We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Club South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #39 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Doesn't get any better !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great food along with wonderful service. Can't beat the view and walk on the beach.The
entire staff from check in to check out couldn't have worked any harder to make the stay more pleasant...

Must Try !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side with great view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dearest "Richard G,"

You are a doll! Thank you.... Glad your stay was pleasant! Come back asap

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    472
    192
    126
    128
See reviews for
138
591
87
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel to spend NYE in Miami.
The Shore Club was always one of my favorites in South Beach. Even tough I had dinner and drinks there several times, this was my first time actually staying there. I decided on the hotel because of the convenience. Location its great and gives you direct access to the beach and a short walk to lincoln road and restaurants. We like the pool, skybar and Nobu. The hotel is gorgeous and feels very spacious comparing with others in the area. There are a lot of different hangout areas with plenty of sitting.
We got a room at the tower with a balcony. The room was spacious and my girl loved the rain shower. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dearest "ChrisLABR,"

We are overjoyed that this was your first time staying here after hanging out here many times before! Glad that we were able to give you and your girlfriend the best hotel experience. The location is definitely hard to beat! Hope you both have a happy new year.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Every visit is a great visit. Staff is always friendly, rooms are always clean and comfortable. Never wait to check in or out. Room service is on point, menu is updated frequently food is amazing and delivery is always timely. Overall the Shore Club is a comfy oasis where you can be tucked away for a quiet getaway or business trip or a wild fun Miami vacation! It appeals to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dearest "Vnine,"

WOW.... thank you is all I have to say! Now when should we be expecting your next visit?? Better be soon.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent some days over New Year at the Shore Club and must say it will always be remembered for the lively and welcoming atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble, we ate delicious food in the restaurant and enjoyed "world class" service throughout our stay. The outdoor area is very chic...it oozes charm and personality. Can't wait to return and won't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dearest "Sarah W.,"

Happy New Year! I am thrilled you had such a wonderful stay and indulged in our "world class" service! Can't wait to see you again.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Shore Club is a very nice hotel, well located to everything in South Beach. We were staying overnight on our way to St. John. We were greeted by a cheerful front desk and given a decent room. It was too cold to enjoy the pool and beach but, we were able to easily walk to lunch and dinner. We did have an issue - there was no heat in our room (it was exceptionally cold in Miami). Maintenance came up and it was fixed in 15 minutes. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dearest "Jon A,"

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We were so happy to have you here but only wished you could have stayed longer than one night! We do sincerely apologize for the heat not working properly but glad it was fixed fast. Come see us again!

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights at the Shore Club after a couple of days in the Florida Keys. We were checked into a beautiful, modern ocean front King room but quickly discovered in an overpowering smell of cleaning agent in the room. Since my wife is pregnant, we felt that she (nor I) should be inhaling these fumes and would probably need to change rooms. I went down to the front desk and was immediately helped by Sophia who was amazing. She sprung into action and told us that she would have several ozone machines sent up to the room while we were out so that the odor and fumes would be filtered out. Lo and behold when we returned to the room about 2 hours later, the offending smell was gone and we were able to enjoy the room and experience to its fullest. The rest of our stay was equally fantastic and the service we received from everyone - from the front desk help to the housekeeping staff to the guys on the beach and at the pool - was outstanding. I would also like to single out Nathalie, the concierge, who was extremely professional and knowledgeable about the local sights and restaurants, and Emily Triffin, the Executive Assistant at the Shore Club, who made our visit a memorable one with her assistance.
The hotel is perfectly situated on the beach near Ocean Drive - close enough to the craziness but not so much so that you can hear the constant thump, thump of the cars and music - and also just a few blocks away from Lincoln Mall Road with great restaurants and shopping.
In short, I highly recommend a visit to the Shore Club with its modern conveniences and superior service.

Room Tip: Ocean front overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dearest "Roq G,"

Congratulations on your future baby! We are so glad you and your wife were able to have such a wonderful time with after the Florida Keys. We apologize for the strong smell but luckily our amazing manager, Sophia was able to get everything perfect for when you returned back to the room. Both Nathalie and Emily were so excited to read your lovely comments. Please return back soon with the baby!

Much love from Shore Club,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I want to like this hotel. However, as much as I try, I have to tell you that the service is terrible, the hotel is unclean, and it attracts guests that other hotels do not (wink).

First review - summer 2012. We arrived on Urban Beach Weekend and the hotel was a mess. We were put in a terrible room and moved three times. The rooms were over-perfumed and dirty. The hotel finally took notice when we complained of all the pot-smoking that we evidenced in our hallway, which might be connected to the yelling in the hallways at night. When we asked if pot-smoking is legal in Florida, security got involved as they do not want guests to know what happens in their hotel rooms. As a result, they offered us two nights free to "come back and enjoy the hotel on a more typical time". Apparently, this is not their 'usual' level of service.

