We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for miami beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Collins Hotel

Save Saved
You added Collins Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Collins Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Seneca, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Good value for miami beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was in a good location with gated parking (for a fee). The rooms were simple and clean and the staff were friendly. I couldn't have asked for more from a hotel that was under $100 in an expensive city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    154
    58
    22
    20
See reviews for
91
112
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff at the Collins Hotel is surly, rude, incompetent, and successfully embody everything that good customer service should be without. The manager, "Maria", an arrogant, worthless woman left my girlfriend crying on the phone. I would rather pay three times as much for a hole-in-the-wall than deal with the staff of the Collins Hotel. If you're looking for a place to stay in Miami, keep looking.
We flew in to Orlando for the holiday weekend and our flight was delayed due to weather, so it was impossible for us to make our reservation at the Collins Hotel. We called as soon as we could, saying that we would be unable to arrive for our reservation due to circumstances outside of our control, in the hopes that they would be understanding and give us some kind of refund. Let me backtrack and say that my girlfriend is a former hotel worker and I work in the customer service industry, and this is the type of situation where, ideally, having great customer service trumps your 24 hour cancellation policy.
The first woman my girlfriend spoke to was impolite and clueless, characteristics which we would have been wise to become accustomed to, and told us that she had no idea weather she could refund my credit card. She promptly stated that she would get "in touch with us" and made moves to end the phone call. This was before we had given her any useful contact information. Yeah, good luck with that. Once we called her bluff on not having any contact information for us, she allowed us to give her the necessities and informed us that we would have to wait three days for her manager to respond.
One would think that a person in a managerial position would be an exemplary staff member who puts customer service and satisfaction above all. Not the case here! To make a long story short, my girlfriend was in tears by the end of the phone call. I'll spare you the nitty-gritty details, but "Maria", the so-called manager, ended the call by essentially saying she couldn't care less how many negative reviews my girlfriend and I wrote. So, here I am, urging you to take your business elsewhere. We didn't even get a partial refund. Happy 4th of July!

Room Tip: Walk up to the front desk, about face, and find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Simple but clean rooms with the basic things that you can need. Less than 5 minutes to the beach. Safe area and many restaurants just at walking distance. Good parking. I will reserve again every time I be in Miami. Excelent price and better location!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel from June 11-15. I was pleasantly surprised on the location and hotel. It was clean and the maid did a great job of keeping the room clean, even providing us with extra towels everyday. The pool was great, loved the fact the front desk gives beach towels to use daily. We had a room on the bottom floor, never heard any noise and the room was air conditioned just perfectly. The parking lot had plenty of spots and I liked that it was gated. It was 10$ a day. the staff was always so friendly and available. The shower had a slope for the water to drain and often you stood in a pool of water till it drained. The beach was 5 min away: there were places to eat close by, New York bagel, double double, Pizza Hut, IHOP. Walgreens was just up the corner. Everything was walking distance. This hotel was great for our stay in Miami. Would stay here again! Great price and location!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Analia S, General Manager at Collins Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Jessipur thank you so much for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we ask that you "Like" us on Facebook at Collins Hotel Miami. We look forward to seeing you soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed over for a night on our way back from Orlando. Our luggage was heavy and they relocated us to a ground level floor. That helped a lot! The manager and front desk attendant were very nice and helpful. The room was good, for a long stay it would be perfect for its size and location in the hotel premises.
Walgreens and RadioShack close by, laundro-mat also close by. walking distance. The beach is 2min walk away. Good parking space. overall good reasonably priced hotel.

Room Tip: Choose ground level rooms in the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Analia S, General Manager at Collins Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Collins Hotel. We do our best to meet the needs of our guests, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We invite you to "Like" us on Facebook at Collins Hotel Miami. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Best priced for location we could find. It's not "hip" or fancy, but it was very clean and well maintained. Front desk was helpful and parking @ $10 per day is cheap by Miami beach standards, plus it's gated and has well lit exterior. Easy freeway access & Indian Dr & Collins Ave are in front and back for quick SoBe access. Lots of restaurant choices near-by and the beach is across the street. Pool was not busy when we visited. Might ask for an upstairs room next time as noise thru floor was bad one night, but we didn't t let front desk know. They said the would have handled. Skip the lobby coffee and grab it next door at the bagel shop or nearby French bakery. Definitely will stay again and save our money for dinners and clubs. There 5 nights on business and break.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Checked in for 2 nights without a reservation. The hotel has a gated car park and buses into (and back from) the Art Deco area and downtown are very close by.
Although breakfast is not provided there is a self serve coffee machine and a very good French bakery no more than 5 minutes North.
The bed was OK if a little creaky. The room was clean and the showers adequate but the towels were a bit thin but as commented upon earlier, ' you get what you pay for'.
If you are looking for a hotel that is relatively close to So be at a reasonable price then you could do no worse than to stay at Collins.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Hotel

Address: 6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Collins Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Collins Hotel was officially opened to the public in August of 2011 after undergoing a 12 month renovation. Collins Hotel offers visitors to Miami Beach a modern hotel room with contemporary decoration, where everything is brand new. Enjoy plush beds, flat screen plasma TVs and high speed wireless internet, all at an affordable price. Located on Collins Avenue between 66th and 67th streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Otel so you can book your Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.