We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, broken room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Old, broken room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It might be the location, but the people at the frontdesk do not show any interest in their customers.
The room itself was very old. Bathroom door broken, poor water from the shower and just by touching the airco, the plastic dropped down.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    185
    159
    83
    114
See reviews for
80
242
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is good value for money. Very simple accommodation and services, but fantastic location, beach is right across the road and you are in the centre of night life. We got what we expected for this price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked into the Colony Hotel for 2 nights on our return to Miami, We found the guy at reception Carlos i think his name was quite helpful and helped us to our room with our luggage.
The room seemed clean and fresh like it had been renovated recently which was nice, the bathroom seemed ok but the sink was a bit loose and the shower was very poor, no power to it and the thermostat on it made no difference.

All in all though the hotel did what we really needed like a comfy bed good nights sleep in an ideal location and a shower that sort of worked.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just to make clear, we did not stay at this hotel but made the mistake to get conned by the restaurant hostess as we walked by.
Now we've been to Miami Beach several times and we are not tourists, we live in Florida.
We were not particularly hungry but the hostess told us about the 2 for 1 drink specials so we decided to sit down. We ordered two Coconut mojito's and since we did not specify anything different we expected 'normal size' drinks as in 8 or 10 ounces.
As we were waiting the server was aggressively pushing a menu with 'specials' that had no prices just "MP" or market price. We declined.
When the drinks showed up they were massive bucket size 'fish tanks' or whatever they choose to call it. This is where we made the mistake of not checking the price with the server.
When we were ready to leave we were presented with a bill for .......
wait a moment.......drum roll......$116!!!
Right away we got up to speak to the hostess who conned is into sitting down and she deflected is right away to a 'manager' who tried to tell us we were wrong.
We flat out refused to pay $116 for 2 for 1 drink specials of a size we never ordered.
She showed us the menu where in very small print at the bottom it says the 'fish tanks' are $45...
Fine we never ordered those and the large street sign on the sidewalk doesn't mention either it's for $45 drinks.
She offered to but the bill in half but out of principle we refused and asked for the police to be called.
Miami Beach Police showed up 30 minutes later.
Introduced ourselves and explained we were not willing to pay for a watered down 'tourist trap' that we did not order.
The officers checked the menu and checked the sidewalk sign and basically told us we were right and that it was a very grey area but apparently it's common practice.
Officers told us we could decide to walk without paying in which case a report would be made or pay what we felt was reasonable for what we consumed. We decide to do the latter and paid half the bill.
If I were a lawyer I'd take this place to court just for the principle.
As we were explaining the situation to the officers the 'manager' kept interrupting. I had to ask her several times to let me finish.
Eventually she tried talking to one of the officers in Spanish after which my wife asked her to speak English as our Spanish is not good enough.
Crazy situation and frankly unbelievable they try and run this as their 'business plan'.
How many tourists and other visitors are tricked or bullied into paying outrageous prices for drinks they didn't know they ordered?
Avoid this place like the plague.
Verify, verify, verify what you order and what the price is.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is in a fantastic location for night life and the beach is directly across the street! The staff did not have customer service skills of any kind. Both women at the front desk were rude and seemed like they did not even want to speak. The elevator did not service the first floor and we had to lug our HUGE suitcases up stairs (two females on a 12 day trip). Our room and bathroom were tiny and our view was overlooking a bar kitchen that anyone working in could see into our window. The hotel parking was valet only and was $22 per day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked 2 rooms for 1 night pre-cruise prepaid through a discount website. We had reserved rooms with two beds and were given rooms on the second floor. We picked the hotel because of location and were not expecting too much based on previous reviewers.

We found the rooms to be OK but nothing special. Each room was different in set up and decor and is typical of an older hotel. Rooms had a flat screen with HD channels, and a mini fridge. One room had a normal bathroom set up, while the other was cramped with toilet close to a wall and no shelf in the shower to put anything on. One room had the safe door missing. Both room had a musty smell coming from the air conditioner.

The room door to the hallway had a large gap at the bottom and the door itself let in a lot of noise from the hallway especially on a party packed Friday night..

On a positive note, the rooms were very clean and we did see staff constantly cleaning the common areas.

Since we were not expecting five star, we would stay here again as you cannot beat the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 1 night with 3 friends. The elevator was old fashioned and reminded me of something you would see in the movies from 1920. 1 friend opted for the stairs because she didn't want to take the risk in it getting stuck.
Beds were on low rise platforms and after a few shin bashing's, you learned to avoid the corners. We did not hear a lot of noise from outside and it seemed very quiet in the hallways. I have stayed at a few hotels in this area and they seemed to be noisier than the Colony. Maybe it was just the location of our room.
No extra perks offered at the hotel and I don't recall coffee being offered. The shower had mold which could have easily been cleaned with some bleach.
Overall it was just ok. Smack in the middle of the nightlife and when the sun comes up, you don't see too many people on the street.
The Colony claims to be the most photographed hotel in South Beach because of the art deco design and the famous neon blue lights at night. I don't think I will ever choose this place again and just admire the beauty as I pass by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.