We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel that's in the midst of being upgraded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Collins Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Collins Hotel to your Saves list
Collins Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel that's in the midst of being upgraded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Despite the several bad reviews written about this hotel, this hotel was quite comfortable. On the exterior, the hotel could use some polishing. Your initial viewing of the outside of the hotel may lead you to think the hotel is a dump, but once you enter the lobby area and see the rooms, you'll see that the hotel is quite nice. Me and my fiance found the hotel to be very clean and it was very close to restaurants, bars, the beach, Walgreens, etc.. There is wi-fi but you have to ask for the password from the front desk. The maid cleaned our room everyday and supplied fresh towels. There is a small pool, but we didn't swim in it. The front desk personnel are very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area if you have any questions. The room we had was a premium king room and it was kind of small but the cleanliness made up for it. The room had a refrigerator that turned out to be very sufficient. The AC was great. The supply of hot water varied - during the evening and early morning, there was hot water but during the afternoon, the water was cold. The only noise we heard was the occasional door slamming from other people rooms, but if you have the AC on, that noise will be drowned out. Finally, the king size bed was absolutely amazing! Felt like one of those pillow-top mattresses.. I had some outstanding sleep. Oh and the rooms does not come with microwaves and irons. There is one iron that floats around from room to room - you'll have to check with the front desk. One downside is that in the room we had, the door didn't have a peep-hole. If someone knocked on our door, there was no way to see who it was knocking! Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again because it was clean, had a knowledgeable staff that spoke more than one language, and it was close to a lot of bars, shops, and restaurants, and the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    176
    67
    22
    21
See reviews for
105
121
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This cute hotel has clean new remodeled room. Recommend taking a bus to South Beach only $2; Cab cost around $20. This hotel is located across the street from the beach and has coffee/bars/grocery store near by. Friendly staff (:

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Horrible hotel. We left the room on time and neatly as possible. upon checkout, they informed us that everything is fine..however, weeks later, I received a charge for dirty towels. Great. towels are used to clean and be cleaned. The rooms were small and the service is unsatisfactory. They staff is very rude. Ive called several times to take care of this manner. The manager is there when she wants, yells, hangs up, and lies. First it was a late fee, now dirty towels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Upon entering the room, they had a view of the back alley. Nice! The flooring looked fine but it is not carpeted any where so whenever anyone moves a chair or goes down the corridor with a case it makes a lot of noise.

The shower wouldn't drain. When the guy came to the room, he barely spoke english. He eventually got out that there was no maintenance on duty and they would be unable to fix. Then the toilet wouldn't flush. We were informed the same thing. We were moved to another room and in that one the sink wouldn't drain very well so there is trouble with their pipes.

My girlfriend wasn't happy that there was only one mirror in the whole room which was in the bathroom. While the rooms are decent size, it takes longer to get ready with no second mirror.

The customer service was poor. One of the night staff was pretty good but other than that it was poor. We weren't asked on check out how our stay was. I wonder why?

In comparison, we stayed in Orlando for half the price. The place had a restraunt, gym, and jacuzzi. This place had none of that and the customer service was far superior. Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We where there for 6 nights, early in the morning there was always multiple noise coming either from a big construction in the front, either from the maids cleaning the corridor...simple the windows aren't noise tight!
The rest was simple but functional. Personal not caring

Room Tip: No way, pr you are an early bird, or let it be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Collins Hotel 8 days while on vacation. 10/16-10/24 Hotel was very clean, modern and the staff was very nice and helpfull. We ask for two extra bath towles and the housekeeping had no problem giving us extra towles.

I Would recomemnd this hotel to anyone who wants a nice and clean hotel.

My final coment is to the staff at the Collins Hotel is "Keep up the good work"

Ralph

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. It's worth it. Also avoid getting the rooms that are in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concepcion, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Collins Hotel is all what you need when you go to Miami, great access to interesting places such malls and beach. The price is perfect and the service was great. All the staff was always very nice. The rooms were very clean, as well as towels, sheets, etc. Also the amenities are from bath and body works, which was nice. And the wifi was a bonus! I hope I will be back son :)

Room Tip: Corner suites are large, and have a huge closet. Also they are quieter N.239 great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Hotel

Address: 6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#85 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Collins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Collins Hotel was officially opened to the public in August of 2011 after undergoing a 12 month renovation. Collins Hotel offers visitors to Miami Beach a modern hotel room with contemporary decoration, where everything is brand new. Enjoy plush beds, flat screen plasma TVs and high speed wireless internet, all at an affordable price. Located on Collins Avenue between 66th and 67th streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.