We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shore Club South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #43 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've stayed on the 2nd floor and the room was terribly small. No space to put our bags and there was a balcony in front of some building ventilation system (so...looking at at a ventilation tube all the time with it noise).
Not being enough I ordered food and got it spoiled.
The valet usually takes 20 min to bring your car and there is not enough spaces in the lobby to sit and wait. Its very expensive too (US$ 42/day ticket).
Breakfast was expensive and with very few options.
There is no food between 12pm-4pm. Only drinks.
The only good thing is Nobu, right down the lobby.
Wouldn't come back.

Room Tip: Don't choose the 2nd floor. When they say small it means very bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear "Jack G,"

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your experience here at Shore Club. We would love for you to come back and give us a second chance and I will personally oversee your stay and make sure we win you back over. Terrazza does serve lunch until 4pm and also our pool area has a full day menu. Our room service is 24 hours as well. Hope to see you again soon and my deepest apologies about your not so perfect stay.

Sincerely,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    665
    434
    186
    123
    126
See reviews for
130
549
79
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The attention to detail at the Shore Club is impeccable. From the moment we checked in, Nataly at the front desk was more than helpful and accommodated us for an earlier check in than we had expected. The room was a standard sized room, but the bathroom was wonderful. Very modern appearance with a very South Beach vibe (understandably). None of your chincy hotel toiletries, either. Shore Club is elite to the max. Natalie at the concierge (and another guy, whose name unfortunately slips my mind) were so helpful and secured us a spot at an excellent restaurant which we wouldn't have been able to get into otherwise. The pool was fabulous and the beach service was amazing -- my only complaint with my entire stay were the female waitresses on the beach. They were very reluctant to help us and took orders and we never received our drinks. It took us about 20 minutes to even get one of them to come over. Ricky and the other beach staff were super helpful and friendly.

Overall it was such an amazing experience and I cannot recommend it enough! I look forward to visiting again in October over Columbus Day weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dearest "KDAL325,"

Thanks for the kudos to our superstars, Nataly and Natalie!! They both totally rock at Shore Club. We apologize about delay in food/drink orders by the beach... But we are so looking forward to seeing you in October! Hurry up and get here.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A mate of mine and I spent a few days here last week. From the moment you walk into the hotel you really do feel like you're walking into a private club. Nikki on the front desk is wonderful and nothing was too much for her to help us with. To be honest I don't think I walked by one staff member the entire time without getting a hello or is there anything I can help you with. Just outstanding.

I put the car away when I arrived and only got it back to leave. Everything I wanted was walking distance! Oh and having a Nobu downstairs isn't bad!! No doubt I will be back and quite frankly wonder why anyone would stay anywhere else?!

Room Tip: Obviously if you can get an ocean view as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dearest "Aussie777,"

Exactly what you just said... Why would anyone stay anywhere else but Shore Club?! Love it!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A little up and down, hoping to finish strong. Checked into hotel, lobby is lovely - a classic, beautiful boutiquish South Beach vibe. Like others have mentioned, you won't forget the spa smell everywhere, a very fun touch. We were led to our room which was a standard, but was too small for all of our luggage and hang up clothes for a 5 day trip for 2, with a view of the street and parking lot. The bellman actually called the front desk for us asking for something bigger on our behalf! We were shown a large double with a huge bath / shower and a balcony with full ocean view. It was amazing and the balcony was the icing. We were not comped, we had to pay an extra $100 a night.

We have stayed many places in South Beach and almost all the rooms are very small - it is an Art deco 20's to 50's thing. As such, newer remodeled rooms or ones with a balcony are exponentially more spacious. The smaller room we started with was literally claustrophobic. Just be prepared for that.

Ate at Nobu the first night - which was very good but lacked a dash - waitress was ok as was the service. Food was excellent as was the vibe.

Our next snafu was no house cleaning showed up. Apparently they forgo to change our rooms after the upgrade. Oops! They quickly sent someone up to clean while I typed day 2 review on balcony as sun sets.


You can not beat location and they have a killer lounge by the pool. More to follow for days 3 - 5.

