We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wiseguys in Wonderland.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delano South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Delano South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Delano South Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #43 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Wiseguys in Wonderland.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Here's one for you, I recently visited Miami on vacation and stayed at the Delano hotel on south beach. I had always heard how famous a place it was and how celebrities used to flock to it. While my visit there I found something, I guess you could say a bit interesting, well after watching the sopranos tv show, I encountered 2 gentlemen who work there, one is a lot older than the other, but what was particular about this encounter is that they both look like wiseguys from the New York mafia! One of them looks like a younger version of Al Pacino, the other looks like an old school mafia boss! I had the pleasure of meeting the younger one who from what I was told goes only by the name of E, I started trying to figure out what his name might be and thought maybe it's Paulie, and he's just shorting it to the letter E. I don't know, when I asked about the other one, I was told his name is Frank! I have to say, that if these guys were truly wise guys, they could never hide it, cause they already look the part, but I guess why would they want to hide it? I think it's actually cool to have the unique look of looking like a wise guy, even though your not!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    358
    165
    104
    87
See reviews for
151
615
79
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malujerry
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

did not stay, went to the bar downstairs. it was a big nice hotel, good service, good looking people for the most part. but 3 drinks and a diet coke for $90 with no A list celebrities in sight? at least the drinks were not watered down and the diet coke was in a big glass.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I left a review on the Delano website but they did not respond? Found the location great, the room ok although a little tatty in places. No balcony, only one robe, no fruit or little welcome stuff. Music around the pool was intrusive and geared to teenagers, beautiful waitress but no wine knowledge, wine and champagne on menu not available, table for dinner not availailabe, no service offered on beach, we payed $800 per night so were disappointed that we felt disregarded even though we had expressed our concerns during the stay, it's important to give the hotel a chance to correct things rather than moan after. We regularly stay in boutique hotels of this price, would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Public Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for the informative feedback. The concerns that you've detailed for us have been addressed and we will certainly make improvments based on your experience. I apoligize for the service lapses throughout your stay, although uncharacteristic, when these things do occur, Delano management prides itself on follow through and recovery of any given guest's experience should it be necessary. Without a doubt, I personally, as well as my colleagues would be happy to have the chance to deliver to you what a Delano experience has become known for. I'm happy to make myself personally available to you should your travels return you to Miami Beach.

Many Thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Tres chic for the jet set in Miami. It is sexy, glamorous and relaxing. Friday and Saturday night are for lovers with large wallets..but if you have it and want to flaunt it..why not do it here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This pool is the icing on a sexy, chic hotel cake! It is the bomb!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Wow! Short and sweet!! Thank you for the very brief but great review. Looking forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The hotel at Miami Beach is really exotic, different, luxurious and colorful. Especially at night the pool is chic and amazing with parties and during day time very relaxing. The rooms are nice but the bathroom is really small- hardly to fit in. The floor of the room is white like the most places in the hotel, and this shows the dirt. The bed is comfortable, the food at the restaurant is tasty but overpriced. The breakfast is also nice but you have to wait at least 20-30 minutes to be able to get your food. Once they forgot our order and we had to leave wihout having any breakfast after 40 minutes of waiting. The staff seemed professional and friendly but they did not apologize for the unfortune events occured during the stay. Your stay at Delano Hotel may be a luxurious and colorful experience if you have enough money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have just returned home to New Hampshire after yet ANOTHER remarkable stay at Delano, South Beach. It just gets better with each visit, which is difficult to fathom, because it has been top notch since I was first intrigued by the Travel Channel's RAVING review of this property which then prompted me to book a reservation to check it all out . Since then, in late 2009, I have returned about every two months for the last two fall/winter seasons from my native New England and am totally addicted to the whole Delano experience. The recent beautifications are perfectly done in this already glamourous, yet trendy property with a consistent flavor of opulence throughout. The soaring lobby with magnificent billowy, sheer draperies and dark floors , grand decor and multiple comfortable restaunts and relaxing seating areas are breathtaking- far exceeding comparable hotels. The new authentic Italian restraunt 'Bianca' boasts an extremely interesting,organic menu that does wonders for the soul -be sure to try theTruffle Tagliatelle, the Burratta Prociutto and the Heirloom tomatoe salad with goat cheese. The Hotel rooms are spectacular in typical Philip Stark art deco fashion, and the beds are completely luxurious. Gorgeous marble/glass bathrooms top off the mood. Most importantly, the staff at Delano must be recognized....they are highly professional, yet friendly and knowledgeable, and they have a wonderful flair for personalized and exclusive customer service. Some of the most obvious staff members that need to be recognized are Lee Greenspan and Nicholas Black- absolutely outstanding in their natural management skills and in providing amazing, consistent and individualized customer care with guests. Steven Hiblum also wonderful with all he does,as well as Skip in Bar management. Carlos, Stacy, Jose and Sam up front are absolutely outstanding, helpful AND personable. Lorena, Soledad and Diego at the ridiculously fabulous infinity pool continue to amaze me with what they accomplish out there. Mathew out on the pristine beach is attentive and very pleasant. Agua Spa is perfection, with Laura, Aida and Steve exceeding all expectations for me.
The hotel is in a perfect location on the beach, and if you long to leave the property, it is within walking distance to a bustling, eclectic city walks. Honestly, no reason to leave the Delano property, it is all that you need. Cannot wait to get back there ! Simply the best !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee G, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
It is so nice to hear that we have delivered exactly what we strive to accomplish with every Delano guest and visitor. You have obviously and meticulously sought out and basked in every possible indulgence that Delano offers. In keeping with Miami Beach expectations, we try to go over the top in delivering a unique, personalized, ultra modern and chic experience. But more than all of that, we want to provide you a home away from home. We want to add a personal touch and give the genuine and friendly service that hits the heart of what true and well travelled indivuals seek. Thank you for recognizing the individuals that accomplished just that, we take a lot of pride in what we do and it was a pleasure doing it for you.

All The Best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delano South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.