of $500 plus.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I am sorry that Shore Club was not the right hotel for you.

Best,

DJ
'Genie'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,457 reviews
SLS South Beach
#33 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Club South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Address: 1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Club South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by famed British architect David Chipperfield, with landscaping inspired by the rich Matisse-like palette of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, Shore Club shimmers with intrigue and sensuality. Anchored by the original polished terrazzo floor, the elegant furnishings are an eclectic mix evocative of global marketplaces—including relaxed sofas, hand-woven tribal rugs and large patterned throw pillows from Kenya that invite mixing and mingling. The vibe is lively, the atmosphere intimate, the feeling electric. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Club South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Club Hotel Miami Beach
Shore Hotel Miami Beach
The Shore Hotel
Shore Club Miami
Shore Club In Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing