We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmatched quality- once again, 'Simply the best'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Delano South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #46 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unmatched quality- once again, 'Simply the best'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've been a regular guest at Delano, South Beach for four years now, and not sure how they have managed to improve on 'perfection' each time I return, but they do. There is nothing that compares to beautiful, iconic Delano, and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Miami.
From the moment you arrive, between the beautiful property and the amazing customer service, you are transformed into a unique sanctuary that can be used for total relaxation, rest and pure indulgence OR for a sort of celebratory atmosphere with opportunity for lots of socializing or dancing if you please . Really, there is no need to leave this gorgeous property......it is a self -contained hotel with beautiful South Beach in its backyard, within walking distance of famous Lincoln Road, and other attractions/eateries. When you do first arrive up front, you are greeted by efficient, pleasant staff that are eager to assist in any way where you will check-in at that infamous indoor/outdoor front lobby with its gorgeous versions of the Art Deco period pieces everywhere in some Philip Stark design. Dark floors, huge columns, and artful displays in this interesting area make for a lovely arrival. With the towering sheer white billowy draperies, and many varieties of seating areas for quiet time or for socializing, it instantly set the tone.These eateries and seating /socializing areas, all different but quite harmonious are scattered throughout this enormous lobby that extends itself all the way to the back side of the building where you will find Bianca. It is the main restraunt at Delano and boasts incredible indoor and outdoor seating choices and an even more incredible authentic/organic cuisine. I am an avid 'foodie' , and these are Some of the finest dishes I've had the pleasure of experiencing. Firstly, the signature dish of Truffle Tagliatelle - homemade pasta with a beautiful cream sauce and then the most amazing and generous shaving of fine quality truffles over the top. So Sinfully delicious, I've been known to order it twice a day. Other fresh, impressive, unique favorites are the Petite Filet Mignon, Pasta Pomodoro, Heirloom salad with amazing goat cheese, Burrata with prosciutto , Salmon Carpaccio and a relatively new appetizer called Black Truffle (cheese) Fonduta. Ridiculously delicious !
Now, back to the hotel itself......the rooms are simply divine- fresh, clean and entirely 'white on white' with the finest linens on an extremely comfortable, relaxing bed. The decor is beautifully accented with Carrera marble, a large HD flat screen, lots of beveled edged mirrors and a formal marble bathroom with rainfall shower. Each room has a Bose sound system and an iPad for information or ordering services. Other Amenities include fine bath products by Malin & Goetz , and comfy robes for your use during your stay at the Delano. The AGUA Spa at the penthouse level is of the very finest level I've experienced, with quite a variety of high quality services to indulge in.
What makes everything perfect though, and what keeps bringing me back - is the entire amazing staff.Everyone, it seems, has one goal in mind......to make each guest feel like they are very, very special, and to accommodate any need/request the very best way possible. The world-class customer service at this fine hotel in unparalleled . The staff goes over and above at every single level, and this makes for pleasant experiences that will remain unsurpassed. This quality of care starts at the top with fine management and spreads itself with pride throughout the entire staff.
Special thanks to Lee Greenspan (Guest Relations Manager) and Steven Hiblum (General Manager) who consistently set a lovely tone with the highest quality of guest services and individualized attention that is unmatched and never ceases to amaze me.
Hard-working, talented, enthusiastic leaders have a wonderful tendency toward trending a contagious enthusiastic , customized 'customer- care work ethic' throughout the staff, and this is what I see at Delano with every stay. Other staff members that must be acknowledged for commendable service; Carlos, Stacy, Natalie, Jose and Dwight at front desk. Sam, Cesar and Jean-Claude at front entrance. Aida and Steve, James and Nicolas in AGUA Spa. Rosario, Paulo and Stephanie in Bianca. And at poolside and beach: Diego, Soledad, Lorena, Marco, Mathew, Belkys, Anna, Stephanie, Skip and David
Go stay at Delano and experience what I have discovered. Again, I must say, Delano is an amazing, luxurious icon and will NOT disappoint ! Simply the Best ! DJA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Donna Jean!!

What can I say? You have perfected the art of capitalizing on every offering at Delano. Your warmth and smiles breed reciprocation from the entire team here and we each individually carry a special fondness for you. Thank you for taking so much of your time to recognize those that often go unrecognized. You gracefully and genuinely build morale and point out the indivual value in each of us. It is appreciated. Your energy doesn't leave Delano when you depart and we always look forward to your return.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    312
    146
    94
    80
See reviews for
128
540
70
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The majority of our stay went well, but when we went downstairs to have breakfast the issues began. Our waiter (Dannie) was very rude and we could not find him most of the meal. The pool was nice, but the service was also non existant. We would not reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for the genuine but brief feedback. Your review is especially concerning to me. Service is paramount at Delano and Danny has always been very consistent in delivering more than expected to all of our guests. If something more than what you've detailed for us occurred, I would like to know about it. Please feel free to contact me directly at lee.greenspan@mhgc.com. This especially catches my attention because this one experience seems to have tainted your entire experience.
I do not take this lightly and I assure you, Danny doesn't either.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stay here was an experience for us, not what we expected or are used too, that does not mean it was bad just different. Med size boutique hotel, small room even smaller bath rooms, but the best service I have ever experience. The staff from the valets the front desk, housekeeping, room service could not of been better. I am in the service business and have to take my hat off to who ever is training the staff, well done !
Our problem with the Hotel is more of a personal opinion, It has a vibrerent night life a younger single crowd not excatly what my wife and I were looking for, but for that crowd I could the place being great if the rooms and bathroom were a little larger.For us we stayed in the Four Seasons in Palm Beach for about the same price and that is more along our style. For the younger crowd I think this place would be great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been going to the Delano for over 10 years, and I always leave more relaxed than when I left.

When you walk in you are greeted by huge roman columns, and white curtains which really adds to the sheekness of this hotel. The enitre lobby is a wood, with white columns decorating your way to the pool area.

The rooms art deco rooms that are decorted almost exclusively white are the perfect retreat. I love the added touch of the iPad in every room, as well as the BOSE speaker system.

My favorite thing about this hotel is lounging by the pool on any sunny day. The pool service is some of the best in South Beach. Healthy food and amazing drinks. The pool is heated so always worth a dip.

In room dining never disappoints, so go ahead an splurge after those late nights out.

Enjoy my home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the perfect place for a couple to spend a weekend. The lobby is very nice and modern. The pool and beach are very alive but not overcrowded. We had a pool side villa which was very nice. I was surprised how private our room was. This hotel has beautiful landscaping, that must have taken manny years to perfect which they did. The food is good although its a bit pricy.

Room Tip: high floor for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are small. Bathrooms are smaller. Service does match the price tag, but just not worth the premium.

It is quite an atmosphere they have created at the hotel...like a bleached out Cirque du Soleil set. I'm too boring.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so upgrade if it's in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

if you want to experience Miami at its fullest, and budget is not a constraint, this is the place to stay. The hotel's location is unmatched, you have the beach at the backyard, and you're walking distance to Lincoln Rd, and the South Beach shops, restaurants, and clubs.

My only problem was that the hardwood floors got very cold and they did not have slippers and the bathroom, although chic is not too big. however, it's amazing when you don't even need to leave your hotel for a great meal or night out. This is the place to start every party in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delano South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.