We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No service at the front desk!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa de Varadero IV

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
La Playa de Varadero IV
Save Saved
You added La Playa de Varadero IV to your Saves list
18801 Collins Ave. apt 35, Miami Beach, FL 33160   |  
Ranked #180 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Québec
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No service at the front desk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Last March I was at the Playa de Varadero with my wife. After dinner, we went to the beach, we went swimming, and when we came back, two young men had removed our towels from the hutt and were drinking a beer. We explained that this was our spot... and they pretended that they did not understand us. I did not want to get in a fight «at my age»... and directly went to the office where I spoke to a man who was not at the front desk, but at another desk on the right, and I explained the situation, to a guy who seemingly was not interested ... and he simply told me that he could not do anything.

I came back to the beach and an hour later the young «Potugese» left and went down the beach. I followed them from afar and saw them going towards the Thunderbird where presumebly they were staying.

We won't return to La Playa where there is no security for people of our age. There is also no service and the whole place is quite dirty. However I have nothing negative to say about the studio that we had rented from Mr P,,,, from Montreal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

you really have nothing to do with your life
you never rented #206,you rented # 54.
#206 is very clean,it is freshly painted ever year,
i think you drank to much beer or you eat to much poutine.
so lady please do not come to the playa,your not welcome.
SORRY

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our favorite place to visit in Miami! We stay here whenever we visit and the place is always clean and the staff are overly-accomodating. I highly recommend this location to anyone who wants the splendor of Miami, but doesn't want to spend their time and money on South Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we had found this condo though vacation rentals.com. the pictures looked great and everything was good until we checked in. it was late we pulled down the beds ( they were in the walls) to sleep. the next day went to visit family came back in the early evening time and there was roaches everywhere, for those of you who have seen joes apartment, its a great comparison. we called the owners they came over and tried to move us to a different unit in the same building, and my 2 year old som found a live one walking on the floor. we demanded our money back and went to a more reputable hotel. this place was $450 for 1 week. it was not even a deal! but nevertheless we have learned our lesson about where to rent from fro our family vacations!

Room Tip: dirty rooms. roach infestation!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUEBEC
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We rented this unit # 206, from a men in montreal (owner),we gave him a deposit and the balance was paid when we arived in florida,to his father in law. The unit was very clean and recently renovated. we had everything we needed., even internet. The price was very cheap ,we rented for 1 month,but next year we will rent for at least 2 months,the beach was very very nice and clean.Great vacation and great person to deal with.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This passed weekend was magic just wanted to thank you again for all your help. Loved the studio and staff. That was just the start the beach was so private and beautiful grabbed mixed drinks brought to us by the waiter on the beach. I couldn't have asked for more for 50$ a night stay on miami beach then exotic fishes came up to us on the shore, amazing. Plus a choice of two pools absolutely we will return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Where else can you get to spend a month on the beach in florida for less than $50 a day? We were in unit 407, nice studio with 2 murphy beds, small couch, plenty of chairs, a foldaway table with 4 chairs that are cleverly inside it, a small tv, small radio, a fridge and most importantly a stove. We mostly cooked our own meals or used the barbeques available. The are 2 pools and then the beach. You can stay next door at a new tower but it would cost you thousands in hotel stay and lord knows how much in food. To summize: La Playa is not a five star hotel but the value is unbeatable for beachfront stay.
We are going back next year or better yet in a few months for a few weeks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa de Varadero IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa de Varadero IV

Address: 18801 Collins Ave. apt 35, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
La Playa De Varadero Iv Hotel Miami Beach
Playa Varadero Iv Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa de Varadero IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.