We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Before booking the room I wasnt sure if I wanted to stay because there were some pretty bad reviews on here. But when I tell you pleasant surprise, I mean pleasant!!!! I stayed in 115, its way in the back on the first floor, but the room was all brand new furniture, there was no view, but thats not a big deal considering when you walk on the front doors your right on Ocean Dr. The only rooms with views of the ocean are the suites. We had gotten married the weekend before and just needed a quick get away to unwind. And this place fit the bill, gave me a later check out, easy check in. Only thing is valet is 25.00, but good luck finding anything cheaper than that anywhere in south Beach. Yes there is a restaurant in front of the hotel, but who cares, I dont know why people are making that a big deal, there are restaurants in front of every hotel. All in all this was a great place to stay, and the location is perfect!!! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Watch out for South Beach "Service fees", that is the tip, so dont tip twice. Wifi is free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    207
    185
    93
    124
See reviews for
102
271
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good hotel for spring break or a short stay. It's right in the middle of the action. It's across the street from the beach. Rooms are ok but I didn't spend much time in there. Plenty of food and drink options in the area. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Good Evening TLopez1982,

Our guests feedback means the world to us, and all of our future guests! We are the perfect place to stay for during Spring Break! We are close to all the action that takes place here in South Beach! Come back soon!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great 3 night stay at the hotel. Our room was located at the rear of the hotel which was a little noisy. Dumpsters were emptied early in the morning. The rooms was a nice size, bathroom a little small but, this is a classic Art Deco hotel. Wifi at the rear of the hotel was hopeless
Bed was comfortable. Room was very clean. Large screen TV. Good air on.
Room was of a good standard, good location.
Would I go back.... Yes

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello there and thank you for the time you took to share your honest feedback, regarding your recent stay! We apologize for the noise that you experienced from the garbage truck emptying the dumpsters in the morning! It's great to read that you enjoyed your room, and our comfy beds. We would love to welcome you back to stay with us again!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked out of this hotel earlier today, stayed for two nights. Checked in late Friday night and it was quick and effortless. Room was small but was only used for sleeping and showering. The only thing I would give less stars on would be the shower curtain did not keep the water from off of the floor, other than that my stay was great, would definitely book again on return trips to Miami.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a great review. We have taken note of the shower curtain. We were delighted to have you as our guest and are looking forward for your next visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can not speak for the condition of the hotel or the quality of a stay there; I had a reservation but had to cancel it. However, that process was so unbelievably difficult, I felt compelled to write. After cancelling my reservation online a week earlier, I called the hotel about a $183 charge on my credit card. The phone rang and rang. Finally, a man answered and without a lick of courtesy said he needed to put me on hold. Ten minutes later, I was disconnected. Okay, fine. I called back. The phone rang so, so many times. Then, it sounded like it was picked up and hung up. I re-dialed. Ring, ring, ring, ring, ring X 5? 10? Forever. Then, click again. So, I got online in search of a different number and ended up calling the restaurant. I know that the restaurant is out front and separate from the hotel but wondered if they would have a way of transferring me or somehow helping. This time, a man answered who was halfway cordial, but then he either set the phone down or passed it off...Next thing I know, I hear an earful from a Spanish-speaking lady talking to who knows who about who knows what and then, click, yet again. I have traveled extensively. This is the worst treatment I have ever received anywhere and the only time I have ever written a review which is great for me but speaks volumes about the Colony, a hotel where the staff is either much too busy or highly unskilled- or both- to deserve any more business. I feel especially fortunate, now, to be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Good Evening bmcfall1101,

We appreciate the time you took to share your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! I am terribly sorry to read about the less then enjoyable experience that you had with us here at Colony Hotel! We strive to provide outstanding service here. It truly pains us to read that is not what you experienced! I would love to assist you in finding out what this charge for $183 was for. You can email me directly. I look forward in hearing from you!

Eddie Nunez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely loved the location of this place! Ubers were only $2-6 from everything you really need (unless you're flying in from FLL..thats like a $35 Uber ride). But the hotel room was very very small and the view is terrible! So if you can, get the Oceanview Suite, I never saw it inside but I'm sure it was way nicer than our room. Plus the bathrooms were ridiculously small! But aside from that just downstairs is a restaurant with amazing food everywhere!! I would recommend this place to anyone, any day!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
TravelChapters we value your review, and would like to thank you for sharing it! The location of Colony Hotel is unbeatable. We are a boutique hotel, therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. The ocean view rooms are great and have a lovely view of Ocean Drive. Please come back and give us another chance.

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

this hotel is not suitable actually really as adequate accommodation nowadays, behind the shining facade the hotel has stopped in the age of the backpack tourists in Miami South Beach – i.e. in 80 he years.
small poorly soundproofed room, very old bath with regular beetle visit, everything incurred, if man/woman looks behind the Venetian blinds he/she knows at the latest why: garbage waste dump, mattress resting place, camp for kitchen next door, smoker / inside area for restaurant staff, … with quite much effort 'lateral sea view' (see also photo)
in addition: Wi-Fi only in the lobby, everything at very inflated prices, during check-in we felt rather disturbing as welcome, no permitted (out)load possibility.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback, regarding your recent stay! It truly pains us to read that your time spent here at Colony Hotel, was not a 5 star one! We would like to apologize for the less then enjoyable experience that you had. We would like to go ahead and welcome you back, to stay with us again in the future. Please let me know when you will come back to Miami Beach!

Scarlett Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.