We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free rodent with every room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Free rodent with every room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pros:

- On Ocean Drive, moments from Wet Willies and their great range of frozen, alcoholic slushies.

- Clean. Modern furnishings.

Cons:

- The restaurant staff clearly resented us unloading our car when we arrived and waiting for the valet to return it the following day. Handy hint: if you don't want tourists loitering, don't open a restaurant in a hotel lobby.

- The mouse. I thought I was seeing things (see reference to Wet Willies above), but there was definitely a mouse in the room. We brought coffee and hot chocolate sachets with us and came back from our evening out to find our hold-all full of powder, with the corners of several sachets nibbled off. While tidying up the mess, I spotted the mouse on the floor. It shot back under the air-conditioning unit. To make sure I hadn't imagined it, I kept an eye on the A/C and, sure enough, after 20 minutes, a small, grey head poked back out. We wedged the hole under the A/C closed with a towel and complained the following morning (thankfully, we were only staying one night, so we simply moved all our luggage off the floor). The man on the desk really didn't seem to understand what we were saying, so there was no compensation.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    196
    171
    88
    116
See reviews for
90
254
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible staff. Reception seems like an horror movie. My check-in was completed 100 minutes after my arrival. Noisy place, bathroom dirty, do not walk without flipflops around the room because the floor is dusty. Our door wasn' t closing from outside, we had to call maintenance to let them fix it. The elevator is the worst thing ever. Old and seems unsafe.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only stayed one night as we were going from FL to a cruise. Basic but clean. Right near restaurants but they were all quite expensive so check the prices out first as our basic meal & drinks were not cheap and I felt ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The Colony hotel is such a great place to stay for a visit to South Beach. Location is second to none and the staff and rooms are excellent. The restaurant is such a fun place to eat with great prices and a staff that loves their customers! We have stayed at several other hotels in the area, but The Colony is our absolute favorite. The service is so outstanding at the restaurant and by the hotel staff as well. A++

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Good: Great location for the night life and people watching. Can walk to all the hot spots and restaurants! Rooms are clean and comfortable. Decent rates.

Rooms don't have good views but can't complain for the price. The area is busy and can be loud but couldn't hear the noise with the AC on.

If you want to party in South beach this is a good spot to stay. Take a taxi as parking in South beach is always problematic.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I don't normally write on trip advisor but feel I need to as previous reviews had made me very wary of this hotel. ...... It was great. Staff really helpful and friendly. Breakfast lovely and good value. The room was large and very comfy bed. Good value. Definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to be in the middle of the buzz on South Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter but noise not a problem once the door closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Very stylish hotel in the heart of the Art Deco district on ocean drive! Stylish rooms for reasonable price considering you are in Miami South Beach area! Loved everything, especially the crazy italian staff! Defo will stay here again on my next visit! Top notch!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.