Review 2 - VIP Visit (ha). We were promised VIP treatment if we came back. We are seasoned travellers and this hotel, owned by Morgans Hotel Group, is often better priced than others on the SoBe strip so we were tempted to enjoy the two free nights over NYE. Unfortunately, we were burned by this decision and will not return after this stay. Why?

1. The service is unreliable. Room service is not good quality -- food was cold, linens smelt stale, and trays were not picked up. Beach service is not good quality. The sun beds are dirty. The rooms are dirty (not vacuumed, foundation on the sheets, smell bad). The beach staff try and hustle you for $20 for an umbrella and $150 if you want to be anywhere near the water.

2. The "cool" factor can be achieved without *staying* at the hotel. If you want to go to Nobu (which is surprisingly in this hotel), just make a reservation. We stayed at the hotel and were turned away from Nobu. Then, when we complained, we were seated in an adjacent area as if we were overflow. The pool area can be accessed by anyone who snuggles up to a bar staff. You get the picture.......you do not need to be a guest of the hotel. The music is now quite bad, there is rarely an actual dj, and there is sun on only 20-30 beds a day. The pool is poorly managed, the beds are extremely dirty (not sure what kind of stains they are). And, NYE was terrible. The music was too loud, and they were trying to charge hundreds for the night. Note, if there is a party on in the pool area (as there was for NYE -- which we were not told about when we booked -- your room will be too noisy to sleep until 2am).

3. Shore Club is not managed well. After we complained and told them our experiences (too numerous to mention), they sent us a bottle of champagne apologetically. However, it arrived at 11:35PM AT NIGHT. THEY KEPT KNOCKING AFTER WE HAD GONE TO BED AND IGNORED THE DO NOT DISTURB SIGN!!! And yet, they delivered it. Really, GM, do you not want us to sleep? Not the way to run a hotel.

The sad part is the GM Office promised that we would be VIP Guests. HA HA HA. The hotel today, Jan 2, is at 47% capacity. And this is the kind of service we get? Apparently you get an orchid in your room if you are VIP. This orchid arrived on the 4th day of our stay.

It's a terrible place. Don't stay here. It's dirty and the services is spotty at best.

Room Tip: Ocean Front King is the minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear "Nycinvestmentbank,"

Thank you so much for your honest review. Feedback from our guests, be it good or bad, is so very important to us and serves as a vital tool for us to improve. Regarding your first review in summer 2012, we would once again like to apologize for the challenges you experienced and we are very happy that you accepted our offer of 2 complimentary nights in an oceanfront room to return. We would just like to reinterate that we do not tolerate any use of illegal substances at Shore Club and our security team work diligently to ensure Florida state laws are enforced.

On this return stay, you were indeed selected to receive VIP treatment in addition to the two complimentary nights. We also ensured you were allocated our top oceanfront room, given preferential rates over New Year's Eve and were given in-room amenities throughout your stay including an amenity upon arrival and an amenity on New Year's Eve.

We are sorry you did not find our room service to be satisfactory and we have spoken to the relevant departments to guarantee this will not happen again. Regarding the beach staff, we do indeed charge $15 for umbrellas and $150 for the beach cabana. These are competitive prices with all other hotels on South Beach.

Our pool area is consistently ranked among the most popular in Miami Beach and this year our New Year's party was a complete success. The music was indeed loud that night however this is the norm for New Year's Eve and is expected. This information about the New Year's Eve party was communicated to all our guests through our website and displayed in our lobby.

We receive so many lovely comments about Shore Club and its team here. It is always so disappointing to hear when we have let someone down. This is evident by the many positive reviews posted on this website. Your review is an exception rather than the rule. After our General Manager did speak to you about your experience, you were offered further compensation which you gladly accepted. As part of the compensation, our General Manager kindly sent you a bottle of champagne. However, we apologize this was delivered so late in the evening. This was unacceptable.

Based on your past experiences and reviews of our hotel, we feel that Shore Club may not be the right hotel for you.

Kind Regards,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Club South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Address: 1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Club South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by famed British architect David Chipperfield, with landscaping inspired by the rich Matisse-like palette of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, Shore Club shimmers with intrigue and sensuality. Anchored by the original polished terrazzo floor, the elegant furnishings are an eclectic mix evocative of global marketplaces—including relaxed sofas, hand-woven tribal rugs and large patterned throw pillows from Kenya that invite mixing and mingling. The vibe is lively, the atmosphere intimate, the feeling electric. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Club South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Club Hotel Miami Beach
Shore Hotel Miami Beach
The Shore Hotel
Shore Club Miami
Shore Club In Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Club South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.