I want to like this hotel. However, as much as I try, I have to tell you that the service is terrible, the hotel is unclean, and it attracts guests that other hotels do not (wink).
First review - summer 2012. We arrived on Urban Beach Weekend and the hotel was a mess. We were put in a terrible room and moved three times. The rooms were over-perfumed and dirty. The hotel finally took notice when we complained of all the pot-smoking that we evidenced in our hallway, which might be connected to the yelling in the hallways at night. When we asked if pot-smoking is legal in Florida, security got involved as they do not want guests to know what happens in their hotel rooms. As a result, they offered us two nights free to "come back and enjoy the hotel on a more typical time". Apparently, this is not their 'usual' level of service.
Review 2 - VIP Visit (ha). We were promised VIP treatment if we came back. We are seasoned travellers and this hotel, owned by Morgans Hotel Group, is often better priced than others on the SoBe strip so we were tempted to enjoy the two free nights over NYE. Unfortunately, we were burned by this decision and will not return after this stay. Why?
1. The service is unreliable. Room service is not good quality -- food was cold, linens smelt stale, and trays were not picked up. Beach service is not good quality. The sun beds are dirty. The rooms are dirty (not vacuumed, foundation on the sheets, smell bad). The beach staff try and hustle you for $20 for an umbrella and $150 if you want to be anywhere near the water.
2. The "cool" factor can be achieved without *staying* at the hotel. If you want to go to Nobu (which is surprisingly in this hotel), just make a reservation. We stayed at the hotel and were turned away from Nobu. Then, when we complained, we were seated in an adjacent area as if we were overflow. The pool area can be accessed by anyone who snuggles up to a bar staff. You get the picture.......you do not need to be a guest of the hotel. The music is now quite bad, there is rarely an actual dj, and there is sun on only 20-30 beds a day. The pool is poorly managed, the beds are extremely dirty (not sure what kind of stains they are). And, NYE was terrible. The music was too loud, and they were trying to charge hundreds for the night. Note, if there is a party on in the pool area (as there was for NYE -- which we were not told about when we booked -- your room will be too noisy to sleep until 2am).
3. Shore Club is not managed well. After we complained and told them our experiences (too numerous to mention), they sent us a bottle of champagne apologetically. However, it arrived at 11:35PM AT NIGHT. THEY KEPT KNOCKING AFTER WE HAD GONE TO BED AND IGNORED THE DO NOT DISTURB SIGN!!! And yet, they delivered it. Really, GM, do you not want us to sleep? Not the way to run a hotel.
The sad part is the GM Office promised that we would be VIP Guests. HA HA HA. The hotel today, Jan 2, is at 47% capacity. And this is the kind of service we get? Apparently you get an orchid in your room if you are VIP. This orchid arrived on the 4th day of our stay.
It's a terrible place. Don't stay here. It's dirty and the services is spotty at best.
Ocean Front King is the minimum.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
January 5, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you so much for your honest review. Feedback from our guests, be it good or bad, is so very important to us and serves as a vital tool for us to improve. Regarding your first review in summer 2012, we would once again like to apologize for the challenges you experienced and we are very happy that you accepted our offer of 2 complimentary nights in an oceanfront room to return. We would just like to reinterate that we do not tolerate any use of illegal substances at Shore Club and our security team work diligently to ensure Florida state laws are enforced.
On this return stay, you were indeed selected to receive VIP treatment in addition to the two complimentary nights. We also ensured you were allocated our top oceanfront room, given preferential rates over New Year's Eve and were given in-room amenities throughout your stay including an amenity upon arrival and an amenity on New Year's Eve.
We are sorry you did not find our room service to be satisfactory and we have spoken to the relevant departments to guarantee this will not happen again. Regarding the beach staff, we do indeed charge $15 for umbrellas and $150 for the beach cabana. These are competitive prices with all other hotels on South Beach.
Our pool area is consistently ranked among the most popular in Miami Beach and this year our New Year's party was a complete success. The music was indeed loud that night however this is the norm for New Year's Eve and is expected. This information about the New Year's Eve party was communicated to all our guests through our website and displayed in our lobby.
We receive so many lovely comments about Shore Club and its team here. It is always so disappointing to hear when we have let someone down. This is evident by the many positive reviews posted on this website. Your review is an exception rather than the rule. After our General Manager did speak to you about your experience, you were offered further compensation which you gladly accepted. As part of the compensation, our General Manager kindly sent you a bottle of champagne. However, we apologize this was delivered so late in the evening. This was unacceptable.
Based on your past experiences and reviews of our hotel, we feel that Shore Club may not be the right hotel for you.
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.