Room Tip: A balcony and Ocean view turned this trip around immensely. Room nearly doubled in size If not more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dearest "srqJP,"

Thank you so much for posting a review during your stay and giving us the opportunity to correct these issues you mentioned. There is a price difference between the different room categories especially to the much larger rooms. We appreciate the great feedback and our location and killer lounge!

Sincerely,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I'll always remember this hotel for various reasons.
*I got engaged here on a wonderful beach.
*This hotel smells amazing.
Scentsational scents in the lobby, Malin Goetz hair and body products in the bathrooms.
*Great staff
They knew the proposal was coming, but they acted so cool! We also got a room upgrade. Vicky on the beach was great, he was a partner in crime with my fiance for the proposal.
*Good food
We had breakfast at the hotel very morning it was awesome, though pricey obviously. This is Miami.
*Great scene
We didn't need to go anywhere for pool parties, or clubbing. It was all happening at our door step.
*Great Drinks
Yummm
*Great location
The hotel is close to everything. We had a few recommendations for restaurants and we could walk to almost all of them. Not a far cab ride from the north end either.


Random note: I am from Turkey, it was interesting to notice they have T-Box products.(A company that went bankrupt in Turkey.) They must have bought them with a huge discount.

Miami is very expensive. I also don't like 20% tip included in every single bill. Oh, and the hotel tried to charge me for stupid flip flops I happened to unwrap. They were full of advertisement and 5 sizes too big for me. They were 30$ or so!!! I complained and they took it off from our bill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dearest "nbk13,"

Congratulations on your engagement!! What a wonderful and happy time! Thank you for the compliments about the staff, smell, and scene! The flip flops are a charge and I'm sorry about the confusion. Hope you come back for your future anniversaries! We at Shore Club wish you and your fiancé the best!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent four nights at the Shore Club a few weeks ago. We've both been to South Beach several times and have stayed at a number of different hotels there.

The Shore Club's location on Collins is great - close enough to Lincoln Road, but away from the craziness of Ocean Drive. The staff was wonderful across the board, helping us with a car rental and restaurant reservations (on Valentine's Day - no easy feat). At check-in, we were offered an upgrade (a small suite with two bathrooms), and then a different room when we asked for a balcony. We ended up eating most of our meals at the hotel - lunches by the pool and dinners at Terrazza. The food was excellent, and the wait staff was accommodating of special requests.

Our one complaint was the decor in the rooms. The furniture is very simple and minimal - which is fine if done with high-quality materials, but this looked cheap and somewhat Ikea-ish. And it seems ready for an update - our desk chair was pretty beat-up, and the armchair appeared to be upholstered with a white bed sheet. Props for the large bathroom, though, and the wonderful-smelling Malin and Goetz toiletries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dearest MagsBk,"

Thank you for your honest review! While I am sorry you didn't enjoy the minimalistic style in our rooms, I am so thrilled you loved the large bathroom and our Malin + Goetz amenities. I'm obsessed with the rum bar soap! Hope you enjoyed your Valentine's dinner with your boyfriend booked by our amazing concierge team. Come back again soon!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My partner and I stay at The Shore Club everytime when visiting Miami Beach. The staff at all levels of this hotel are friendly and helpful. It's always clean and has a great relaxed feeling from the lobby to pool side.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dearest "abthomas,"

We are so very flattered about you calling us the "best hotel on the beach." Thank you for the kind compliment! We are looking forward to seeing you and your partner on your next visit with us.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Club South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Address: 1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Club South Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by famed British architect David Chipperfield, with landscaping inspired by the rich Matisse-like palette of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, Shore Club shimmers with intrigue and sensuality. Anchored by the original polished terrazzo floor, the elegant furnishings are an eclectic mix evocative of global marketplaces—including relaxed sofas, hand-woven tribal rugs and large patterned throw pillows from Kenya that invite mixing and mingling. The vibe is lively, the atmosphere intimate, the feeling electric. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shore Club South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Club Hotel Miami Beach
Shore Hotel Miami Beach
The Shore Hotel
Shore Club Miami
Shore Club In Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Club South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.