We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Beach Tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circa 39 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Circa 39 Hotel to your Saves list
Circa 39 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Website Special From $114
Ranked #60 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Nice, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mid Beach Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were visiting Miami for the first time and wished to explore Miami Beach for a few days even though we were already staying with friends in Doral. This hotel had mostly good reviews. Compared with South Beach, prices are lower but there are are less restaurants and bars in the vicinity. We liked the rather minimalist design. The room was very clean, the bathroom nicely designed. The AC was rather noisy, There was a problem with the ceiling fan/light that went on randomly. The hotel took care of this rapidly. The staff was friendly. Their own brasserie served decent meals for lunch and dinner although the menu was limited to just a few options. The breakfast was served in the same room, on some busy mornings there seemed to be too little tables. The breakfast served was satisfactory but cost us $ 9.95/pp.
If you don't mind the distance to Lincoln Rd, the Art Deco District etc the hotel can be warmly recommended for the budged minded traveler.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for not only being our recent guest but also for taking the time to share your Circa experience with us! We appreciate your kind words in regards to our property and I am glad that the issue with the ceiling fan was rapidly resolved. Thank you again for providing this feedback, it allows us to evaluate and ensure a pleasant stay for our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to our beautiful city.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    329
    147
    60
    75
See reviews for
80
374
61
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is modern, clean and very near the beach. The rooms have a pleasing decor with a fresh no fuss interior with good security. One thing that was dissapointing is the breakfast. The hotel offers a hot/ cold buffet but this was very limited and when we went there was even less then normal as it had not been restocked. Unfortunately it really was not that appealing anyway so had some toast and made a swift exit. If your not fussed about a quality breakfast that is usually charged at ($10 to non guests) I would say this is a good choice of hotel. It's a bit of a walk to the busier part of south beach but a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Circa 39 Hotel. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our rooms. Complete guest satisfaction is paramount to us and we are truly disappointed that breakfast fell short of your expectations. I would love the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you in detail, if you would kindly email me at alma@circa39.com I look forward to hearing from you and to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you back to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Can take 150 bus "Airport Flyer" for about $2 from the airport to the front door rather than an expensive cab ride.
Walk the boardwalk 1/2 block away or sit at the cute little pool sheltered from the street. Staff are very accommodating and serve you at the pool, as well as in your room.
WiFi connection only so-so in the room, but perfect at the pool or in lobby and free.
It's art deco, but the renovations make it clean and modern. Great combinatioin

Room Tip: Rooms on corner have great view and are very bright. Even though faced busy Collins Ave. our room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our pool, our clean and modern rooms and found our staff to be accommodating. Thank you for your feedback and we are looking into the in-room WiFi connectivity. We look forward to welcoming you back to Circa 39!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

There's nothing exceptional about this small hotel, although the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Just a short walk to the beach, and the boardwalk taking you into South Beach. A useful taxi rank across the street.

No need to use the $24 per night hotel car park if there are spaces in the same street for $10 per day

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our helpful and friendly staff and hope the next time your travels bring you back to Miami Beach to welcome you again to Circa 39.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for something a little different; not one of the big chain hotels but somewhere that was clean and had a bit of character... Set one block back from the beach, the hotel is close to where you need to be but in a quiet-enough area so that you can get some sleep.

The hotel car park isn't particularly well signed and costs an extra $25/day. Check in was quick and easy although the man on the desk was a little ambivalent and not particularly welcoming. The entrance/lounge/bar is quirky and interesting with art deco style decor. Our room itself was large enough, clean, comfortable, modern and well-equipped.

We never made it as far as the beach but the pool was fine although there were only half a dozen or sunbeds around it.

The bartender/waitress called Isis was welcoming, knowledgeable and charming though seemed to be rushed off her feet and working on her own. The cocktails she made us were delicious and the happy hour prices were very welcome.

The food on the very limited bistro menu was disappointing however; my chicken in red wine sauce was very dry, didn't have any sauce and was accompanied by rice rather than chips as I had specified... Although dinner wasn't particularly good it was a lot better than the breakfast the following morning. For $9.95 (plus tax and automatic gratuity of course) there was a very limited selection of cereal, toast and fruit salad. The bacon and eggs were warm at best and appeared to have been standing out for some time. I felt this was unfortunate as the food at Circa 39 let down what is otherwise a very good hotel...

I would stay again next time I'm in Miami beach but would probably eat elsewhere!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Circa 39 Hotel and for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our property, our modern, nice, clean rooms and specially our welcoming, knowledgeable, and charming bartending staff. However, I am truly disappointed to read thru your comments regarding your dining experience at our Bistro and have shared your feedback with the Manager for immediate action. I would love the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you in detail, if you would like to contact me at alma@circa39.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

And a great place to stay if you're a Soho House member - it's only a 4-5 minute walk to the Club, so you can use all the facilities and not pay $$$ for a room.

The pros:
-1 block in from the beach
-recently renovated, all the rooms are basic but modern and bathroom is especially well outfitted, with soft towels and Aveda products
-beds are softer than firm, but comfortable
-a cafe/convenient store is right next door
-staff were friendly

The cons:
-security is pretty lax: we came home late a couple of times and the person on duty didn't even come out to check us out (maybe they saw us on cameras beforehand)
-the splash of electric lime green is a bit of an eyesore (from the bathroom tile to the blankets)
-it's not the quietest - our upstairs neighbor was pacing around all night and we could hear every footstep (but the A/C, which was pretty noisy, did help provide some white noise)
-the water pressure in the shower could be stronger

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share with us your Circa 39 experience! I believe that the only way to improve one’s service and style is to listen to what our guests are saying and try to constantly improve; your input has truly proven an asset in this endeavor. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our friendly staff. When your travels bring you back to our city, we would be very pleased to welcome you again to Circa 39!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSM
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Really friendly staff, comfortable quiet hotel close to each with loungers
Perfect for conferences held at Fontainblue. Opposite is bicycle hire to take you to south beach-10 min ride or 30-35 minute walk. Felt safe to walk around. Only downside was unheated pool - that was cold in
March
Overall expensive but that's Miami! So it is good value

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
What a pleasure to have had you as our guest and much appreciation for your kind words to our friendly and dedicated staff who helped make your stay truly enjoyable. Thank you again for your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Circa 39 when your travels bring you to Miami.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circa 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa 39 Hotel

Address: 3900 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Circa 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy good vibes, eclectic style, and positive energy at Circa 39 Hotel Miami Beach. Our employees are dedicated to providing a cozy, laid-back retreat for savvy travelers who are looking for smart, affordable vacation options. A home away from home for family and friends, a convenient place to gather, or a quiet escape from the every day.Located just across the street from Miami’s platinum-sand beaches and lucent-blue waters, you’ll enjoy the tranquility of our neighborhood as well as the originality of our décor. Recently updated, all guestrooms are fresh and comfortable embracing the hotel’s beach location featuring hues of crisp white and soothing sea-blue with views of the pool, courtyard or city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Circa 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Circa 39
Circa 39 Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circa 39 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.