We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Colony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Hiawatha, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time at the Colony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights before our cruise. The room was great and the staff at the bar was even better. We hung out here a lot and enjoyed it a lot. Highly recommend this hotel right in the center of the action!! Great time!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ashbaymom,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review! It sounds like you had a great time here with us at Colony Hotel! We hope to have you and your husband back to stay with us again!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    210
    187
    95
    125
See reviews for
104
277
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attractive on the outside; simple on the inside. One problem was the poorly functioning AC unit. We did tell the front desk person about it so they could repair for the next customer but that wasn't our major complaint. We were on a quick Holiday with a tightly packed schedule. We were up at 6:30 am for an 8am departure to make a morning boat excursion. It didn't happen. At 7am, the water was shut off and one of us was half through with teeth brushing and no one had a shower yet. A call to the front desk and we were told the water would be off until 8am. At 8am, still no water and another call and were told now would be off until 9am. So by the time water was back on, we weren't able to leave until close to 10:30am and morning plans were no longer possible. We came to find out, this was a planned water shut off. They could have told us about it when we checked in the previous day but didn't. When we'd had enough and said we would like a refund, the front desk person twice said he'd inform the manager but no manager made any attempt to reach out to us while at the hotel that morning. They offered nothing for the inconvenience; not even a simple gesture like bottled water to brush teeth with. So, with no satisfaction at the hotel, we reached out to Priceline where our reservation was made. They were able to obtain a refund but not without a dishonest response from Carrie Lage, apparently the general manager of The Colony. She told Priceline we were told of the water shut off at check in which is absurd since the lack of that information is what led to all the difficulties. The manager wasn't there at that time as well as apparently being AWOL the morning of the problem. It's a small hotel and why wasn't she on site taking care of customers? No, south beach has a lot to offer but the Colony Hotel does not. Would not return to a place so poorly managed.

Room Tip: best to seek a different hotel for a nice stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good Afternoon TravelLar11,

We take our guests feedback very serious! We thank you for sharing yours with us! We are extremely sorry for the less then enjoyable time that you had with us here at Colony Hotel! Unfortunately due to a busted pipe the night before, the water needed to be off for the maintenance team to fix this issue. We informed all of the guests that the water would be off from 6AM-9AM. We strive to provide outstanding service to every guest. I am sorry that you did not feel that is what you were given! We would love for you to give us another chance! I would love to personally handle your reservation and make sure that your time spent with us is an all-out success!!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are like old school but modern look with hardwood floors..Bartender was amazing but a mix drink was less than a shot of southern comfort..Front desk gentleman was helpful..Close to everything no pool best if you just want a place to sleep..I didn't eat at their restaurant so not sure how the food was. Across the street from the beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We truly value our guests honest feedback Lena0503! Colony Hotel is in the heart of South Beach. We are across the street from the beautiful Miami Beach! We hope for you to stay with us when you come back to Miami!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in the middle of ocean drive.
To get to the hotel you need to walk through the Colombus restaurant.
The hotel is fairly old, but the rooms are in good condition.
The hotel has free wifi, which we couldn't access from our room.
The safe in our room was locked, we spoke to front desk, who sent someone, but they couldn't fix it, which was frustrating.
Overall good location, nice enough hotel, but probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Holidaygirl7779,

Thank you for staying with us here at Colony Hotel, it was a delight having you as our guest. Your comments are welcomed and appreciated. I’m very pleased to read you had such a nice stay with us and the location was to your liking. We hope to see you soon!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived 10 mins before designated check in and had to wait for the room to be ready
Fantastic location right in the middle of Ocean Drive seconds from the beach
View wasn't brilliant, not even good but it was for one night before our cruise
Rooms were clean and comfortable, the hotel is a bit dated but was a good base for the night
Would I stay here again? Yes

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Kelly B,

We appreciate the time you took to share your honest feedback! We are delighted to read that you had such a great time with us! The location of our property is prime. We are located right on Ocean Drive, where it's popping! Come back soon! We'd love to have you!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right in the heart of sobe, great if you like the hustle & bustle of Miami. We had a lovely room overlooking the beach. Downside was the restaurant attached to the hotel downstairs, be prepared to be ripped off!! $54 for a large beer and our credit card cloned! Fortunately our bank was alert and refused the $1200 bestbuy transaction later that week. Well done nationwide building society, unlucky greaseball waiter ✌️

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good Afternoon Woody_1_wood, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! I am terribly sorry that you had found the restaurant to be expensive. The restaurant is independently owned, operated and managed. Please direct all of your comments and concerns to them.

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Before booking the room I wasnt sure if I wanted to stay because there were some pretty bad reviews on here. But when I tell you pleasant surprise, I mean pleasant!!!! I stayed in 115, its way in the back on the first floor, but the room was all brand new furniture, there was no view, but thats not a big deal considering when you walk on the front doors your right on Ocean Dr. The only rooms with views of the ocean are the suites. We had gotten married the weekend before and just needed a quick get away to unwind. And this place fit the bill, gave me a later check out, easy check in. Only thing is valet is 25.00, but good luck finding anything cheaper than that anywhere in south Beach. Yes there is a restaurant in front of the hotel, but who cares, I dont know why people are making that a big deal, there are restaurants in front of every hotel. All in all this was a great place to stay, and the location is perfect!!! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Watch out for South Beach "Service fees", that is the tip, so dont tip twice. Wifi is free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It sounds like you really enjoyed your visit Tina W, and I couldn't be happier to read that! So happy you found the location to be such a great one and that you enjoyed the walk to the beach. I hope you'll come back and see us again soon. Cheers!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.