We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The noisyest Hotel I ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Delano South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #49 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The noisyest Hotel I ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I did not like to stay at the Delano at all. It is so noisy, you wake up in the morning at 6 because some truck ist unloaded and then there ist the next, engine running. If you face the pool there is pary all the time, non stop super loud music. So if you do not want to talk to your friends and are deaf anyway this is your hotel and it is so expenive! I would never ever stay here again.
Angela

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a higher flor if you plan to sleep, not the beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello Angela,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the noise disruptions during your stay. While you were here there were several events at the hotel and the beach itself was also very busy with Art Basel. I would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please let me know if you plan to return to Miami Beach. I will ensure that you are assigned a room on a high floor and away from noise. We have many room categories and I'm certain that we'll be able to provide a very comfortable and enjoyable stay next time around. My email is lee.greenspan@mhgc.com. I'm available to you any time.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    313
    146
    94
    80
See reviews for
128
541
70
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Best pool ever. Awesome DJs. Incredible food. Super cool lobby. Fantastic service. And all in the most amazing location. Definitely a contender for best hotel in the world. Loved it and can't wait to go back. Expensive, but completely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our fifth visit to South Beach in the last ten years. We have stayed at the Tides (the best so far), the Raleigh, the Setai and the W. During those trips, we have visited the grounds and lobby of the Delano and decided to give it a chance. Looking at the many positive reviews of the Delano, I have to figure that I my standards must be to high. For instance being able to sit on the toilette and open the door to the hall at the same time might be considered a positive by many.
We booked an Ocean Front King via Tablet Hotel last Aug. We go to the hotel around 7:30pm. The person checking us in said that they had us down for a City View King. I showed him my full confirmation from Tablet. He agreed that I had indeed booked the Ocean Front room but said they did not have one. Then he and eventually the assist general manager, spent more than 20 minutes try to figure out what to do. I expected that they would offer me an upgraded room but no such offer was forth coming. Eventually, the assistant manager said we could have a partial ocean view on the 4th floor but admitted it might be noisy in the morning. The alternative was as City View from on the 11th floor. He said he would reduce our price by $150 per night but that was probably not much lower than we would have paid when we originally booked. Then they offered us a free continental breakfast which would could not really use. They were very nice but if I had wanted a City View, I would have booked it.

So the bathroom which was extremely small and actually so close to the hall door that you could open the door while sitting on the toilet, was not totally clean. There was a tissue left in the sink for instance. The room smelled of some kind of spray which was probably used because people had smoked in the room. We were joined by another couple and they had to move rooms because of the smell of smoke.

The main restaurant, Binca, is very expensive and not very good. The pool is nice very crowded. In general, I would have to say the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have an apartment nearby but sometimes stay a night or two at the Delano to have fun and enjoy the pool scene. This is a long overdue review of our several visits there over the past year or so.

Quintessential Miami hotel/hotspot. Great pool scene. Amazing people watching. (Celebrities abound). Good restaurants. Sexy atmosphere, especially the rooms. Small, but nice spa with great massage and other services.

What is there not to love about the Delano?

Ok, so the service can range from amazing to lackadazical depending on the staff member...but it's Miami (where most wait and hotel staff are more interested in oogiling their colleagues and planning for the after-party then focusing on the guests needs0. By Miami standards, the Delano does just fine in the service area.

For my money, this continues to be the most enjoyable and coolest place, by far, to stay on the beach for the 30-50 year old set. We will see if the recently opened SLS proves to be a game changer and real competition for the Delano in this regard. Ritz- too family oriented. Setai- no action/scene at the pool. Gansevoort- rooms are cheap and down market, and main pool (no rooftop) is an eyesore. Shore Club- college frat party.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Absolutely stuuning place. Rooms as beautiful as they look in the brochure and really well equipped ( Ipads, Irons & boards, mini bar etc )
Staff are attentive and always willing to help in any way that they can. Food is great (in our experience anyway ) Drinks were a bit pricey but remember you are (in my opinion) in one of the best hotels in Miami, so it is comparable with any other top clas hotel.I honestly cannot praise this place enough. For us it was perfect. My only slight crticism is...do not use the hotel phone's. We rang from to the uk. Not cheap at all. Our mistake though, Buy a phone card if possible or use the public phones. Much cheaper.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room if possible. If you can get a suite. More expensive but they are fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff from the reception, the housekeeping, and servers are enthusiastic, polite and exude in abundance old world manners. This hotel attracts young people usually with older family members. It is a cross between new generation and older generations finding a common location to enjoy each other. The enthusiasm is catchy, and you may feel different in how you feel about yourself. There is an upbeat mood, the lobby is full of large Samson pillars and bellowing curtains. Our room was really cozy to be in but unfortunately the windows were pelleted with dung from birds, but we received a memo from the front desk that the windows would be cleaned the next day and they were. We had wonderful views of the beach thereafter. The pool is shaded most of the time and also reserved for the limited sunny locations. There is a secured room key lock on the back entrance to the pool so you can walk the broadwalk and the beach. The food for breakfast is good and our lunch was even better. Our bathroom was small but it has all that is needed but only one person can be in there at a time.The driveway into the hotel entrance is very small but it functions. The doormen and the car valets were not in attendance upon our arrival and we had to locate someone to get our luggage and take care of the car for parking. The pool had people who worked and then people who worked there but chated with other staff members for extensive periods of time. Felt as though we had to interrupt them to get towels or help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Staff is great about helping you. Lee Greenspan is the best manager I have ever met. Our room was late in being ready so he let us occupy a cabana out by the pool. What a thrill that was.... The pool area day and night is awesome.... Big scene , totally Miami Cool...... Great place to stay with your lover, no question ....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delano South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.