We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delano is the definition of South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Delano South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #38 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delano is the definition of South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you want a true SOBE experience, a stay at the Delano is a must. It's one of the original SOBE hotels that many have come to try and copy. Yes, it can be noisy, the bathrooms are small and their aren't many windows or balconies, but it's one of the coolest hotels you will ever experience. Nothing like walking through the lobby or lounging at the pool.

Room Tip: City side is noisy with street sounds and beach side is noisy with DJ music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    253
    119
    81
    70
See reviews for
97
433
57
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

great experience,very warm service , nice quiet place not to many noise and discrepancy.Many good things in area close to hotel for you choice. Nice food and good variety for any taste. The price be better for 5 night ,but i have only four

Room Tip: quiet good at top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The lobby is Open Open Open! Hello Miami! The feel is Artsy, Cultural-eeee and uptown in a downtown comfortable way. Perfect! The art on the walls, which they change periodically is a fantastic touch! I always make this one of my stops, every time I head to Miami Fl which is 4 times a year. Don't miss this stop and if you feel like splurging, spend a night or weekend there. it is worth every dime, as Memories, are really all you can enjoy & collect in life.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at the Delano South Beach weekend of 1/25/13 and it was OUTSTANDING! This hotel is the best place to stay in Miami! Julia, the outside pool bartender, is not only stunningly beautiful, but extremely attentive with amazing mixology skills! My friends and I can't wait to return!!!

-- Steve

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great vibe, the staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are soooo white amazing! We were lucky enough to be in 1420 big, clean and white. The lobby is a great place to be watching people and if you can get a space by the pool it is worth it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Literally it just doesn't get any better than the Delano. Every time I step in the doors I feel like I am at home. Smiling faces, warm engaging staff members who genuinely care about their guests. It's Ritz Carlton service without the pretentiousness. The place is pricey, but you get what you pay for, and I never leave there disappointed, ever!

To all those who made our stay have the "WOW factor" that we have come to expect from the Delano: Lee Greenspan, thank you for being so accommodating with our reservation and making the stay so special. Your communication via email was responsive and extraordinarily professional. My wife loved the room, and the view!

To the concierge Willy, you were attentive professional and the word no isn't in your vocabulary. You are very good at what you do and your passion for your job shows.

To the wonderful beach attendants who constantly kept our Mojito glass full and bottles of waters coming, specifically Miguel, you are such a nice guy and very attentive without being intrusive. This is a lost art form these days in service. My wife and I enjoyed speaking with you, and we cannot wait to return to the beach again.

Location, SERVICE, food, atmosphere it's all here. It is our home away from home when we are in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Delano for 3 days at the beginning of Miami Music Week. We knew about the festival before hand so could accept the LOUD dj/ techno music at our hotel and hotels on either side of Delano... However we felt that the Delano rooms and staff were off.
Floor in our room was gritty. Bathroom was the size of a sub zero refrigerator...would be nice to have a vent fan and make up mirror in the tiny bathroom.
Maid was very put out that we were not ready for turn down service at 6:00pm.
In the lobby area dessert was served with no napkins or utensils....
On a positive note the beach staff was excellent and helpful. Loved the mini treats they pass around late in the day.
All in all- next time we will give another hotel a try.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It sounds as if service as a whole was a little off kilter for you. While these service lapses are not indicative of what one should expect at Delano, unpredictable things do happen. I apologize that your expectations were not met and I will look into some of the concerns that you mentioned. Specifically housekeeping. If you don't mind, please send me a note with the details of your reservation so I may direct the coaching in the right place. lee.greenspan@mhgc.com
On a positive note, I will share this review with the beach staff. They work very hard and are often overlooked. Compliments such as these go a long way and I appreciate you recognizing these hard working people.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Hotel
Delano Hotel Miami
Delano Miami
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Splendia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delano South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.