We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but little else....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haddon Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Haddon Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Haddon Hall Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Essexville, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, but little else....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location is great. The rooms are basic and old, however, they are clean. The rate was very low for the area. I purchased it on a travel website for $70 per night.
The front desk clerk is incredibly rude. I can not express that strongly enough. The lady who checked us in should be not working with the public. She might have an anti-social personality disorder, she is that rude.
Nothing is included with the room rate. Internet costs $10 for twenty four hours. Then, after you pay for the internet, it does not work. Oh and good luck getting a refund for the non-working internet. In addition, there is NO parking at the hotel. You literally have to walk a block away to a parking garage. The rate was $16 for 24 hours.
There is no breakfast available, however, there is a coffee machine. The cost is $2.
All in all, this hotel could go from a low rated hotel to a highly rated one by adjusting a few things. First, they need to replace their front desk staff. They should train them to smile and be pleasant. In addition, they should bump the room rates up slightly and then include coffee, parking passes, and free internet. They would get REPEAT customers. It really could be a great hotel, if they could just tweak those few things.

Room Tip: Book your room on a travel website, rather than with the hotel directly. Ask for a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    194
    218
    143
    132
See reviews for
64
123
42
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NH
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Made a last minute reservation for a business trip in south beach, and Haddon Hall was one of the few places that still had availability. Had decent reviews on Trip Advisor as a "place to just crash", which is all I needed. Read the TA reviews, they are accurate. The outside of the hotel and the lobby are decent and reasonably well kept. The room itself however was pretty bad. Similar to other TA reviewers I would have to say the carpets are pretty nasty, felt kind of gross walking around barefoot in the room. The room itself feels a little dank, old, and smells like a urinal cake (you'll recognized the smell, think jersey turnpike rest stop). The bed spread and blankets were old and nappy. There were numerous cracks in the walls and floors adding to the ambiance. Clientele of the hotel is a bit rough as well. Many smokers just sitting around on the benches, several episodes of late at night yelling about "[--] kickings" coming from the grounds in front of the hotel. Again similar to other TA reviewers, the front desk is not what your used to at a more upscale hotel. Not a problem if you don't need anything but definitely not bowling you over with their enthusiasm. On a positive note, the location is excellent and in the middle of everything. Overall, probably an ok place for a bunch of college guys on spring break but for business travelers, families, older crowds probably not a great choice. Ended up cutting the trip short to get out of this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lets start with the only thing positive - location!
The rest is very very sad. Old run down hotel with rude staff. Room was tiny with a full size bed not even a queen. The sheets looked old and musty and the room reeked of bleach!. Check-in is 3PM no exceptions. Parking is independent and a block away at $50 a night.

My travel tip - stay some place else!

Room Tip: The suites looking onto the pool looked ot be newer and larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon1, Manager at Haddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Unfortunately you booked a room with a full size bed which is designed to be a single room. If you wanted a queen you should have booked the standard queen/king which are larger rooms designed for double occupancy and come with either a queen or a king bed. Our housekeeping department thoroughly clean each room after every guest check out and they do use bleach to sterilize the bath tub and toilet bowl. I do apologize if If any of the chlorine smell was still noticable in your room.

I do hope that next time you are in Miami Beach you will give us another try by booking a larger room, I know that our quality/price ratio is one of the best on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was the worst place we ever stayed it. I called them direct to make the reservation and got a confirmation sent to me that only had the date no rates or the description of my reservation. I didnt think anything of it until I tried checking in and they tried overcharging me and added extra nights. After many tears and having to lower myself and argue and defend myself they finally gave in. It was hard to have fun after feeling like they were scamming me and then to hear from the front lady that this happens often mortified me. To top it all off we had no hot water in the two rooms we rented. Please dont book though them directly use a travel site please.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon1, Manager at Haddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

When you made a reservation for the boat-show I clearly communicated to you the number of nights I booked for you. The system automatically emails 2 confirmations, one with the charge and one with the details, maybe this 2nd email was caught by your spam folder since you claim you never received it. At check in we did not try to scam you, we simply tried to charge you for the agreed upon number of nights. During the boat-show we had a 2 night minimum stay policy but I gave you the benefit of the doubt and let you stay for 1 night only and we charged you for 1 night only. I do take offense that because of a miscommunication you claim that we tried to scam you. We run an honest business and we would not stake our reputation on trying to scam you out of $200.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was my first time staying in South Beach. I was shocked at the hotel rates. Haddon Hall is a fantastic location, right on Collins Ave, one block off of Ocean. Yes, the place is old, no frills, the rooms are "cold feeling" at best, and the carpet is old and sticky feeling.

However, we waited until the day before and booked it through Hotels.com. We got a rate of $90 a night. That was WAY lower than anything else in the area. For that, great deal. However, the following weekend friends paid $260 for the same hotel. That is a rip-off!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon1, Manager at Haddon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate when our guests leave an honest, unbiased opinion of our hotel. We do pride ourselves on offering the best value on the beach which you clearly received. You do however comment on the rate that your friends payed which you feel is too much. Rest assured that when our rates are that high, any other hotel on the beach charges the same or more than we do.

Anyway next time you are on the beach, please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luck, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

But in order to continue, i had to give it one. We have never, ever stayed in such a mildewy smelling dump like this ever! And for the prices they charge! DISAPPOINTED! to say the least. Front desk was so-so considering the rudeness of the blonde female property manager or owner - not sure what she was, but she sure should NOT be in the hospitality industry! If she worked for us with an attitude like that, she would be out of a job immediately.
DO NOT STAY THERE IF YOU WANT FRESH SMELLING, CLEAN, SOMEWHAT UPDATED GUESTROOMS & BATHROOMS FOR THAT KIND OF MONEY, You do not get what you pay for here!

Room Tip: Just don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

You walk into the hotel and first thing that hits you is the smell. It smells like a wet dog and the smell stayed the whole time I was there. The lobby was outdated and the was no business area. The hotel employees were dressed in jeans and tee shirts. The room was outdated and the was mold growing on the tiles in the shower.

Room Tip: Do not stay here there is no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haddon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon Hall Hotel

Also Known As:
Haddon Hall Miami Beach
Haddon Hall Hotel Miami
Hotel Haddon Hall
Haddon Hall Miami
Haddon Hotel
Address: 1500 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#134 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Haddon Hall Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Haddon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haddon Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.