We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay! Albert makes this Hotel his a star!! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel to your Saves list
Colony Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Stay! Albert makes this Hotel his a star!! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having seen some negative comments I thought I would make a review. Me and my friend stayed here 2yrs ago and we had a great 2nights here.. Room was good, location great and best of all was the front desk man Albert, he really did attend to all our needs and was so helpful and friendly, we would stay here again based on his customer service alone.. But the hotel itself is just as good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    187
    165
    85
    115
See reviews for
84
244
43
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

To start off I'm here now as I'm writing this. The toilet makes this noise for 2 minutes after you flush. The Chinese lady doesn't clean your room till you leave. The lobby smells like straight dead fish. Every damn time you walk outside they ask if you want to see their menu. There food sucks. The rooms feel like your in prison. No view. The tv takes 5 minutes to boot up. Only thing I like is that the shower pressure is like a fire hose and the air conditioner actually works. Besides that this place sucks. Stay at the fontaineblue or don't stay in miami beach

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Colony on our 2nd wedding anniversary for one night. It was right on South Beach in walking distance to everything. The price was a bit high, but appropriate for the area. When we got there the guy at the front desk upgraded us to a beachfront suite for free. It was awesome! The hotel has had a lot of renovations, but you can still see how old it is. There were some things that were broken and such, but no big deal. It is very loud so beware if you plan on going to sleep early it if you're a light sleeper! The noise doesn't end until about 3 am.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Right in the middle of everything with walking distance to bars, restaurants, shop and just across the street to the fantastic beach. The room was spacious, clean with comfortable bed, tv, fridge, safe and plenty of space to store things. Will choose the hotel again when back to SoBe.

Room Tip: Room 216 is at far end of the floor so no noise from Ocean Drive or other guests passing by. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is a personal favorite. My Lady and I stayed here last year and decided to come back. Hotel is clean , the staff is nice and courteous. Located on the strip, with Wet Willies , Fat Tuesdays, Mangos and more within walking distance. Saturday night enjoyed the "dinner & show " at Mangos . Found a nice little pizzeria called Mega Pizza around the block. RIGHT across the street from the beach. We stayed 4 dayz and enjoyed ourselves. DO NOT order any food or drinks from the restaurant attached (Columbus restaurant) while we didn't eat there thanks to a review we read, upon coming in late on night my lady wanted a Coke...... $5.81 and it didn't have any fuzz. This is the only complaint we had ..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a better than l expected, the hotel is old art deco a classic but pretty well kept don't expect 5 star and you will be ok the rooms are clean the beds are comfy the rooms are serviced we had an issue with wifi but it was fixed, the guys on the front desk are helpful and courteous, we booked all our tours through them and the bus picked us up at the hotel, in the strip along the beach all the favorites are close at hand Mangoes, Fat Tuesdays, The Clevelander etc meals are a little expencive along this strip but hey its all about location very entertaining and the music is awesome from live Spanish to the most fantastic sax player I have ever herd here.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the main strip of popular Miami beach so a little noisey you can hear people talkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This place is all about location... it's great! Right on the same block as Wet Willies and a block from Mango's, Fat Tuesday's, Ocean's 10, and the Clevelander, and the beach is right across the street. The rooms were actually better than I was expecting... clean, nice size, decent decor, and comfortable beds... what else could you ask for in a crash pad? People who stay at this hotel don't spend much time in their room anyway. Staff was nice and upbeat, and there a cool bar in front where you can do some nice people watching.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.