We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t expect much (that´s the key)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Collins Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Collins Hotel to your Saves list
Collins Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lima Region, Peru
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don´t expect much (that´s the key)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We decided to arrive in Miami at one of the bussiest weekends in the year: "Memorial Weekend". When we started looking for hotels, most of them were double the price in the area only for those days. However we found this very well located hotel in Collins Av. Just crossing the street you get to a private beach (either you can pay the fee or just talk to somebody).
Anyways, the bedroom is pretty basic: a bed, a safe box, a very clean and tiny bathroom. I guess for a couple of nights it´s ok as it isn´t a relaxing hotel, it´s just a hotel were you can crush after going to party and then, waking up early in the morning (very noisy guests around the pool at any hour!!!). Don´t expect breakfast because the rate doesn´t include it...you sitll have several places nearby to have a decent meal.
It has a parking lot but it costs around 10 bucks a night.(¿?)
The service is not very polite, but you are in Miami, so you don´t expect to be treated like a king in 2-3 stars hotel.
For my husband and I it was OK. Make sure you make your check out at 11am sharp, otherwise they´ll be knocking on your door, calling you over the phone, or even worst! charging an extra day.
Mostly, it´s expensive for what you pay.
Just take every precaution.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    206
    85
    23
    22
See reviews for
124
137
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very poor hotel. Room are small but pretty clean. Unfortunately that.s the only pro. Staff is NOT friendly and NOT helpful: don't even know a pool was there..could not see it! Cleaning ladies are starting "scream and shout" from 8 in the morning, slamming all the doors without any respect for all clients!! ( in the morning, not joking. First morning when woke up we even found a worker painting the wall of our balcony (1st floor) and actually almost in the room. He did not stop working when I went out looking at him pretty shocked. Hotel is far from the center: 20 mins at least from South beach and 1 hour from the downtown. It is not on the beach, but you get on the beach just crossing the street. There are few restaurants nearby.Miami is a wonderful city: I am sure you can find something better. I will never be back in this hotel, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is very expensive for what you get.
The hotel is far from the center.
The room was nice but it smelled mold everywhere.
The parking is not expensive and its safe.
There is a Pizza Hut restaurant nearby... Staff isn´t the best.
For the money you spend there its a little bit expensive.
The room doors make a lot of noise and vibrate all around.
The pool is cool...
Overall not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

First of all, stayed for one night for a wedding nearby. Good location, very cheap at $100 a night. The room was clean and the beds and décor vey nice. Decent pool downstairs and someone at the desk at all hours (we got in at 4 am). Great free parking in a gated area (which is unheard of in Miami Beach). Nice stay. Only complaint is blinds that let in a lot of light, and a large dead cockroach on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed there for 9 nights with a friend and we could see that it was totally worth it to choose this hotel. The rooms are spacious and the beds are really comfortable. The bathroom isn't very big, but it still had everything we needed. The swimming pool is quite small, but it was definetelly enough, as we preferred to lay on the beach, which is 2 minutes away from Collins Hotel. What I personally missed was a breakfast room, as they don't serve food at any time. So we had to bring our own breakfast everyday or just take it outside. The members of the staff have been very kind and helpful, specially Lissy, Julian and Michel. During our stay, we went to the Bahamas for 3 nights and they stored some of our luggage there, which we really appreciate. From the front desk, people can book some tours, we actually did a couple of them. The location is not the best, but there are buses that took us everywhere we needed (bus S get to South beach and downtown). We would totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at a hotel facing the pool, which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I travelled with my best friend from Barcelona to Miami (it was our first trip together) and it was awesome. The rooms are bigger more than we expected and it was very clean everyday.
We went to Downtown and South Beach (near the hotel there is S bus which takes you to all these places). We toke some tours from the hotel such as Everglades and DisneyWorld from Orlando.
The staff was really helpful with us answering all our questions (how to get to everywhere, recommendations of restaurants and where to go out at night).
We really appreciate your attention to us from all of you. If we come back to Miami (probably we will do next year) we will stay with us again!

Room Tip: Estuvimos en dos habitaciones la 220 y la 230. Esta última era un poco más grande y con una ventana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Easy to find on Collins, large and well-marked hotel frontage with large entry gates to FREE and safe parking. Hotel is modern, probably recently refurbished. We had a disabled facilities room, which we did not require but seems very practical if you do. Room was white, good king size bed, refrigerator etc. Only one desk chair so we could not both sit outside in the evening. Pool looked good although we didn't use it. Almost directly across the road is a track through to the beach, where we walked in the early morning. Receptionist spoke poor English but was helpful with free internet, free hot water for tea in room, also free ice machine.

Not so good:
- lights stayed on outside all night and blinds did not make the room dark
- noisy air con unit (aren't they all?)
- tiled floors so upstairs were a little noisy moving furniture, but luckily not late at night

This hotel is not near South beach but we drove around there and found meter parking easy.

We also walked the board walk both ways from 26th to 43rd (or somewhere near) which was really enjoyable.

The Brazilian Cafe next door to the hotel looked good and the portions were large, but a beer was 6 dollars with service and tax - no way!

Overall a good way to stay in Miami Beach area in a clean, reliable and modern hotel. Thanks

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool (most are) but also get 2 chairs to sit out on - we had just one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Hotel

Address: 6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Collins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Collins Hotel was officially opened to the public in August of 2011 after undergoing a 12 month renovation. Collins Hotel offers visitors to Miami Beach a modern hotel room with contemporary decoration, where everything is brand new. Enjoy plush beds, flat screen plasma TVs and high speed wireless internet, all at an affordable price. Located on Collins Avenue between 66th and 67th streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.