We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Delano South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOWEST RATE - Up to 25%
Ranked #36 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

we started our honeymoon with this beautiful hotel! we came a long way (Cyprus-Europe)
we had some trouble with our luggage and the staff especially Joshua (concierge) help us a lot. He help us get around south beach where to eat and shop. The decoration of the hotel is charming in his own special way. The swimming pool oh my god nice quiet and clean! I will definitely go again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al3x1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2010
Thank you so much for this review. Josh and our entire staff are indeed the best on the beach. As well, I'm happy you appreciated the charm captured in our design and setting. We look forward to your next trip.

All the best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Delano had a very peaceful decor to it. The room I stayed in was very serene and relaxing. The pool was fabulous and the staff was very accomodating.

Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank QuintenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank you! I am happy that you found your stay dreamy and our staff attentive; our aim is to deliver just that experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Delano. Staff were excellent. Service by the pool was great. Other than the white painted floors and the miniscule bathrooms, the room was more than acceptable. Keep in mind this was an old hotel converted into a modern high end hotel, so many of the existing features remain. Great location as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodmanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Thank you for your recent visit and for this great review. Yes, we are focused on the service--or better yet, we focus on you with the service. As you and so many others have commented, our pool staff, like the rest of the team, is top notch--the best on the beach! Yes, our footprint is that of a 1947 hotel; as such, our bathrooms are on the smaller side. But the style and overall vibe of Delano is unique and beyond amazing. Thank you for staying with us and experiencing this for yourself. We hope to see you again soon.

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This was our fifth trip to the Delano, and we brought back my brother and sister in law (who stayed their last year on their honeymoon, per our recommendation), and as usual, we had an great experience. Service was superior - I am amazed at how fast the housekeeping staff brings something to your room when you need it.! I also want to comment on our pool waiter, Diego - great service!!! We felt like valued guests. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southbeachfan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thanks so much for the shout-out to the pool staff as well as to our housekeepers. They, like the rest of us, are committed to delivering a very special experience to you and all of our guests. We will see you on your anniversary, right?

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I have stayed at Delano in the past but this time decided to book a poolside bungalow for the long 4th of July weekend. From beginning to end everything about the stay was better than expected. The quality of the food poolside and through room service was beyond great... as good as I have come to expect at some of the nicest restaurants I frequent. I don't think a single staff person passed the entire weekend without asking if they could do or get something for us and our guests (we also reserved a cabana one day and had 8 guests join us for the day) were all treated as valued guests of the hotel. The concierge was not only able to secure a tailor who could fit a dress on very short notice but was also able to secure a table at one of the nicest restaurants in SoBe with almost no notice. Overall every person I dealt with at the hotel from check in to check out was professional, pleasant and eager to make our stay as nice as it could be. I have been to over 50 countries and 400 cities and am grateful to have found such a wonderful place so close to home. I have already booked another "bungalow weekend" for next month.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
A very cool review from a very cool guest. I'm glad you enjoyed your Bungalow experience and we look forward to repeating success next month. Isn't our staff the best? I'm glad you found the casual yet attentive service to your liking.

Welcome to the family!

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

For years I have gone on trip advisor to read everyone else's review, but this is the very first time I have felt compelled to write my own! My husband and I recently stayed at the Delano and it was everything we expected and SO much more! My husband and I (in our mid thirties) are well traveled, and I have never experienced such great personalized service...ever!
From Ellis,who was absolutely amazing and responsive at answering all my questions before we even arrived (and I know I probably drove him crazy), to Jon (who kindly sent up a bottle of Champagne upon arrival)! Then there was Gabe and Soleil at the pool (that always made us feel like a rock star) and Gabriel who completly took care of us and made the most incredible drinks ever at The Florida Room. Oh, I cannot forget to mention Brian at the conceirge desk, he was incredibly on target with all of his reccomendations and remembered our name from the first day (actually, they all did)!

It has been only a couple of weeks since we have been back in California, and just yesterday my husband and I started planning our next trip this August (instead of our usual Vegas at the Bellagio and Rehab pool party at Hard Rock)...only this time we are bringing a couple of friends!

Thanks again Ellis, Jon, Gabe, Sole, Gabriel and Brian....see you in August!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrd674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you so much! We loved having you both with us!
I’m so happy that you sought me out before you arrived so that I could answer your questions and start getting you set up. I can truly say that on behalf of everyone here, we loved having you stay with us. You mention some outstanding and seasoned employees in your review, and as I’ve mentioned before on here, there are many dozens of unseen yet equally devoted members of our team who are committed to ensuring you feel at home when you are here-- there can be no other hotel for you in South Beach except Delano.
Welcome to the family, we’ll see you in August!
Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Stayed 3 days Key West and then on to thr Dealano fot another 3 days. The room "Ocean view" was all white ..beautiful...but it was obvious that this hotel was for people with money..big money...$ 24 for breakfast..EACH...$ 16 for sorbet! $ 20 for an umbrella on the beach...like I said it is off my bucket list..will not go back..concierge was nice but they do not really help you much where to go ..what to do..I think it's me just out of my bracket..but it was nice to see how the beautiful people live..wish I stayed in Key West 3 more days thoiugh with real people and prices!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tomdcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelanoGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thanks for staying with us. I’m happy you were here but sorry we weren’t the hotel for you.
Kind regards,
Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,845 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing