We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Colony Hotel was just OK. When in Miami you typically don't spend a lot of time in the room. With that being said the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot, which met our basic needs. There isn't much to the hotel as far as amenities, so if that's important to you then this isn't the place for you.

I was most disappointed with the beverage prices. Beware of the happy hour as it is buy one get one free per person. My boyfriend and I bought two drinks during HH and the bill was $64! We couldn't drink our second beverage the same day, so they said we could come back the next day, show our receipt, and get our second drink. We did that, however they told us we couldn't sit outside since those tables were for customers who were paying for food/drinks. Trying to be understanding, we told them we would go ahead and order appetizers. My boyfriend decided to order a budlight after he finished his "free" drink, again trying to be considerate of the fact that they want guest who sit outside to order food. Trying to be considerate did us no good! They charged us $20 for the beer! Mind you he just got the same beer down the street At the Clevelander for less than $5!

Bottom line, if you get a deal on the rooms this place will do. Do not eat or drink there because it is a total ripoff!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    181
    148
    81
    109
See reviews for
78
232
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here in July 2014! The location was perfect, a stone throw away from south beach! views are beautiful! Room sizes were very good for the price we paid! If you are planning on staying here, it is worth going to Washington street which is just behind the hotel one street away to find a lot of restaurants and shops! Hotel staff were friendly! Valet parking was easy and costs $24 per day. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There are so many things to consider when traveling and needing to book a hotel. For me one of the most critical things is location. Not only is The Colony Hotel one of the more affordable places in South Beach but it is located in one of the best locations.

If your a drinker/party goer it's just a few doors down from Wet Willie's. It's about a block and a half away from Mango's, and about 2 to 3 blocks away from TGI Fridays and Fat Tuesdays. It's on Ocean Drive so it's adjacent to the beach. There are a number of fine restaurants within walking distance (2-15 mins max). Many of the night clubs are in walking distance such as Story, Mansion, Mokai, and Dreams - 25 min walk maximum.

The rooms are pretty much as advertised and it's likely you'll save money booking directly through the hotel website as opposed to booking sites. I had a leaky AC unit upon my check in on Aug 7th 2014 but Carlos was kind enough to switch me out to another room within an hour's time. The room was clean the bathroom was a little stuffy but there was a window in there that I never used. Housekeeping came and brought fresh towels as needed. The front desk even offers beach towels. The only major complaint I have with this place is the wifi signal is weak if your room is near the back of the hotel. That is something I had a problem with and spoke to other guests who experienced the same issue.

If you're coming to Miami to hit the beach, get some good food, and party. You will not regret staying at The Colony because it's right in the middle of all the action. The Colony is a $32 cab ride from Miami Int'l and unless you plan on going to King of Diamonds ($45 cab ride each way) or somewhere else outside of South Beach you won't need to take a cab. I will definitely stay here again and will definitely recommend anyone else to do so.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views will be louder because they are right on Ocean Dr which is a busy street with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a great good rate but even though, the rooms were small and old. The smell from the backyard was so awfull we couldnt have the windows open. Smelled like rotten fastfood. Had to wait 1 hour to check in because the lobby was crowded. Wouldnt come back. Great location right on ocean drive though!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Colony Hotel in January 2014 for eight nights.

The price was very good and also the location at the famous Ocean Drive. But do not expect too much from the hotel itself. Rooms are really small and the bathroom didn't have any shelfs at all.

Our keycards stopped working often and we had to go downstairs to the lobby to reactivate them. Which became quite frustating in the long run. Happened almost daily and it didnt mather if we had them in our wallets or somewhere else.

The bar outside tried to get us to stop and have drinks all the time. We did and it was a fishbowl which was 40$. They could have told us that before we had it.

But all in all. The price was so low and the location so good that we were very satisfied with Colony hotel. I would stay there again. After all it is Miami Beach, you're suppposed to be outdoors.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on our first visit to Miami and honestly wish we hadn't. Sadly the hotel is "very" tired looking and just doesn't cut it any more, living in the past.
It was well positioned for the beach though and the guy on the desk was a good help. The room was just not nice, cockroaches, dirty and cramped. Noisy air conditioning and late at night nutters running around in the corridor shouting etc.
Not very pleasant and the prices at the bar were shocking. If the Colony doesn't do something to improve ,i'm affraid that it will only get worse, something that its rich past and position on South Beach shouldn't allow.

Room Tip: Unless steps are taken to improve then I'm affraid the future of this hotel does not look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel in a really good location. Right on South Beach - close to everything. Room was what you would expect (we got a cheap rate) and that's ok because you don't go to Miami to stay in your room all day. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.