We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel with an Amazing Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent Hotel with an Amazing Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Absolutely loved the location of this place! Ubers were only $2-6 from everything you really need (unless you're flying in from FLL..thats like a $35 Uber ride). But the hotel room was very very small and the view is terrible! So if you can, get the Oceanview Suite, I never saw it inside but I'm sure it was way nicer than our room. Plus the bathrooms were ridiculously small! But aside from that just downstairs is a restaurant with amazing food everywhere!! I would recommend this place to anyone, any day!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    205
    183
    93
    122
See reviews for
100
267
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel is not suitable actually really as adequate accommodation nowadays, behind the shining facade the hotel has stopped in the age of the backpack tourists in Miami South Beach – i.e. in 80 he years.
small poorly soundproofed room, very old bath with regular beetle visit, everything incurred, if man/woman looks behind the Venetian blinds he/she knows at the latest why: garbage waste dump, mattress resting place, camp for kitchen next door, smoker / inside area for restaurant staff, … with quite much effort 'lateral sea view' (see also photo)
in addition: Wi-Fi only in the lobby, everything at very inflated prices, during check-in we felt rather disturbing as welcome, no permitted (out)load possibility.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me first say that I am a picky traveler who expects cleanliness, comfort, and service when I travel... with that said; here is my review. I just returned from my stay at the Colony Hotel south beach. I was there March 7-10. I was skeptical to book this hotel at first, because of all the sketchy reviews I read on here. I was very satisfied and pleased with the hotel:

Pros:
- Location! Its in the center of everything; with Wet Willies right on the same block!
-Room was just he right size for us! We had 1 queen bed and stayed in room 316. It was quiet and very clean.
-The entire staff (front desk, maids) were very pleasant

Cons:
-The water temp in the shower was difficult to adjust. It was either cold or very hot.. I had to play with it for awhile to get the right temperature.
-The elevator was a bit slow. If your in a rush just take the stairs.

I would recommend this hotel to my family and my friends for sure.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've chosen this Hotel because it is a Legend in Miami Beach. My stay of 10 days was really good, the room was confortable (Double sized bed, fan, air conditioning, flat 46" TV or bigger, big minibar). I was in room 313, on the upper floor in the corner. The Hotel is located in the Hearth of Ocean Drive's nightlife and you have only to cross the street to reach the sea. I think this is a very good hotel if you want to enjoy the life of Miami Beach. The WiFi connection is fast but sometimes in the corner rooms the signal is bad (I was not able to connect for 3 days) but it is not a big trouble in a place like that :) when I'll come back to Miami and I'll need an Hotel to stay, I'll be sure to choose this again.

Best regards to the staff from a colleague ;)

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here the night before our family cruise. The location is awesome, right across the street from South Beach and close to many shops and restaurants. We arrived about 5 P.M. and all 5 couples were in their room within minutes. The entrance is very strange, having to walk through the restaurant to get to the small reception desk. The staff was very friendly and helpful, a surprise since I had read several reviews where this was not the case.

Our room was clean, though quite small with two beds that appeared to be full-size. They were definitely not queens. For a quick one night stay this hotel was fine, Not sure I would want to stay much longer because of the small room and bathroom. Many people have mentioned the slow, cramped elevator. Our son and his wife took the elevator while my wife and I took the stairs, and we beat them to the second floor.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Place is loud, surrounded by bad places to eat, the elevator looks to be from the 60s. The room is fine but our floor had not been swept. Bathroom is tiny. Rooms were right on Ocean which means you can hear people screaming and partying all night. If you are over 24, pass.

Room Tip: If you must stay, get a high floor so you can't hear all the noise, which lasts to about 3am
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

i stayed at the Colony Hotel a few years ago and since then they have renovated it and spruced the hotel up. Nice green colors in the room. Yes the rooms are small but you don't go to South Beach Miami to stay in your room. It is located in the heart of the Art Deco district on Ocean Drive. The hotel offers a restaurant which was excellent but there are a multitude of restaurants lined up on Ocean Drive. Majority are outside dining. The valet service is excellent and the check in process was a breeze. There may be reviews complaining about the room sizes, but really, once you get to South Beach you will understand what I meant about not staying in your room!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.