We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is ok, but has seen better days...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Delano South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #41 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Hotel is ok, but has seen better days...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been to the Delano years ago when it was fresh, hip and crisp. Our latest visit this weekend was a disappointment.

We had a corner Alcove room. While clean, the room and bathroom overall, have an old, outdated cheap feeling. The beds are very uncomfortable. Like the pillow top mattress has been compressed years ago and they haven't gotten around to changing them.The maid service hadn't cleaned our room even after we had been gone all day and returned at 6pm. That is totally unacceptable! We had to call down to have the room cleaned and the towels replenished.

The elevator was not working either on our arrival back to the hotel and we had to climb eight flights of stairs just to get to our room.

The pool area and lobby is starting to get that tacky, everything used to be crisp and white but now it's old look to it as well.

For the amount of money spent, the experience was unacceptable and underwhelming. I'm not sure who the people are that write all of these glowing reviews for this hotel, but they definitely are not avid travelers and must have pretty low expectations.

Spend your money somewhere else... if you like the finer things in life you'll be sorely disappointed here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. First, I'd like to apologize. Your review is definitely concerning and I would like to discuss it further with you. Regarding housekeeping; what you described as far as your room not being serviced at all is first of all, unacceptable,and secondly, very surprising. I have looked into this already and will continue to investigate until I can find a reason for this oversight. You also mentioned elevators. We did have one elevator down briefly for scheduled maintenance at one point during your stay but I'm unaware of any point at which both were down. I will look into this directly. I apologize for that inconvenience as well.
We spend substantial time ensuring that the property is fresh and clean daily. We are almost obsessed with ensuring that all of our guests find the property (both public space and rooms) to be in pristine condition at any given time. We update and refresh constantly as service and ambiance stand atop the list priorities at Delano.
As you mentioned, you may be under the impression that reviewers on Trip Advisor are not avid travellers.. or that their overwhelmingly positive reviews of Delano are because of a lack of experience at great hotels. I assure you that it is quite the contrary. Reviews like yours, while very concerning and certainly deserving of an apology and thorough follow up, are actually the anomoly on our page. Overwhelmingly, our reviews are positive. That's because we consistently deliver an overwhelmingly positive experience.. and I would like the chance to provide that to you. If you do have plans to return to Miami, please contact me at lee.greenspan@mhgc.com. I would like to personally handle your next accommodations so as to give you the first hand example of what all of the well travelled and discrimnating reviewers on this page are referring to.

Thank You,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    289
    132
    88
    77
See reviews for
120
498
66
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of the best hotels! Amazing rooms, modern,simple, just white theme everywhere!
One of the most amazing pool with great service and super pool parties with great music! In front of the beach and the ocean you can relax there and close by to the best restaurants and bars and of course the boardwalk.
I would definitely visit it again soon!

Room Tip: With ocean view are the best and at the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Forget the other hotels
Forget staying anywhere else
If you want ..
The best location
The best staff
The best food
The best all round service
Then stay at the Delano
I've been coming every year for five years and I love it
Yes it isn't cheap
But in life what's good is worth paying for
Do yourself a favour , book the Delano
It's worth every cent

Simon Taylor
England

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love this hotel, the second you enter the lobby you know this is a special place. The theme is white, the rooms, lobby, everything is a spotless white. The pool is terrific, the restaurant called the Blue Door is expensive but delicious, they also have a sushi bar in the lobby along with the very swank Rose Bar ..The grounds are perfectly, spotless and magical, at night the pool area gets transformed into a clubby outdoor trendy bar scene. Never stayed in the outdoor rooms, but they look great. The regular rooms are small, and without balconies, but still very nice, nice toiletries and very chic. This is an expensive place, but the whole thing here is the vibe, and it is beautiful. as are the women who seem to be everywhere. I will be back.

Room Tip: I would go for an ocean view room if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I headed to The Delano in Feb to celebrate our Anniversary. The staff was incredibly nice and we had a good time despite the cold front that rolled into SoBe. The best part of the hotel is the pool and beach area, so with the blustery weather, we weren't quite able to realize that value this time. The day we did spend by the pool was festive with yummy food and drinks that are a bit pricey, but good nonetheless. The Delano, being a sexy place (see headline) attracts a celebrity crowd, and there was one by the pool whose privacy I will respect by not naming. The lobby is also expansive (but freezing cold) with a pool table, bar, and sushi restaurant. All fun. There is a club on site, called FDR, with easy access. We are not much for the club scene, but went one night anyway. We left a short while later after I discovered a local patron going through the pockets of the blazer that I had taken off and put down. A sleazy element can find you anywhere in SoBe but it seemed like this group was looking for hotel guests to prey on since right before I caught the person, I had been repeatedly asked if we were staying there. It made us feel that we were not their first "mark" ever. Word to the wise.. Be wary of suddenly friendly strangers!
The hotel room itself was very small with all white decor that's basic and kind of cheap. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows weren't at all I asked for a down pillow and was promptly sent one that was feather filled and also uncomfortable. The bathroom was super tiny but serviceable. I had just come from staying a few days at The Breakers in Palm Beach, whose turn down service includes a gourmet chocolate or cookie, whereas The Delano, although a similar room rate, does not go to that effort or expense. All in all, I would stay there again, and bring my own down travel pillow though! The location can't be beat - on the beach and so close to Lincoln Road.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I met a friend at the Delano last weekend. We chose South Beach in general and the Deleno specifically for time in the sun (pool and beach), relaxation, and fun. The hotel itself, the pool area, and the ocean view from our room were gorgeous, but what made the weekend for us was the staff. They were fantastic. Everyone we encountered from the moment we arrived until we left was very personable and seemed genuinely happy to help. One tip about the pool, if you want a lounge chair, get there early to claim your spot. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less noise from the party going on in the lobby. Ocean view is spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking for the best of the best, this is the place for you...the entrance is just like walking in one of those beautiful Palace, reserved for Kings and Queen...the decoration is fabulous, the colors of the lights make it look like Paradise, beautiful Bars on each side....the outside, the restaurant with everything ready for your comfort and degustation...the service is top, sometimes too much when you want to be left alone for conversation, then you have a great set of stairs, like in a Chateau, and direction the huge swimming pool with another bar where you can also eat at the bar...chaise lounge, where you can relax after the pool, and drink one of their delicious cocktail.....I know Paradise is not strong enough of a word for the DELANO...it is expensive, but if you are not ready to spend some money, you don't come there. PERIOD....

Room Tip: Unfortunately, I didn't sleep there, but my friends were very pleased. I know they will return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delano South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;