We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not For Everyone But We Liked It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
orlando
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not For Everyone But We Liked It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I met friends for one night and was pleasantly surprised at this hotel with an old Florida feeling. It's quirky, lively, smallish, not the average American hotel. The price was just over $100 for the night for a location right on South Beach! The room had beautiful dark flooring and fully tiled bathroom, very clean but older. You may have to wait a few minutes for the desk staff but they were very helpful. We used the valet parking service $25/day. The lobby is small, I don't believe the restaurant or bar are run by the hotel. My room was quiet enough though I heard someone singing "Happy Birthday" around 2am. You are right on the South Beach so that party atmosphere is likely to be heard. If you want a real feel for the art deco/South Beach vibe this is a great choice.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room not near the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
travelmom26, you are a dream! Thank you so much for this amazing review! I am so glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and can’t wait for the opportunity to do it all again. We truly appreciate the insanely kind words and hope to see you back here soon!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    211
    188
    97
    125
See reviews for
106
280
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was in south beach with my friends and stayed at the colony hotel... It was an amazing experience... The hotel was clean,the beach was across the street, I was in the middle of the nightlife and the staff was great especially the guy who worked at night ,Rafael, he was such a great help... I would definitely go back and also definitely recommend people to do the same... Best hotel and staff ever and I travel A LOT !!!

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
This review is fabulous, Teuta J! We really appreciate your taking the time to write and highlight our attentive team as a high point of your stay – especially our wonderful Rafael. We are so fortunate to have team members like him who genuinely care about each and every guest. SO glad you felt the love! Thank you so much and we can’t wait to see you for your next getaway!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Four friends stayed at the hotel in June 2015.

We arrived early evening and had to negotiate the crowds outside with heavy bags to get into the hotel, which was a bit intimidating.

Before long we were in our nice cool air conditioned rooms. The rooms were beautiful, spacious, clean and well equipped.

The room safe is free which was great. However we could not get wifi in the rooms, only in reception which was a bit of a pain.

The location was great, in the centre of south Beach, but could be a little hectic. It was difficult to walk up or down the street, especially when you get stopped at every bar by over eager employees.

Once you got used to it, that was fine. Plus with the Columbus bay right out side the Colony doing 2-4-1 cocktails with a free shot, wet didn't have to go far anyway.

One of the reasons we picked the Colony was the advertised free VIP tickets to bars and clubs for residents. We never received any tickets or VIP access to anywhere.

All in all it was great to stay in an iconic Miami building, but maybe a bit busy and hectic for anyone looking for a chilled break!

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Good Evening NeilGDoherty,

Our guests feedback means the world to us, and we thank you for sharing yours!! It's lovely to read about the positive time you had here at Colony Hotel! The location of our property is prime, as we are located in the heart of all the action. I am terribly sorry that you were not given the club passes. If we were aware of this we would have handed them over right away!!! We wish to have you stay with us again!!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived to find nobody in reception, waited 10 minutes to find we were too early for check in so was told to just leave our bags in the reception, along with the 20 or so other suitcases clogging up the area.
Finally got our room which seemed ok until we realized there was nowhere to hang our clothes, no wardrobe at all. We asked if we could move room but we had to wait until the next day. Moved to our new room which was better but the A/C unit was a disaster. It was rattling like crazy and leaking water over the floor. When I tried to move the cover it just came off in my hand. Luckily it wasnt that hot at night so turned it off. We also couldnt get wifi in this room unless you went to the other end of the corridor by the elevator. Also the safe wasnt working so had to get someone to fix that.
Thankfully we were at the back of the hotel so it was quieter, the front had a lot of noise from the bar at the front. I say quieter because on the last night of our stay it sounded like we had a basketball team above us that seemed to have their own little party going a 3am and then someone decided to start jet washing outside at 6.30am.

The good is that its a great location for south beach. It was the first time to Miami so it was nice to be where the action was. Have to say though the beach albeit nice, was full of some pretty strange people. From having gazebos and playing hip hop music to people walking with big cameras and socks and sandals taking photos of the people on the beach. We found a quiet spot away from the crowds only for 3 African american women to come and sit next to me and my wife with about a foot of space, when there was no one else nearby and then they started playing hip hop on their phones and raping to it. So we got up and left, all very strange.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawatha, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights before our cruise. The room was great and the staff at the bar was even better. We hung out here a lot and enjoyed it a lot. Highly recommend this hotel right in the center of the action!! Great time!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2015
Dear Ashbaymom,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review! It sounds like you had a great time here with us at Colony Hotel! We hope to have you and your husband back to stay with us again!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Attractive on the outside; simple on the inside. One problem was the poorly functioning AC unit. We did tell the front desk person about it so they could repair for the next customer but that wasn't our major complaint. We were on a quick Holiday with a tightly packed schedule. We were up at 6:30 am for an 8am departure to make a morning boat excursion. It didn't happen. At 7am, the water was shut off and one of us was half through with teeth brushing and no one had a shower yet. A call to the front desk and we were told the water would be off until 8am. At 8am, still no water and another call and were told now would be off until 9am. So by the time water was back on, we weren't able to leave until close to 10:30am and morning plans were no longer possible. We came to find out, this was a planned water shut off. They could have told us about it when we checked in the previous day but didn't. When we'd had enough and said we would like a refund, the front desk person twice said he'd inform the manager but no manager made any attempt to reach out to us while at the hotel that morning. They offered nothing for the inconvenience; not even a simple gesture like bottled water to brush teeth with. So, with no satisfaction at the hotel, we reached out to Priceline where our reservation was made. They were able to obtain a refund but not without a dishonest response from Carrie Lage, apparently the general manager of The Colony. She told Priceline we were told of the water shut off at check in which is absurd since the lack of that information is what led to all the difficulties. The manager wasn't there at that time as well as apparently being AWOL the morning of the problem. It's a small hotel and why wasn't she on site taking care of customers? No, south beach has a lot to offer but the Colony Hotel does not. Would not return to a place so poorly managed.

Room Tip: best to seek a different hotel for a nice stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2015
Good Afternoon TravelLar11,

We take our guests feedback very serious! We thank you for sharing yours with us! We are extremely sorry for the less then enjoyable time that you had with us here at Colony Hotel! Unfortunately due to a busted pipe the night before, the water needed to be off for the maintenance team to fix this issue. We informed all of the guests that the water would be off from 6AM-9AM. We strive to provide outstanding service to every guest. I am sorry that you did not feel that is what you were given! We would love for you to give us another chance! I would love to personally handle your reservation and make sure that your time spent with us is an all-out success!!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

Rooms are like old school but modern look with hardwood floors..Bartender was amazing but a mix drink was less than a shot of southern comfort..Front desk gentleman was helpful..Close to everything no pool best if you just want a place to sleep..I didn't eat at their restaurant so not sure how the food was. Across the street from the beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2015
We truly value our guests honest feedback Lena0503! Colony Hotel is in the heart of South Beach. We are across the street from the beautiful Miami Beach! We hope for you to stay with us when you come back to Miami!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.