We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best deals in South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Haddon Hall Hotel) (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“One of the best deals in South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This building has an attractive, art deco exterior, and they have a nice pool too. Our room, however, was old and worn – but it served its purpose (check the photos). The location is excellent, just one block from the northern end of Ocean Drive and a short walk to the beach. And the price was right.

Don’t come here if you’re looking for luxury. You can’t have, and shouldn’t expect to have, it all for what we paid but, all things considered, Haddon Hall is one of the best deals in South Beach. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    115
    128
    82
    117
See reviews for
66
129
48
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I'm not sure why this place got lousy reviews. It was just fine for me. If you're expecting the Ritz for ~100$/night, you deserve to be disappointed, I guess.

I stayed here for a week, while I was working an event. I worked during the night and slept during the day. When I checked in I asked the front desk to place me somewhere quiet. I guess they did. I was not disturbed at all. I was also surprised to have a little kitchen in my room. The hotel met all of my criteria: the shower was hot, the air conditioner was cold, the room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. They are kind of cheap when it comes to the pillows, but I brought my own, so I was fine. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything and just a few blocks from the beach, shopping, and places to eat. For the price, you can't beat it!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows and internet ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good location, but you can see it's an old and it should make some changes until it would be better. The room was ok size, but the bathroom was terrible and if you have a room by the Collins avenue, forget the sleep

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have a room by the Collins avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I would like to say that at first I was not sure about booking this hotel because of the mixed reviews but I am really glad I chose this property. I stayed in room 329 for a week and I can say that I had no issues. The front desk agent Taryn was very pleasant and was always professional and courteous whenever I had to pass her in the lobby. The location of the hotel was perfect. Close to eveverything such as the beach and shopping and dining. On my next stay in Miami I will definitely be booking this hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Haddon hall hotel in February . We had a double room on the 3rd floor. The room really could do with new beds and new carpet. We had a problem with hunts. At the beginning we just said if they could spray the room but after the second day the problem got worse. So I went down to the reception try to ask for something to spray. Luckily the manager Claudio was there and he took matter in his hands. He was very helpful and he offer me to change room. He gave us a room by the pool. Nice and spacious. He also solved a problem with the tv by replacing with a new one. I would like to thank Claudio for taking care of the problems in a very professional way. The hotel could be a really nice place with a bit of refurbishment. Great location.






Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Location is brilliant, 1 street behind ocean drive and the great south beach, surrounded by restaurants, shops, bars. However, everything else was pretty poor!! Pool is nice yes but it's got about 10 loungers around it which were all taken all day and from about 3pm most of them are in the shade anyway as is the pool. The room we had (229) was dark dank and smelly. Non smoking but above the smoking area so it stank of smoke anyway. The blinds or curtains don't shut so its quite light at night, the bathroom is tiny and the shower is crap. The pressure is great but the temperature goes from boiling hot to freezing cold every few seconds so its difficult to have a shower for any longer than about 5 minutes. The room smelled of damp too and there was also mould on the mirror in the tiny bathroom. Parking was $20 a night and they for even gaurentee your space once you've paid so you can't go in and out, wifi is also $10 a day so if you need both of these add $45 to your room rate daily inc taxes. Shockingly expensive for what it is but I guess it's the location your paying for as Miami is awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have stayed here many times and this is one of my favorite locations. Two blocks from the beach, four blocks from Lincoln Rd & Washington Lane, three blocks from Espanola way. Nice big lobby, huge swimming pool, nice water fountain out front, great for taking pictures.. Great pre-cruise location. ohh and they will store your luggage for you if you have a late flight after you check out.

Room Tip: Suites in the corners are spacious and give you a nice view of the hustle & bustle of Collins av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1500 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Haddon Hall Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haddon Hall Miami Beach
Haddon Hall Hotel Miami
Hotel Haddon Hall
Haddon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.