We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Haddon Hall Hotel) (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Haddon hall hotel in February . We had a double room on the 3rd floor. The room really could do with new beds and new carpet. We had a problem with hunts. At the beginning we just said if they could spray the room but after the second day the problem got worse. So I went down to the reception try to ask for something to spray. Luckily the manager Claudio was there and he took matter in his hands. He was very helpful and he offer me to change room. He gave us a room by the pool. Nice and spacious. He also solved a problem with the tv by replacing with a new one. I would like to thank Claudio for taking care of the problems in a very professional way. The hotel could be a really nice place with a bit of refurbishment. Great location.






Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    115
    128
    82
    117
See reviews for
66
129
48
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Location is brilliant, 1 street behind ocean drive and the great south beach, surrounded by restaurants, shops, bars. However, everything else was pretty poor!! Pool is nice yes but it's got about 10 loungers around it which were all taken all day and from about 3pm most of them are in the shade anyway as is the pool. The room we had (229) was dark dank and smelly. Non smoking but above the smoking area so it stank of smoke anyway. The blinds or curtains don't shut so its quite light at night, the bathroom is tiny and the shower is crap. The pressure is great but the temperature goes from boiling hot to freezing cold every few seconds so its difficult to have a shower for any longer than about 5 minutes. The room smelled of damp too and there was also mould on the mirror in the tiny bathroom. Parking was $20 a night and they for even gaurentee your space once you've paid so you can't go in and out, wifi is also $10 a day so if you need both of these add $45 to your room rate daily inc taxes. Shockingly expensive for what it is but I guess it's the location your paying for as Miami is awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have stayed here many times and this is one of my favorite locations. Two blocks from the beach, four blocks from Lincoln Rd & Washington Lane, three blocks from Espanola way. Nice big lobby, huge swimming pool, nice water fountain out front, great for taking pictures.. Great pre-cruise location. ohh and they will store your luggage for you if you have a late flight after you check out.

Room Tip: Suites in the corners are spacious and give you a nice view of the hustle & bustle of Collins av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived quite late at the Hotel - after having a terrible day of travel. The outside of the hotel is nice looking, inviting, and close to everything. Our travel mates were already there and had advised the front desk that we were arriving 8 hours later than planned. Their response was amazing... They asked us if we would like to have the pool re-opened so we could go for a swim following our terrible day. We didn't take them up on it, but the offer was greatly appreciated.

The Lobby has been updated, bright and airey, comfortable when you are waiting for taxis! We stayed in room 315, our travel mates in an adjoinging room. I had asked earlier on if they would accommodate the adjoining rooms - they said they would do their best - and their best they did. From what I understand, there were not enough towels in the room when they arrived, but they mentioned it to the front desk - and we had extra towels delivered when we arrived.
The rooms are a little outdated, however they are very clean. The fridge was cold enough to keep your beer cold.

The location is perfect - anyone who has ever wanted to stay in South Beach and not spend the money - knows what the location is all about. This is right where you want to be. A great deli on the corner, Espanola Way is right there - a liquor store across the street as well. It is moments from the beach and Ocean Drive. Even being on Collins and it being such a busy street - we didn't find it difficult to sleep - it wasn't too loud. The airconditioning worked well.

I wish I could give the front desk staff and the security guard a hug for accepting our rowdy crowd... They were all so wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is very well located less than two minutes away from the beach, close to the Española way where there are several bars and restaurants (which can compromise the night's rest) and right in the Middle of Miami beach.
The swimming pool is very nice.
Rooms are not confortable neither nicely or recently decorated but they have a lot of space.
Restrooms are incredibly old and not very clean!
An unbearable noise was available during the day, I believe due to pipes usage in the bathroom. Hotel staff were always very concentraded on their activities and not very helpful when we needed them but were always polite.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms arround the swimming pool as there must be less noise and it is nicer when you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

First time at Haddon Hall and was happy with everything. Stayed for 8 nights with my lady over the 2013/2014 New Years and had such a good experience that I tried to book the hotel again for a future trip but was told that because they were going to be renovating, they weren't able to book anything at this time.

No doubt about the hotel being old and some areas in need of an updating, but overall I found the hotel to be clean, the staff friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the location and facilities to be great.

My thanks to Claudio for being a terrific host and accommodating our requests to the best of his ability. I would recommend Haddon Hall to anyone traveling to SOBE in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

For the price we paid, this hotel was excellent. So many hotels on South Beach are so high priced, it would have limited what we could do.

Location was excellent. Customer service was outstanding. Padraig was the best.

Yes, it is outdated. Looks dirty, but is very clean. You must ask for extra towels. All very small inconveniences for the location & customer service. If you want a fancy hotel with all the amenities, don't stay here. If you want and excellent price, clean, safe, super customer service & a great location, this is the place.

Room Tip: We had top, 3rd floor facing Collins. Not too noisy (and we live in the country), thought the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1500 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Haddon Hall Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haddon Hall Miami Beach
Haddon Hall Hotel Miami
Hotel Haddon Hall
Haddon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.