We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again I say, Simply the best !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Delano South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off - Best Rate
Ranked #38 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Once again I say, Simply the best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I am a frequent return guest at Delano, South Beach ever since seeing the raving reviews on the Travel Channel 3 years ago. I used to travel to the Caribbean regularly each year, but now that I have found my sanctuary at Delano, this is the place for me. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Miami. The hotel is absolutely breathtakingly fabulous, from the extraordinary front lobby, with its towering flowing white draperies, and fine decor. (and also multiple various types of social areas and eateries including Umi Sushi to the Rose Bar and of course, the infamous FDR and the Delano Beach Club. ) The new Bianca restraunt, which boasts a lovely menu of fine authentic Italian cuisine is amazing. One must try the Trufflle Tagliatelle, the Salmon Carpaccio, the Petite Filet Mignon, the Heirloom tomatoe salad with goat cheese, and the Burrata with prosciutto
The Delano's accommodations are luxurious, chic and gloriously comfortable with pure white decor accented with Carrera marble and beveled glass. A feeling of decadent, opulent and profoundly appealing aura's exist in every area of this iconic landmark. Consistently, the staff demonstrates the utmost in world class customer care and In maintainance of this exceptional property. They deliver individualized customer service that is most certainly second to none ! The hotel is situated perfectly on South Beach , contains an enormous beautiful infinity pool, and is within easy walking distances to Lincoln road and multiple varieties shops and restraunts. But honestly, you really don't even need to leave the property. It is an entirely self-contained haven of delicious experiences, whether you wish to relax, or socialize and have some real fun. Most importantly, the staff is what makes this place tick.....Lee Greenspan (Guest Experience Manager) and Steven Hiblum (General Manager) along with Nicolas Black are the profoundly talented energies behind this very well managed property. Professional, thorough and yet friendly and interesting, they are amazingly knowledgable in 'all things Delano' and in any South Beach visitors' possible information/needs. The outstanding customer service that these distinguished guys consistently deliver, continues to amaze this well travelled gal. They remember details and preferences that make the guest feel like they are royalty. All this while being naturally personable and fun when appropriate. Other worthy notable staff members are Carlos, Stacy, Jose and Sam up front- efficient , helpful , with good forethought regarding anticipating guests needs. Soledad, Diego and Lorena at poolside and security have an impressive work ethic, and are fun to be around. Alvina in housekeeping goes the extra mile for her guests. Lastly, the fabulous Agua Spa at the penthouse level: Laura, Steven and Aida are the most amazingly talented people I have had the pleasure of working with, in an Impressively upscale spa setting, THE BEST EVER - Wonderful customized care. Come to Delano- learn what I have come to know and love. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Public Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Well DJA...

What can I say? It is always a pleasure having you with us and it is always a treat when the team here gets such positive and detailed recognition. During the busiest times at Delano, we will often overlook the actual impact that we have on our guests every day. Thank you for putting into perspective just how important great service and a smile truly is. Feedback such as yours as well as your positive, friendly attitude make us proud to maintain a world class hotel. In addition to your observations, I must say that I couldn't be more pleased and proud to work with this wonderful group of people.. Truly something every traveler deserves to experience.

Many Thanks... See you soon!

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    410
    171
    113
    94
See reviews for
175
709
91
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The minute you walk into the hotel, you feel you have entered somewhere special. A friend resembled it to stepping into an Alice in Wonderland movie set. Beautiful dark wood flooring, with huge white pillars lining the hotel's corrior from the entrance to the Garden, with oversized mirrors, funky chairs, a bar, and a Japanese restaurant, and a billiard table along the way.

The main restaurant overlooks the garden and pool area, and had consistenly good Italian themed food, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The service howvever was somewhat patchy and awkward, especially at dinner. The entire staff need to be re-trained and stiffened up. A word of praise here is due for Monica from Napoli for her excellent service and courtesy during breakfast.

The highlight is the Pool bar, that is buzzing around the clock, chill out music, and serviced by a very friendly and professional staff. Special Thanks to Bernie for his tips on Gin, and Jeremy for lending us his insecticide before we set off to the Everlglades.

We visited The FDR club twice. The first time on a Saturday was great. Good music, packed with beautiful people, and very friendly staff. Monday night was supposed to be THE time to visit with a Live DJ, and it was awful, owing in large part to the thumping Hip Hop that burst our ears and deadened our senses. Pffffff..

We did have a problem upon checking in. We had booked a beach view room, and upon check in we were told that our room was reserved and will only be available 2 days later. We were downgraded to a city view room and were credited for $150. A bit unprofessional as I have never had that experience anywhere else.

