We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Room, Hard to sleep though....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Collins Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Collins Hotel to your Saves list
Collins Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent Room, Hard to sleep though....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel nice, not a 5 star by any means, it is updated in the first building where they put us for 4 nights, the bed was semi comfortable, we had a nice walk in closet, however the bathromm was very small and the toilet was right beside the sink very hard to get up and down from (room # 106) and there is a big gap under all the bedroom doors to the hallway where you hear all the noise from the hallway and all the floors were tiled even in the hallway so everything is echoed and very loud, the time we fell asleep someone would go in or out of the room and the door would slam so hard and wake us up, this went on each night all 4 nights and every morning starting at 5 am! Did not sleep well at all. The housekeepers did not speak english hardly so it was hard to request extra towels and soap, etc. the front desk staff was pleasant though and the manager was very sweet and helpful. Would not stay here again ,but it is a great location and very close to the beach, just a block away, leave your car, you pay $10 to park there per day anyways.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    206
    87
    23
    22
See reviews for
125
138
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Miami is a crazy little town and so expensive. This hotel was reasonably priced and in a fantastic location, but the hotel itself is very average. We had a room that faced the street, and the walls are so thin you could hear people talking. If your reason for going to Miami is not to sleep, then this is a great place to store your bags & have a shower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburnham MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed here after checking out of a disgusting hotel. I doing a college tour with my daughter. This was clean and in a good location. If you are looking for upscale this is not your place. If you are looking for clean quiet and comfortable at a good price this is the place for you. The night manager was GREAT. Thank you for saving our visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in April 2012, and was disappointed because my room smelled like it was moldy. The humidity in the room was disgusting. The floor was constantly damp - so damp, in fact, that I would slip around when I had my shoes on. I had to sleep with the window open (to combat the musty odor) and with the A/C turned on high to maintain a cool temperature.

Also, the shower never gets hot - even when all the cold water is turned off.

Overall, this was an unpleasant stay. I don't be visiting this hotel, again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

In a city of expensive hotels this was expected to be fairly basic but actually was of quite a high standard. Friendly staff, clean modern rooms with 2 double beds and a balcony. Only problems were rowdy neighbours not properly dealt with by management. Also note that this hotel is a long way north of Miami beach area - $2 bus runs frequently though.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

First off, the hotel is near the far end of collins ave so to get to ocean drive etc you need to either get a cab or the bus.
The hotel itself looks dire from the outside but inside it gets better. Staff are a bit offhand and not hugely helpful. Note the 200 dollar security fee-we will be checking our bank statements!!
Our room was big and clean so we were happy. The pool area is nice but it is next to the parking lot so not very private!
The area around is ok, a few restaurants but only one bar. The beach is about 10 mins walk across the road.
Overall, it is an ok hotel but not worth the money and not for you if customer service is a must.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Collins hotel is a good place to stay if you want to stay in north miami. The rooms are good, with big beds, fridge, flatscreen tv, hairdryer in bathroon. The pool area is nice too and the beach is across the road. It is very quiet in north beach but right outside the hotel, there are a few restaurants. The reception staff are not friendly at all and not informative at all. I wouldn't necessarily stay in miami again, as nothing too good about the place in general.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Hotel

Address: 6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Collins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Collins Hotel was officially opened to the public in August of 2011 after undergoing a 12 month renovation. Collins Hotel offers visitors to Miami Beach a modern hotel room with contemporary decoration, where everything is brand new. Enjoy plush beds, flat screen plasma TVs and high speed wireless internet, all at an affordable price. Located on Collins Avenue between 66th and 67th streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.