We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shore Club South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #39 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My experience here was a bit hit or miss. The food is comparable to airport food (terrible and overpriced), the TV was crap, and the hotel charges for EVERYTHING. (You want a beach umbrella over your beach chair? $15 bucks). However, the view was great, the service was pretty good and the overall vibe of the hotel was decent. This is probably a good place if you're looking for a scene but if you want a good quality hotel experience this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dearest "Annawolfny,"

We sincerely apologize that you did not have a wonderful guest experience as so many of our other guests do. We are so upset that we let you down. Shore Club has delicious food that people from all over the world come to enjoy and would never considerate it as "airport food." There is a charge for beach umbrellas but the chairs and towels are complimentary. We simply do not overcharge our guests but the city of Miami does require taxes on our room rate which is 13%. Miami is an expensive city but Shore Club does not purposely put extra charges other than required to by law! Thank you for your honest feedback.

Kind Regards,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    450
    191
    123
    126
See reviews for
133
570
85
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We are big fans of Morgan's hotels. Our favorite is the Mondrian in LA, but the Shore Club is probably the "Miami" version of it. Special thank to Alexandra, the guest experience manager.

We have tried the Mondrian in Miami (nice a bit far from the beaches and not so funky) and Delano (too expensive and too old for us, although beautiful I must admit).

Room Tip: See view and high level, plus balcony if you are a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dearest "Thierry H,"

Well we are such a fan of you as well!! Thanks for the compliments... you are making us blush ;)

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A recent trip to the Shore Club gave me one of the best suprises of a lifetime of travels. After booking a Jr. Suite and also a standard room for our group, we arrived to find our rooms were not ready. We hit the beach and recieved a call from Jennifer at the front desk telling us our rooms would be ready shortly but that she had another option for us as the hotel was oversold. If we were willing to combine our reservations we would be upgraded to a 2 room suite. We agreed, only to find out the Suite was the 6,000 sq ft rooftop Penthouse with unbeatable views! They didn't make a big deal out of it, as if we were so "lucky" to be staying there as so many places would do, but rather treated us like the guests we were and actually thanked US for helping them out. It was genuine service, which in my experience in South Beach is a rarity. From door to door, the Shore Club hit a home run for us and we felt like valued guests without all the fuss like some of the other places around town. Everyone was pleasant, nice, and very helpful and we'll be back, even if we aren't sleeping like kings next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dearest "CL_Tuck,"

We thoroughly enjoyed having your fun group staying in our Penthouse! It was great how it worked out and our Front Desk Manager, Jennifer was thrilled to give you that option. Thank you for staying with us and we will always treat you like kings no matter if you are saying in a standard room or the Penthouse :) Sending you much love from our Shore Club family.

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First time at the Shore Club and was extremely please with everything. The staff was wonderful. Everyone from the front desk to Juan at Terazza was friendly and accommodating. The bed was comfortable and I loved the shower in the bathroom! Everything is here to have a fun South Beach experience (great location, nice hotel restaurant, welcoming staff). The pool area at night is a great place to have cocktails and just lounge around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dearest "Alyson69,"

Thanks for such a lovely comment :) We are so happy that you had a fun South Beach experience and enjoyed all the great things Shore Club has to offer. Juan appreciates your kind words about him. Now when are you coming back for a second trip??

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Before we moved away from the beach this past August, my girlfriend and I stayed here and expected the usual minimal service and amenities found at South Beach Hotels, but we were very pleasantly surprised. From the first welcome at the front door, to the front desk agents and all along to my departure, every single person on staff provided a much better level of service that is normal for South Beach hotels. The team was always friendly, helpful, and right on time. The hotel is ON the beach and not separated by a wooden boardwalk, and with very easy access to Lincoln Road and all the nightlife. I especially enjoyed the pool and their Sunday Brunch, not to forgetting the champagne. Nobu is the best Steak/Japanese restaurant on Collins and was out of this world and we had a wonderful lunch on the patio one afternoon.
Our room (bungalow) was large and poolside, with two floors and a lovely patio. The hotel was clean, easy to get around and a great location on Collins Avenue. Everyone seems happy to work there and I sure was happy with my stay in such a beautiful and friendly hotel! Check out the packages for some great deals.
Having worked at another hotel on the beach, this one surely knows service, guest satisfaction and appreciates the business. This was a very nice hospitality experience. I promise those that are reading this, you won't regret this one...gives them a try and pretty sure you will enjoy it.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, check out the poolside bungalow. All the rooms are nice, so don't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dearest "Mares_santa_fean,"

Cheers to you my friend! This means so much to everybody at Shore Club. Your comments truly touched us. The fact that you have worked in the hospitality business before and were blown away by our service and staff is incredible. We thank you so much for staying here and indulging in such a nice hospitality experience. Please come back and see us soon!!

Kind Regards,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Such a great hotel! All the staff was absolutely amazing, from the moment we arrived! We have traveled all over the world, but we have never experienced such great service! The hotel was perfect and very accommodating! We were wanting to stay in a modern hotel with a great location and that is exactly what we got. Thanks again to DJ for everything! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dearest "Srgangwisch,"

Oh how I miss you already!! Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review! It was a treat having you here at Shore Club and can't wait to see you again :)

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I came here with a group of friends to celebrate a good friend's 30th birthday with brunch at Terrazza. Even though I live in Miami, I had never been before and it was a great first experience. Our server Nicole was the best - so friendly and attentive, really made a difference in the experience. The mimosas, bellinis and Bloody Marys were flowing and the food was great. Thanks Nicole for making it a fun, relaxing afternoon and taking such good care of us!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy Jean H, Shore Club Genie at Shore Club South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dearest "Sasha44Miami,"

Goodness gracious, I am so happy you and your friends had a lovely birthday brunch at Terrazza! Nicole is a true gem at the restaurant and sincerely appreciated your kind words. I agree with you, our unlimited flow of mimosas, belinis, and bloody mary's are super delicious... Wish that I was sipping on one of those from Terrazza right now :) Since you live in Miami, come visit us more! Thank you. xo

Genie Wishes,
Dorothy Jean "DJ"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Club South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Club South Beach Hotel

Address: 1901 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Club South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by famed British architect David Chipperfield, with landscaping inspired by the rich Matisse-like palette of the Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech, Shore Club shimmers with intrigue and sensuality. Anchored by the original polished terrazzo floor, the elegant furnishings are an eclectic mix evocative of global marketplaces—including relaxed sofas, hand-woven tribal rugs and large patterned throw pillows from Kenya that invite mixing and mingling. The vibe is lively, the atmosphere intimate, the feeling electric. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shore Club South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Club Hotel Miami Beach
Shore Hotel Miami Beach
The Shore Hotel
Shore Club Miami
Shore Club In Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Club South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;