We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique-hotel with personal service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circa 39 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Circa 39 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Circa 39 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique-hotel with personal service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just back from this medium size amazing boutique-hotel, if you want personal attention, detail oriented staff close enough to the action but far enough from the craziness of the strip this is your place. Just loved everything about the place , clean, cozy , comfy , quiet .

Staff is outstanding , Alejandra at the reception and Matthew, concierges Douglas, Yosvani & all. Had an inner courtyard room on the 3rd floor , quiet and tropical feel. Pool is good and beach access across Collins. Good enough free wifi , close convenience store and shaded terrasse on Collins.

Will go back in November ,
room 322

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    298
    143
    60
    73
See reviews for
72
337
55
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Overall, our stay at the Circa 39 was very nice! The location is quiet with easy beach-access, albeit not central to all the action on South Beach (which could be exactly what you are looking for); the hotel was airy with minimal fuss; the rooms were clean and very cheerful, and the staff, for the most part, was helpful although not always very friendly. The additional (and at times less than obvious) fees made our stay more expensive than we had expected and frustrating to deal with at check-out (hence the 3 stars). If you take the fees into account, this is a great location with nice rooms for an OK price.

Detailed Review - Pros

LOCATION - The hotel is located on Miami Beach with easy access to the beach one block away and the highway if you are driving. There is not much else of interest in the vicinity besides some strip malls on Arthur Godfrey Road, so head down to South Beach for shops, bars, and restaurants, which are accessible on foot (maybe a 20 to 30 min walk), bus and car/taxi. This makes for a quiet location, but not a very interesting one in the evenings.

HOTEL -- First off, the signage over the hotel entrance reads "Copley Square" not Circa 39, but it's right on the corner of Collins and 39th Avenue. The hotel has a minimal look - breezy, no fuss - this is a simple boutique hotel without lots of extras. There is a small pool and a patio area in the front as well as some seating in the lobby and a small restaurant/bistro off the lobby. All very pleasant. Breakfast is available for $13 and lunches and dinner are not too large, priced comparable to most hotels, and the taste good/above average.

ROOMS -- Rooms have been renovated recently. They are small, but clean, very cheerful (different compared to chain hotels, which is nice). Beds were comfortable, bathroom was well stocked with Aveda products and shower pressure was very good. A small safe is available, iron board and coffee maker too. We had a double room facing a wall -- not very exciting -- but there was some decent light in the morning and during the day. The AC unit was a little noisy.

STAFF -- Staff are helpful, the night staff person in particular (and I have forgotten her name, but she was very helpful and kind).

Detailed Review - Cons

FEES - Although the hotel does list the fees on their website, they are not clearly noted at the time of booking. In addition to your daily room rate and taxes, you will also be charged a fee of $9.95 for access to wifi and beach towels (regardless if you use beach towels or not). Self- parking is $24/day (unlocked, surface lot across the street) which is expensive compared to public lots in the area ($15/day) or if you can find free street parking (be careful of the hours, its not free all day). The one thing I found most irritating -- and this was true in other parts of Miami -- was that a 20% TIP ADDED TO YOUR BILL AUTOMATICALLY; you are then taxed on the total amount (the food bill + tip) but are still prompted to tip when it comes time to sign the bill. We did not realize that at first, and ended up paying 40% tip for a few days. No one on the staff said anything and when we brought it up with the front desk, the restaurant staff who was called over said that they remembered us and wondered why we had paid so much (!) -- of course, they did not say anything at the time, when we were paying so much. Consequently, we had all the additional tips removed from our bill. When we took two small coffees to go from the restaurant in the morning, we were charged nearly $8 and assessed a 20%. This is where staying in a business hotel, or one that charges more upfront comes in handy -- charging customers that much for two small coffees is kind of crazy. The overall lack of transparency regarding fees was very frustrating.

HOTEL -- This is a great little boutique hotel for travelers, but not set-up for business. They do not advertise themselves as such, but I mention it because it turned out to be a a little frustrating to not have access to business-like facilities. Nonetheless, the staff was accommodating of our needs, which was greatly appreciated.

Overall, I would stay here again and recommend if traveling for pleasure, but would will likely look elsewhere when I return on business.

