We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   4299 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Greytown, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Smelly!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The one positive thing about this hotel is the proximity to the beach...just out the door and around the back. But this was heavily out weighed by the rest of our experience. The entrance is quite attractive, but the reception service was hardly friendly or welcoming, and there is no on site parking. We parked on the street a couple of blocks away, or there's a parking building across the road - but watch out, there's no multi-entry facility, you leave and the time starts again.
The high rise hotel was served by one elevator, the other having been out of service for around 2 months, due to refurbishment. It was due to be back in service in about a month, then the other one would be taken out for a similar period...this resulted in ridiculously long waits for the elevator which was often full when it finally reached our 5th floor.
On entering our room we were literally overpowered by the smell...a result we think of extreme over use of some sort of high powered cleaning product. We couldn't open the windows (they'd been disabled for our safety) so when in the room, we had to prop the door open with a chair to get some fresh air flowing - it really was awful.
We had 2 double beds, why oh why do hotels insist on doubles these days? But fortunately the bed we used was comfortable. Our room was right opposite the ice machine...not the best spot on a hot day! The clanking stopped at a reasonable time however, so no complaints about the noise.
Showers in the morning were a challenge as the temperature fluctuated regularly, from just right to very hot - obviously reacting to other users.
For $159 per night, this was an 'interesting' experience. In high season it is difficult to arrange accommodation last minute and most is much more expensive, but I won't return to this Days Inn unless radical changes have been made.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRosado5057, General Manager at Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I see you enjoyed our hotel location as well as our beautiful and well pointed lobby. As you well mentioned, our elevators are presently in a modernization stage which shortly everyone will enjoy having a State of the Art brand new elevators. Our outdoor Parking Lot renovation very soon will be completed therefore allowing us to offer self-parking services with unlimited in and out privilege for a nominal fee. I can assure you we are actively pursuing the issue of water temperature variances therefore meet everyone expectations. Hope you contact us next time you plan to visit Miami and give us an opportunity to provide you with all these positive changes we are actively working on.
Kind Regards…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    113
    154
    113
    187
See reviews for
191
155
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taylor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were very dissatified with everything about this hotel. I would advise looking else where! First off, we were suppose to have an early check in because we were coming off a cruise ship early in the morning. Well, needless to say that never happened. Our room never was ready until 4:30 pm ....well, they told us the pool close around 5:30 pm ..... went & put our things in a very dirty, disgusting room .... changed into our bathing suits & the water was freezing. So the pool was out! Only one elavtor was working & that thing was scarey to ride on. I tried to get change for the soda machine .... well that never happened either! The clerk ignore me & some women cut in line in front of me speaking spainish, so the clerk immediatly took care of her. I ended up having to walk to the Best Western a couple buildings away just to get change!! The room was old & very dirty!! Bathroom was gross ..... I was even afraid to use the toilet! Needless to say .... we will NEVER NEVER stay here EVER again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRosado5057, General Manager at Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I’m sorry you had so many things go wrong during your stay with us. We actively read each and every guest comments and learn from it. Hope next time you have to visit Miami perhaps you contact us and give us an opportunity to make it up for you.
Kind Regards…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Awfull service, old room, dirty carpet... Can you image the scene, a hotel customer being arrested in the lobby?
This happened while we were waiting for a taxi... Location is good but won't compensate the rest, try another hotel!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you came to spend time at the beach then this hotel is good enough. Its location is about the only thing thats good. However the location is only good for sunbathing, because you have a good 30-60 min walk to everything from here.


cons;
- the entire hotel and rooms are very outdated, looks like no renovations or updates have ever been made since early 80's
-carpet has begun to come loose and walls are bumby, and corse, probably from all the fixing of holes during the years
-rust and mold in some parts of the room
-old sheets and covers
-no flat screen tv, no fridge
-run down look and feel, feels like a motel
-noises all night every night, seems like there is always some one working here, banging doors, moving heavy stuff in the hallway etc
-thin walls
-one elevator isn't working and the other one is starting to break down, its very very slow and bumpy, basically stairs are the fastest option no matter which floor you are on.
-weird smell in the room, especially in the cupboard/closet
-toiletpaper smells bad (yes weird huh!)

pros:
-spacious room
-fairly cheap for miami beach
-close to the beach, 2-3 mins walk (beach is great)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

PLEASE! STAY AWAY!!! We ended up there at 6pm at night and we were desesperate! I was not expecting much for 69$ a night but i never imagined it would be that dirty. Everything was roten, extremely dirty and stinky. I have never seen something like this. My sister in law had to change room because the sheets were covered with bugs. My walls were moldy and rusty. I can not even describe how bad it was. Even the location was not good. It was the ghetto of miami. This place should be burned down. I cant believe days inn would be associate to this.

Room Tip: Avoid.... Even on low budget, you can find better. If you have to stay there avoid 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Qell, I got a room with a partial ocean viwe for 4 people, and paid like $130 a night. Just 4 minutes from the beach, at Collins Ave with a great and safe neighbourhood. Staff is really nice with you and do the best to solve the problems. Don't check-in too early, as your room may not be available straight ahead and you might need to wait a couple of minutes with tons of luggage. Room is simple: we got a 2 double bed room, which has lots of space, but ia missing a refrigerator. Has a coffee machine and some free snacks waiting on us. Well, I've got to say: if you wanna have fun and not spend too much, here you must stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

You take your chances buying a room on priceline. For $66.00 we were disappointed. This is a faded beauty that has been allowed to decay under the guests feet. The sheets were clean, and the ocean is right in the back yard! Other than that--- this place is pretty dismal. the bed was lumpy. the carpets were foul,the ceiling was stained. The bar downstairs looked like a bad Miami Vice setting- dark and dingy,smoke filled, pool tables, drunks. The parking was an extra$ 25.00. The elavator was on it's last legs.. This place needs to be entirely gutted and redone.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside

Address: 4299 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our little gem on the ocean will surround you with sunny Mediterranean decor and warmth. The Days Inn Oceanside…pristine beach, a soothing and friendly atmosphere with affordable, comfortable accommodations right on the ocean and in the heart of Miami Beach. The beautiful tropical garden and pool overlooks the awe inspiring splendor that is the Atlantic Ocean. History of our Art Deco past as well as the new and trendy essence of South Beach will surround your senses. Close to everything that speaks the exciting language of Miami Beach is here and waiting to welcome you to our tropical paradise... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Miami Beach / Oceanside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.