We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slickest, hippest place I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Delano South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #42 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slickest, hippest place I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Staff is great about helping you. Lee Greenspan is the best manager I have ever met. Our room was late in being ready so he let us occupy a cabana out by the pool. What a thrill that was.... The pool area day and night is awesome.... Big scene , totally Miami Cool...... Great place to stay with your lover, no question ....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    278
    128
    86
    77
See reviews for
113
480
65
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mykonos
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Great, modern, spectacular entrance, very friendly personnel, complimentary wifi at 704 ocean view room we had, medium sized room, big bed, nicely decorated, great bar and amenities, iPhone dock, great pool, very nice music, nbadly soundproofed room.. I was listening the guys from above .. Very annoying .. Overpriced I think ... Over and out

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello ,

Thank you for the great review. I do apologize that noise from nearby rooms was disturbing. In the future, please feel free to reach out to the front desk if you have any concerns at all. We are happy to adjust your accommodation to effectively solve issues and suit your needs.

Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my first stay at the Delano and it will not be my last! I absolutely loved it and had a wonderful stay. The service was impeccable and everyone was very friendly and helpful. It's beautifully located within walking distance to Lincoln Road and all the shops and restaurants. The access to the private beach is a highlight. Very private and again overall great service. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.
My only complaint would be that the cabs outside the hotel entrance are very noisy so I don't advise a city view room. But the front desk brought up some ear plugs and it resolved the problem.
Very clean and comfortable. Great style. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: avoid the city view rooms only because the taxis outside honk nonstop at the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. You touched on several points and highlights from your stay. One that you repeated was service. Our standard for guest service is high and it is the cornerstone of Delano pride.
We are centrally located and have convenient beach access as well as a beautiful property to boast proudly.. but all of this only provides a beautiful and convenient backdrop to deliver on the excellent service that you experienced.

Thank you for your review.. we'll look forward to seeing you agin soon!

Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've been a regular guest at Delano, South Beach for four years now, and not sure how they have managed to improve on 'perfection' each time I return, but they do. There is nothing that compares to beautiful, iconic Delano, and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Miami.
From the moment you arrive, between the beautiful property and the amazing customer service, you are transformed into a unique sanctuary that can be used for total relaxation, rest and pure indulgence OR for a sort of celebratory atmosphere with opportunity for lots of socializing or dancing if you please . Really, there is no need to leave this gorgeous property......it is a self -contained hotel with beautiful South Beach in its backyard, within walking distance of famous Lincoln Road, and other attractions/eateries. When you do first arrive up front, you are greeted by efficient, pleasant staff that are eager to assist in any way where you will check-in at that infamous indoor/outdoor front lobby with its gorgeous versions of the Art Deco period pieces everywhere in some Philip Stark design. Dark floors, huge columns, and artful displays in this interesting area make for a lovely arrival. With the towering sheer white billowy draperies, and many varieties of seating areas for quiet time or for socializing, it instantly set the tone.These eateries and seating /socializing areas, all different but quite harmonious are scattered throughout this enormous lobby that extends itself all the way to the back side of the building where you will find Bianca. It is the main restraunt at Delano and boasts incredible indoor and outdoor seating choices and an even more incredible authentic/organic cuisine. I am an avid 'foodie' , and these are Some of the finest dishes I've had the pleasure of experiencing. Firstly, the signature dish of Truffle Tagliatelle - homemade pasta with a beautiful cream sauce and then the most amazing and generous shaving of fine quality truffles over the top. So Sinfully delicious, I've been known to order it twice a day. Other fresh, impressive, unique favorites are the Petite Filet Mignon, Pasta Pomodoro, Heirloom salad with amazing goat cheese, Burrata with prosciutto , Salmon Carpaccio and a relatively new appetizer called Black Truffle (cheese) Fonduta. Ridiculously delicious !
Now, back to the hotel itself......the rooms are simply divine- fresh, clean and entirely 'white on white' with the finest linens on an extremely comfortable, relaxing bed. The decor is beautifully accented with Carrera marble, a large HD flat screen, lots of beveled edged mirrors and a formal marble bathroom with rainfall shower. Each room has a Bose sound system and an iPad for information or ordering services. Other Amenities include fine bath products by Malin & Goetz , and comfy robes for your use during your stay at the Delano. The AGUA Spa at the penthouse level is of the very finest level I've experienced, with quite a variety of high quality services to indulge in.
What makes everything perfect though, and what keeps bringing me back - is the entire amazing staff.Everyone, it seems, has one goal in mind......to make each guest feel like they are very, very special, and to accommodate any need/request the very best way possible. The world-class customer service at this fine hotel in unparalleled . The staff goes over and above at every single level, and this makes for pleasant experiences that will remain unsurpassed. This quality of care starts at the top with fine management and spreads itself with pride throughout the entire staff.
Special thanks to Lee Greenspan (Guest Relations Manager) and Steven Hiblum (General Manager) who consistently set a lovely tone with the highest quality of guest services and individualized attention that is unmatched and never ceases to amaze me.
Hard-working, talented, enthusiastic leaders have a wonderful tendency toward trending a contagious enthusiastic , customized 'customer- care work ethic' throughout the staff, and this is what I see at Delano with every stay. Other staff members that must be acknowledged for commendable service; Carlos, Stacy, Natalie, Jose and Dwight at front desk. Sam, Cesar and Jean-Claude at front entrance. Aida and Steve, James and Nicolas in AGUA Spa. Rosario, Paulo and Stephanie in Bianca. And at poolside and beach: Diego, Soledad, Lorena, Marco, Mathew, Belkys, Anna, Stephanie, Skip and David
Go stay at Delano and experience what I have discovered. Again, I must say, Delano is an amazing, luxurious icon and will NOT disappoint ! Simply the Best ! DJA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Donna Jean!!