Room Tip: I believe that rooms with King beds face the pool/street as double rooms that face the wall of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed in thus hotel for 6 nights. Staff very helpful with all sorts of tourist info. Beach across the road 4 mins away. Towels supplied for beach by hotel. Small pool in hotel. Sunbeds can be occupied very quickly. Bedroom size big. We had room in annex which was quite. T.V played up and when we told reception this was seen to immediately. Small restaurant in hotel which is open till 10pm. Gd Italian rest across road. Buses 3 mins away which will take you to shopping outlets or downtown for $2. Taxi to airport approx $30 to $40 depending on traffic. Would def stay in this hotel again. Wonderful time there thanks to staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hum where to start! This hotel is a hidden gem for sure....from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. The staff is very attentive, friendly, welcoming and hard workers making your stay very pleasurable. My room had a very comfortable pillow top mattress and heavenly pillows to sleep on. The colors and furniture were very up beat and modern! Beautiful pool and courtyard to relax in. Right across the street from the beach and bus line! If you looking for a fabulous place to stay book the Circa 39! I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I had a great stay here. Location was great, bus nearby and beach across the street to take a dip in the ocean. Awesome pool that was not crowded. Charming room. Nice little market next door to get morning fresh OJ, quick breakfast and some essentials before a quick taxi ride to the cruise terminal. But the best part was the staff; couldnt be nicer. Kudos to Jeremy the concierge, was so very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Good location. Clean. Very friendly staff although they often had trouble answering even basic questions clearly (such as "How do we get to the hotel parking lot?" Room was about $20 cheaper per night than others in the area until they started in with add-ons such as an $11/day towel rental fee. This fee was assessed whether you took the towels or not. We were told it was mandatory. Since it rained we didn't go to the beach and found this fee pretty irritating. Other oddities such as only been given washcloths one day out of the three that we were there. I wouldn't go out of my way to avoid the place in the future but wouldn't seek to go back there either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear araisfeld,
We do not charge a towel rental fee. I am afraid this review belongs to another property. Next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, it will be our please to welcome you to Circa 39 Hotel located on 3900 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach. Please contact me directly alma@circa39.com so I may handle the details of your reservation.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a great boutique hotel with direct access to the beach. Used the 150 airport south beach flyer bus to and from the hotel - bus stop is fairly close. My 8a arrival caused no trouble at all - my room was ready for early check-in. On the day of my departure I was able to receive a late check out as well - made me feel very fortunate.

The hotel itself is newly remodeled, modern light and bright colors with a zen touch will make you feel right at home. The room was decently sized, very clean and very quiet, as it was adjacent to the courtyard. The courtyard itself was projecting a certain sense of serenity - tastefully arranged furniture, swings, seating arrangements looked very inviting (I did not take advantage of such). The pool area was nicely furnished as well - cabana areas with plenty of pillows for those who like to enjoy a good evening read under the stars, such as myself. At check-in I received a voucher for a free welcome drink at the bar - nice gesture I thought. Beach towels can be picked up and dropped off at the front desk- free of charge. The beach is right across the street. Chairs are free of charge - only charge $10 for a beach umbrella. Loved swimming in the ocean - water was warm, a little choppy which gave me a great challenge for my swim which took me past the Fountainbleu - always opted to walk back on the beach as it was close to impossible to swim against the current. My breakfast was included - small simple buffet: eggs, breakfast meat, potatoes, cereal, muesli, fruit salad, breakfast pastries with jam and butter, coffee, orange juice. Staff was very friendly. They did have an apprentice, that did make some mistakes with my orders, but I was on vacation, so it did not bother me at all - everyone started ones - right....
Getting around was easy - took taxis and deco bike (rental location was just right around the block).
Overall I had a fantastic stay - will definitely go back to this hotel - everyone was fantastic.i booked my trip on American Airlines Travel - received an amazing rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for being our recent guest and for taking the time to share with us your Circa experience. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding your stay, our newly remodeled rooms but specially our friendly staff. Thank you for your patience and understanding with our apprentice and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circa 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa 39 Hotel

Address: 3900 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Circa 39 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy good vibes, eclectic style, and positive energy at Circa 39 Hotel Miami Beach. Our employees are dedicated to providing a cozy, laid-back retreat for savvy travelers who are looking for smart, affordable vacation options. A home away from home for family and friends, a convenient place to gather, or a quiet escape from the every day.Located just across the street from Miami’s platinum-sand beaches and lucent-blue waters, you’ll enjoy the tranquility of our neighborhood as well as the originality of our décor. Recently updated, all guestrooms are fresh and comfortable embracing the hotel’s beach location featuring hues of crisp white and soothing sea-blue with views of the pool, courtyard or city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Circa 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Circa 39
Circa 39 Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circa 39 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.