We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect mid-priced stay in Mid Beach (@200/night during Ultra)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circa 39 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Circa 39 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Circa 39 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
NY, NY, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The perfect mid-priced stay in Mid Beach (@200/night during Ultra)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

And a great place to stay if you're a Soho House member - it's only a 4-5 minute walk to the Club, so you can use all the facilities and not pay $$$ for a room.

The pros:
-1 block in from the beach
-recently renovated, all the rooms are basic but modern and bathroom is especially well outfitted, with soft towels and Aveda products
-beds are softer than firm, but comfortable
-a cafe/convenient store is right next door
-staff were friendly

The cons:
-security is pretty lax: we came home late a couple of times and the person on duty didn't even come out to check us out (maybe they saw us on cameras beforehand)
-the splash of electric lime green is a bit of an eyesore (from the bathroom tile to the blankets)
-it's not the quietest - our upstairs neighbor was pacing around all night and we could hear every footstep (but the A/C, which was pretty noisy, did help provide some white noise)
-the water pressure in the shower could be stronger

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share with us your Circa 39 experience! I believe that the only way to improve one’s service and style is to listen to what our guests are saying and try to constantly improve; your input has truly proven an asset in this endeavor. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our friendly staff. When your travels bring you back to our city, we would be very pleased to welcome you again to Circa 39!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    299
    143
    60
    73
See reviews for
73
337
55
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OSM
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Really friendly staff, comfortable quiet hotel close to each with loungers
Perfect for conferences held at Fontainblue. Opposite is bicycle hire to take you to south beach-10 min ride or 30-35 minute walk. Felt safe to walk around. Only downside was unheated pool - that was cold in
March
Overall expensive but that's Miami! So it is good value

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
What a pleasure to have had you as our guest and much appreciation for your kind words to our friendly and dedicated staff who helped make your stay truly enjoyable. Thank you again for your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Circa 39 when your travels bring you to Miami.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

An average small hotel situated in Collins Ave, well connected by public transport and taxis can be hailed easily. Just across the beach and hotel has a pool which could be kept cleaner. Breakfast is not a continental one and rather expensive. Rooms are nice and fresh but no luxuries.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for not only choosing to stay at Circa 39 Hotel but also for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments in regards to our nice and fresh rooms and thank you for the feedback, it allows us to evaluate service and standards for our guests and ensure a pleasant stay. When your travels bring you to Miami, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Circa!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Since I travel a lot for business, I like to feel at home in a place where I am staying. This is the perfect hotel for that. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable.Every time I travel to Miami, it is my hotel of choice. They even accommodate me with my favorite room. Thank you Jorge and staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
What an absolute pleasure it was to have you back as one of our loyal and repeat Circa 39 guest! I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. Thank you for mentioning Jorge and staff; he will be recognized in our next employee luncheon. We are tremendously proud to be your home away from home and look forward to welcoming you back time and time again!
With warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about the staff & the hotel. Beautiful room, pool, lobby, patio; helpful, knowledgable, warm & personable staff. Entire stay was an absolute delight! Already planning my next stay there, & more after that.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you not only for choosing to stay with us but also for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. I am delighted to read the wonderful comments that you have posted and look forward to welcoming you back to Circa 39 time and time again!
With warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossian, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Circa39 is indeed a throwback to the days of south Florida/Cuba memories. We stayed there as a bridge between Fort Lauderdale and Key West. The staff was remarkable, professional and so kind and caring. We arrived early but they were able to accommodate our request for a king bed. The front desk girl even took us up to the room to get our approval before we accepted it! The walk to the beach was short and the free use of beach lounge chairs was a nice amenity. Their pool area (we never used it) was clean and small but had a quiet ambience about it, very appealing. Everything was clean, polished and fresh. The only thing not available was the presence of a reasonably-priced meal as the dining room was rather expensive. All in all, this was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide a guest perspective of your most recent stay. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found Circa 39 always clean, polish and fresh with kind, professional and caring staff. Your feedback is very rewarding. If you don’t mind could you please email me (alma@thepalmshotel.com) your last name and dates of stay? We would love to recognize the front desk agent who kindly showed you the room for your approval.
We hope that next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Circa 39 Hotel!
With warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights for the AAD conference. Friendly employees, the concierge was quite helpful educating me as to transportation options. Being located at 39th, it is a long walk to South Beach, so you're either taking a bus, taxi, or bike rental. Room was clean, bathroom very small, we were in 127 with a nice view of the pool area. Nice bar and nice pool area. We had lunch at the restaurant, high end cafe quality. Per other reviewers, we skipped the $9.95 breakfast buffet, nothing special based on my visual assessment. For breakfast, I highly recommend the Primo Market next door. They do an awesome egg/bacon/cheese bagel, and nice cuban coffee. Easy walk to the beach (though they had record cold temps during our stay), with free use of the Bluefin beach chair service, though if you want an umbrella, its $10, and they want cash. Here are some minor improvement opportunities: maid service occurred between 4-5pm, and I called the front desk on it twice. I was told that's how they do it, last priority to those staying on, vs rooms checking out. Not a huge deal, but would prefer my room made up in the morning. Our iron was cracked and leaked water all over one of my sweaters, and the floor when I tried to use it. I wrapped it in a towel and was able to "Macgyver" it. I told the front desk we needed a replacement iron, upon returning 6 hours later, it had not been done. When our maid came by, around 4:30 pm, she took care of it. They could use a coffee set up in the morning. We departed between 6 and 8am, there was nothing! This next one is a "good news/bad news". Kudos that they offer complimentary wireless internet!! Unfortunately, it is painstakingly sloooowwww (less than 1Mb/s download speed, ala "dial-up). We tried to stream a movie, it would run for 20 sec, stop for 5-10 seconds. They need to fix that. All in all, good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at Circa 39 Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Circa 39 Hotel and for providing such detailed guest perspective of your most recent stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate the positive comments regarding our friendly and helpful employees and nice grounds. I believe that the only way to improve one’s service and style is to truly listen to what our guests are saying and try to constantly improve; your input has truly proven an asset in this endeavor. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
With warm regards,
Alma Cue
Circa 39 Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circa 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa 39 Hotel

Address: 3900 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Circa 39 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy good vibes, eclectic style, and positive energy at Circa 39 Hotel Miami Beach. Our employees are dedicated to providing a cozy, laid-back retreat for savvy travelers who are looking for smart, affordable vacation options. A home away from home for family and friends, a convenient place to gather, or a quiet escape from the every day.Located just across the street from Miami’s platinum-sand beaches and lucent-blue waters, you’ll enjoy the tranquility of our neighborhood as well as the originality of our décor. Recently updated, all guestrooms are fresh and comfortable embracing the hotel’s beach location featuring hues of crisp white and soothing sea-blue with views of the pool, courtyard or city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Circa 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Circa 39
Circa 39 Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circa 39 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.