Lastly if you need any help at all with bookings in Miami Beach, you need only check with Willie, who is at the Conceirge desk. He is extremely helpful and knowledgable, always with a ready smile on his face. Avoid the other guy (!).

Overall, if you are going to Miami Beach for a bot of pazzazz and fun, I would definitely recommend Delano.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

i stayed here with a few friends for a girls weekend. I would never come back! room is small and dirty. everything is white, but they don't clean very well so it just looks dirty. there was hair all over our floor, the bathroom is tiny and don't get me started on the pool. it's a tiny little pool and unless you go down at 6am you won't get a chair. I've stayed at the lowe's, fontain blue and mandarin oriental and would never come back here. the only upside to this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at the Delano again this year and found it to be good, with some improvements over last year. The room was clean, housekeeping was better, the staff had a friendlier attitude. This hotel is STILL the center of the Miami social scene with a fantastic pool vibe during the day and at night. I had a poolside bungalow, which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at the Delano for a night and it was disappointing. We reached early in the morning after our cruise, around 10 am. Room was not ready, no problem. We left our luggage and went for a walk along Lincoln Road Mall, had lunch, came back at 2 pm, room was still not ready! Stacey at reception was very nice but kept saying room was guaranteed for 3 pm - I get that, but does that mean no rooms are ready at all by 2 pm?!! When we finally got to the room, it was ok. This stark all white theme is gimmicky and would fly better assuming that all the technological gizmos work, which they do not. The free wi fi is very spotty and kept going off and on, every time I was using my iPad, it would go off. But the worst was the bathroom - they have this wannabe cool shower design where the shower is a walk in. Trouble is, the drainage is not proper and when you take a shower, it floods the bathroom, no kidding! Food is overpriced at Bianca. The only good feature is the location, but this does not overcome the flaws like inefficient housekeeping, faulty wi fi, etc. At this price point, you expect a flawless experience but we got anything but. We are not staying here again and would recommend looking elsewhere. Next time we will stay at the Sagamore or National.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that your stay didn't live up to the expectations that you had for Delano. Our rooms are guaranteed for 3pm, when the hotel isn't extremely busy, of course we will accommodate our guest's needs and provide and earlier check in whenever possible. As far as the room, the standard rooms do have standard bathrooms, however, we do have multiple options for larger rooms, many of which have 2 bathrooms. Several are also equipped with a tub. I apologize for the situation with your WiFi. We have upgraded our system appropriately over time and have had minimal issues with this. We will certainly look into the problem that occurred during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share these items with us, we would love to see you again in the future.

Mnay Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The only really good thing about the Delano is the pool. I wonder if there's a way to just rent on of the cabanase instead of actually staying in the hotel? My opinions:

1) If you decide to paint every single surface in your hotel white, you have an obligation to clean/bleach/paint it enough to ensure that every possible stain doesn't show up. Curtains, rugs, floors, walls all had stains and the like so that the pristine white was really just a beat up, overused off white.

2) The hotel really hasn't been well taken care of - some windows were painted shut, knobs missing, mattress not comfortable, painted cement floors (if you get them wet, you will fall down), the ceiling and windows in the workout room were leaking puddles onto the floor, the air conditioners basically had two settings - freezing and humid. This place is old, as most things are in Southbeach, but maintenance is lacking and it really shows.

3) For what this place costs, they should be falling all over themselves helping you and bringing you anything you want. The pool staff and the bar staff near the pool were friendly. Everyone else was just not terribly interested in helping guests.

4) The food is good, but not excellent.

5) The beach is good, but not great.

6) The thing that really annoyed me was the cheapness of the place - why charge $800 per night and then have uninsulated ice buckets with no tops so the ice melts in 10 minutes and there's a puddle all over your desk? Why even have a workout room if half the equipment is not working and there are puddles all over the floor and you have to walk through the garbage area to get there? The bathrooms are so tiny that put unusually small toilets in them so you'd be able to walk into the shower... again, why?

A cool vibe at the pool can only take you so far. I won't stay at the Delano again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms, but ours faced the side street and was a little noisy. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. Delano is famous for a number of reasons, not the least of which is our service. Before I touch on service, I want to assure you that the utmost care and diligence goes into the maintenance and upkeep of our property. You made note of a couple items that will certainly be adrressed. The Delano service standard is our top priority. We pride ourselves on delivering world class service at all venues and departments throughout the hotel. I would like to discuss your experience with you further regarding this aspect, please contact me directly, your insight will certainly be taken seriously. Regarding rooms, we have several categories, the options are open to our guests and detailed decriptions of all room types are on our website.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your observations, looking forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Get the grilled langoustines for an appetizer - really awesome.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#37 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,837 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#48 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,188 reviews
SLS South Beach
#32 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#40 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,377 reviews
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delano South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.