What can I say? You have perfected the art of capitalizing on every offering at Delano. Your warmth and smiles breed reciprocation from the entire team here and we each individually carry a special fondness for you. Thank you for taking so much of your time to recognize those that often go unrecognized. You gracefully and genuinely build morale and point out the indivual value in each of us. It is appreciated. Your energy doesn't leave Delano when you depart and we always look forward to your return.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The majority of our stay went well, but when we went downstairs to have breakfast the issues began. Our waiter (Dannie) was very rude and we could not find him most of the meal. The pool was nice, but the service was also non existant. We would not reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for the genuine but brief feedback. Your review is especially concerning to me. Service is paramount at Delano and Danny has always been very consistent in delivering more than expected to all of our guests. If something more than what you've detailed for us occurred, I would like to know about it. Please feel free to contact me directly at lee.greenspan@mhgc.com. This especially catches my attention because this one experience seems to have tainted your entire experience.
I do not take this lightly and I assure you, Danny doesn't either.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stay here was an experience for us, not what we expected or are used too, that does not mean it was bad just different. Med size boutique hotel, small room even smaller bath rooms, but the best service I have ever experience. The staff from the valets the front desk, housekeeping, room service could not of been better. I am in the service business and have to take my hat off to who ever is training the staff, well done !
Our problem with the Hotel is more of a personal opinion, It has a vibrerent night life a younger single crowd not excatly what my wife and I were looking for, but for that crowd I could the place being great if the rooms and bathroom were a little larger.For us we stayed in the Four Seasons in Palm Beach for about the same price and that is more along our style. For the younger crowd I think this place would be great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been going to the Delano for over 10 years, and I always leave more relaxed than when I left.

When you walk in you are greeted by huge roman columns, and white curtains which really adds to the sheekness of this hotel. The enitre lobby is a wood, with white columns decorating your way to the pool area.

The rooms art deco rooms that are decorted almost exclusively white are the perfect retreat. I love the added touch of the iPad in every room, as well as the BOSE speaker system.

My favorite thing about this hotel is lounging by the pool on any sunny day. The pool service is some of the best in South Beach. Healthy food and amazing drinks. The pool is heated so always worth a dip.

In room dining never disappoints, so go ahead an splurge after those late nights out.

Enjoy my home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Agoda, Splendia, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delano South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.