We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“joes apartment roaches!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa de Varadero IV

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Playa de Varadero IV
Save
You added La Playa de Varadero IV to your Saves list
18801 Collins Ave. apt 35, Miami Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“joes apartment roaches!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we had found this condo though vacation rentals.com. the pictures looked great and everything was good until we checked in. it was late we pulled down the beds ( they were in the walls) to sleep. the next day went to visit family came back in the early evening time and there was roaches everywhere, for those of you who have seen joes apartment, its a great comparison. we called the owners they came over and tried to move us to a different unit in the same building, and my 2 year old som found a live one walking on the floor. we demanded our money back and went to a more reputable hotel. this place was $450 for 1 week. it was not even a deal! but nevertheless we have learned our lesson about where to rent from fro our family vacations!

Room Tip: dirty rooms. roach infestation!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
QUEBEC
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We rented this unit # 206, from a men in montreal (owner),we gave him a deposit and the balance was paid when we arived in florida,to his father in law. The unit was very clean and recently renovated. we had everything we needed., even internet. The price was very cheap ,we rented for 1 month,but next year we will rent for at least 2 months,the beach was very very nice and clean.Great vacation and great person to deal with.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This passed weekend was magic just wanted to thank you again for all your help. Loved the studio and staff. That was just the start the beach was so private and beautiful grabbed mixed drinks brought to us by the waiter on the beach. I couldn't have asked for more for 50$ a night stay on miami beach then exotic fishes came up to us on the shore, amazing. Plus a choice of two pools absolutely we will return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Where else can you get to spend a month on the beach in florida for less than $50 a day? We were in unit 407, nice studio with 2 murphy beds, small couch, plenty of chairs, a foldaway table with 4 chairs that are cleverly inside it, a small tv, small radio, a fridge and most importantly a stove. We mostly cooked our own meals or used the barbeques available. The are 2 pools and then the beach. You can stay next door at a new tower but it would cost you thousands in hotel stay and lord knows how much in food. To summize: La Playa is not a five star hotel but the value is unbeatable for beachfront stay.
We are going back next year or better yet in a few months for a few weeks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

Be aware. Thete are 2 different buildings: one has been remodeled recently, another is in terrible conditions. They promote the rate starting at $48. For some reason the owner decided to bring the price up to $110 per night. We put a deposit $150(per advertisement is refundable, in reality - is not). When we came to Miami and before paying the rest of the amount we took a look at the room. It looked horrible. The room is small, the sofa - two person berely can fit on it, not saying about sleep. They advertise the room for 4 - 5 people. In this room no more then 2-3 people can sleep. The kitchen: no space to turn around. I do not know how the bathroom looks. Making the story short: we walked away to find the better place to stay.
We obviously made a mistake. We stayed in the Varadero 7-8 years ago, but in another building ($45 oer night) and that was the excellent room.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

I was invited by my mother in law to go to Miami Beach this year with my son, we went to La Playa de Varadero, and spend a week there.We were on unit #113, the sink in the bathroom was clogged, the bathroom door would not close, the knob on the front door was broke, the pillows were very uncomfortable, the bed was very hard to sleep in. There was only one toilet paper in the bathroom, no paper towels available, not enough towels, wehn we went to wash them in the washing machine, it took my money and also the dryer, it was very uncomfortable to be there, it is hard to be in a place especially when you don't have transportation to be moving around, we were stuck in the "motel" most of the time. People around were not very friendly, and they are from my own country "cubans".we had to go walking across the street many times to get pizza, that was the closes to us. Also in the paper that was given to us, we were told that the swiming pool would be closed and 11:00 pm, and it was not so, at 8:00 pm they closed it.
I was very happy when it was time to come home, I don't recommended to anybody. The beach was the best, a little bit dirty though. Tha's about it.
We had to go shopping to get all the things that were missing.
Not happy at all. Not coming back.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2004

Wow,I just can't believe how GREAT La Playa de Varadero is. Both my girlfriend and I had a terrific time there. We met with the owners of unit#127 and they made our stay there a very pleasant one. We walked on the beach, got a fabulous tan, BBQand much more. You can't beat the price for all that you get. The unit inside has everyting we needed to enjoy ourselves. It's painted with beautiful caribean colors. Kitchen is well equipt. What I loved the most is that Unit#127 IS VERY CLEAN,CONFORTABLE and best of all, NO ROACHES. We loved it so much, we already reserved the unit for the week of 4th of July. Can't wait!!!! I honestly recomend UNIT# 127 to everyone who's looking for a GREAT rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Playa de Varadero IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa de Varadero IV

Address: 18801 Collins Ave. apt 35, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
La Playa De Varadero Iv Hotel Miami Beach
Playa Varadero Iv Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa de Varadero IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.