We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the delano south beach miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Delano South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #40 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“the delano south beach miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is an unique art deco style hotel. the common areas look great, as do the rooms, all done in white.The bathroom was very disappointing as was way too small and had no ventilation and nowhere to hang anything to dry. the pool is fabulous looking but very expensive to use the day beds. easy access to the beach. the breakfasts were very disappointing and the service here was very erratic. Overall a fun place to visit if in Miami.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    653
    270
    126
    85
    74
See reviews for
111
463
63
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had the most fantastic weekend at the Delano. We know luxury travel very well and I have to say it was exquisite without all the fuss. A weekend without children , just romantic pool and showers, in room dining overlooking the beach, luxury designed rooms,fantastic and prompt service using the iPads in the room . The pool bar has very well educated mixologist....I look forward to my next weekend getaway at the Delano.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Wow! Thank you for that great review!

You just about summed everything up in a few sentences. We take a lot of pride in successfully combining service and luxury. I'm very happy to hear that you were able to experince all of it.

When you plan your next weekend getaway, please send me a quick note. (lee.greenspan@mhgc.com) I'm happy to arrange all of your accommodations and ensure that you have an experience even better than the last!!

All The Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel. The concierge can handle anything, the service rivals hotels like Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton. I think the strongest point of this hotel is service and atmosphere. We have been here several times. We like Nicholas, the GM - I mentioned I fell asleep during a 15.00 movie and he credited me for it. I also made sure to let him know a group of employees passed me near the elevator - not in uniform, not ready for work, laughing and getting ready....they saw me, a hotel guest, and immediately put on a nice work face and greeted me as if they were on the clock. Jay was put pool guy a lot and he will go a mile out of his way to accommodate us and really knows customer service. Anna is our preferred pool waitress and does the same. We love the white in all the hotel, the cocktails are phoenomenal and the little "store" in a box in our room is so cool.

Our only complaint is that the room service is ridiculously expensive - 75.00 for eggs, toast, bacon, coffee and oj for ONE person. We find ourselves venturing out to other hotels to eat. If it were even 50.00 per person we may order breakfast for two every day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hello Jesica,

Thank you for the great and informative review. I had the pleasure of meeting Dyke this morning, I'm sorry I missed you. I've passed along your recognition to Nicolas, Anna and Jay, thank you for mentioning some of our team specifically. I'm glad to hear that they were able to leave a lasting impact.

Regarding breakfast, your point is duly noted. This is certainly something we can look into and discuss the possibility of viable options to make this less of a concern.

Finally, please feel free to reach out to myself or Nicolas directly for your future stays. Either of us can arrange your accommodations and ensure that you leave happy again and again!! (lee.greenspan@mhgc.com)

All The Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My stay at the Delano was overall great! The food was really good. The service was outstanding. The room was very comfortable. I would highly suggest paying the higher price for an ocean view room. We initially booked a city view room and could not get any sleep because the street was so busy and noisy. Otherwise the rooms are perfect. My only complaint is the prices. Everything is way overpriced. I go on many vacations to different places such as California, Bahamas, and others, and have never experienced prices like these. One drink was between 16-30 dollars, and one sandwich cost me 35 dollars! The quality and service were all wonderful, but you must be prepared to spend a lot of money, otherwise you will have to eat and drink in places outside the hotel. Overall very pleased with my stay, and left very relaxed!

Room Tip: rooms with ocean view are quieter! city view rooms are way too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review.

You pointed out some of the highlights of a Delano stay. Without a doubt, service is first and I'm glad that you experienced the best here with us. We also pride ourselves on ambiance and offerings. It's great to know that you were able to enjoy everything.

Regarding cost, the Miami Beach market is certainly on the high side of the spectrum. We make every effort to remain competitive while justifying a higher price with superior product and service in addition to a pristine property and constantly updated rooms.

In the future, please feel free to reach out to me personally should you be returning. I'm happy to handle your accommodations. (lee.greenspan@mhgc.com)

All The Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed a the Delano for a weekend while i was in Miami and i loved it!! my room was very nice, but the service was what got me everyone from the pool was very nice. the bartenders were very friendly and attentive, but the beach is where i enjoyed most of my stay i was sat down by a young boy named addison ( one of the beach boys) the nicest young man i think ive ever met. he helped me with what ever i needed all afternoon always had a smile and made sure i had a good time on the beach. He even left my chair for last when he was cleaning up for the night. All and All i am making plans to come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was a great find for us when we arrived we were not too impressed but when the room has been chmged we were fine there were 2 good sized beds and the hotel decor is basic and does need a bit of updating but it served the purpose. Houekeeping was not too good and we had to ask many times to get the room service. When they moved out rooms they lost some of our stuf and rather than giving the money back they tookthe money from our daily fees but the hote was just for us to sleep in so it served the purpose. the view of the beach and the water was phenominal and if there was one thing that was really amazing it was this!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on several fronts during your stay.
Our purpose is to be a self-contained oasis for our guests. Service is the single most important aspect of the operation at Delano. I have addressed some of the frustrations that you've detailed for us. I would like to have more information on the lost items you were referring to. I'm a bit confused as to how or why you would be charged for lost personal items. Please feel free to contact me regarding your missing items and of course I'm happy to handle your future accommodations at Delano personally.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The Delano hotel has been Miami home away from home for over a decade... The service and friendliness of the staff makes me want to come back time after time. The pool is the best on the beach and the recently renovated rooms are clean, peaceful and provide beautiful views of both the city and ocean. The food is consistently fantastic and the night time vibe is super chic. I can't say enough great things about everything here. To sum it up, when I have stayed at other hotels next door or down the block I'm always disappointed and come right back here. The only place to stay on south beach is the Delano

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello Laura,

As usual, it was great to have you with us again. You are always such a pleasure to be around and you're certainly a staff favorite!
Please let me know before you come to Miami next time. I would love the opportunity to tailor your stay and out do your last experience here. You deserve it!

Thanks for everything.

See you soon!

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Splendia, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delano South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.